We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All roads lead here” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jemaa el-Fnaa

Jemaa el-Fnaa
Book In Advance
More Info
$23.00*
and up
Shopping in the Souks of Marrakech Private Tour
Ranked #16 of 156 things to do in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This is the entrance to the outdoor market and food court of the city center.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“All roads lead here”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Lots of carts serving orange juice, all at 40dhm, leaflets thrust at you rather tiresome and everytime you slow down, you are called in to "only looking" but an experience

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pricklypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19,686 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,990
    6,179
    3,012
    895
    610
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
“Great experience, but be careful!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Definitely a must! This is a great place to pick up traditional Moroccan souveniers. Mornings are filled with amazing stalls of fresh orange juice, and at night it comes alive with snake charmers and a vibrant atmosphere. My only warning, keep your belongings close - within 3 mins of stepping into the Souks from Jemaa el Fna we saw a young boy pickpocket a tourist speaking with a shop owner. Might not happen all the time, but take only what you need and don't give in to the first price the shop owners tell you.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jaygee333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Big Square...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Great time to be had here. A little scary at first as mopeds are flying round but plenty to see and do. Snake charmers and monkeys. Plenty of people geared up to take your money for anything at all! Be careful taking photos as people will expect to be paid for them.

We sat up on a rooftop terrace with a Mint tea taking it all in then went down and had a look round. During the day the square is full of entertainers, snake charmers, market stalls selling all kinds but during the night there whole place changes. People making music, games, and of course the food markets. You will get hassled lots to sit down at all of them you walk past, "asda price", "cheaper than morrisons!", "my food is finger lickin good!" they all say. its quite funny to be honest. Stand your ground and find somewhere you like the look of, sit down and enjoy. My wife is vegetarian but there where plenty of options for us! Stall number 81 we ate at was really nice and also the soup stall just opposite it.

Enjoy a glass of orange juice for 4 DH when its hot during the day. very refreshing, use a straw.

As with anywhere, be vigilate. I did see at least one person get pick pocketed by some young children. Keep your wallet in a buttoned down / zipped pocket. I just walked arounf with my hand in my pocket on my phone and wallet. have some small change in your other pocket so you dont have to get loads out infront of sellers etc...

Did the red tour bus available at the entrance to the square. it killed a couple of hours and as we where only there for 3 days it was a good way to see everything.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank singintheblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skanderborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Dirty and noisy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Sorry, it might be wonderful for some people. But the tired snakes, the dull eyed birds and monkeys, the frenetic salespeople and the low quality junk being hawked just did not do it for me.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank janhj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Hive of activity!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

This was my second visit to this famous square and it did not disappoint! A myriad of entertainers, food and merchandise stalls. It assaults the senses in a very pleasing way. Numerous side alleys leading to more shops or the cavernous Souks. Always be perpared to tip Snake Charmers or those wretched Monkey owners even if you point your camera from afar. Enjoy a meal from one of the cafes that line the square and watch the show unfold!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank sbruce912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jemaa el-Fnaa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Jemaa el-Fnaa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing