We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Timeless”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jemaa el-Fnaa

Jemaa el-Fnaa
Book In Advance
More Info
$23.00*
and up
Shopping in the Souks of Marrakech Private Tour
Ranked #17 of 159 things to do in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This is the entrance to the outdoor market and food court of the city center.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Timeless”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We were expecting Jemaa el Fna to be totally crazy, with people constantly hassling us. It's nowhere near as bad as we expected. Yes, you do get pestered if you show any interest in something/someone but you should expect this. It's part and parcel of being there. I don't like the idea of people using monkeys etc as money making objects, so we avoided them by just taking a wide berth and skirting around them. It's bright and vibrant and a great place to watch the world go by. There are restaurants dotted around the outskirts and for the price of a drink you can sit on the balcony, watch the sunset and look down on the square with absolutely no hassle whatsoever. My advice would be to go there expecting it to be crazy and busy and full of people trying to hassle you and you'll be pleasantly surprised that it's not so bad after all. And remember, these people are just trying to make a living and what would Marrakech be without Jemaa el Fna?

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank veejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20,174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9,187
    6,320
    3,103
    922
    642
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Organised chaos”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We found the evening at the square just chaos, scooters bikes, cars ,horses everywhere not to mention traders trying to sell, some people like this but as my partner is partially sighted I particulary found it stressful as just too much going on. Atomsphere was buzzing and its filled with tourists and locals alike.
We went back a couple of times in the day and found it far nicer, less hassle, had a meal and sampled the fresh orange juice which is just refreshing.
And as some other reviewers have said you just have to keep saying no, which did spoil it to some degree.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank barbaraWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The centre of your trip to Marrakech.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

The square is the centre point you'll use during everything you do in Marrakech. It has snake charmers, monkey trainers and musicians by day and transforms at night to Berber performances and food stalls for relatively cheap.

It's best to be seen at dusk, when the two worlds overlap and the locals come down. Be careful taking photos, as people will demand payment for being in your photos. Also, the restaurant touts will wear you out, but pretty much every stand is the same so don't stress over your choice.

People will tell you horror stories about the food. I ate there most nights I was in Marrakech and at the food, the bread, stank the water (bottled) and used the cutlery - never a problem!

Helpful?
1 Thank ElliottJ29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Awful during the day better by night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

To be honest I didn't like the square during the day! It was like a war zone with everyone trying to get 'a piece' of the tourist dollar! I don't like cruelty to animals so the snake charmers, monkey men and the horse and carriages didn't impress and being grabbed by henna women was awful! I understand they want your money but its too aggressive for me!

On a night the square is a mottled better, with the stall holders trying to get you to eat but with a little more humor! Quoting Del Boy and morrisons ads at you!

It's one of those things you 'experience' in your life but I avoided the square after day 1 and won't be going back!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank abbymorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

A much vaunted UNESCO Heritage site. Of great historic culturan significance, no doubt, bot of limited interest to us. No architecture, nothing going on which we have not seen elsewhere, just milling crowds and a few hawkers.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank nmgm835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jemaa el-Fnaa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Jemaa el-Fnaa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing