We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a big open circus”
Review of Jemaa el-Fnaa

Jemaa el-Fnaa
Book In Advance
More Info
$118.54*
and up
Marrakech Day Tour from Essaouira
More Info
$23.00*
and up
Shopping in the Souks of Marrakech Private Tour
More Info
$92.46*
and up
Evening Food Tour in Marrakech
Ranked #19 of 163 things to do in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This is the entrance to the outdoor market and food court of the city center.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“a big open circus”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Marrakech is busy, crowded and full of tourists and no other place in Marrakech can sum up the city than this square, if is full of orange juice stalls, food stalls and filled with acrobats, snake charmers and other entertainers day and night, you have to visit day time and evening/night time to experience this square as it is different at these times. We really enjoyed every minute we spent here, the only thing is the salesmen who are standing outside the food stalls are very pushy and won't let you view the menu/tiems on display in peace, if you are there just wondering and don't want to eat then saying something like "I have already eaten" works well. If you are with young children then wachout for small boys and girls who may hand over any toy or biscuit to children and then ask for a euor or something for it, most of the time the shopkeepers/food stall owner will shout them away. I used to drink orange juice always at the same stall and used to waive at him all the time, it is best to waive and the touch your hand to your heart (which says you are greeting him from your heart) which is appreciated by the locals. we also met a shopkeeper who would not sell us a peice of cake for the children as it was not fresh, next day when we came again he was happy to sell as he had fresh stock. we enjoyed our stay in Marrakesh and would revisit again.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank fira31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22,091 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9,971
    6,916
    3,415
    1,052
    737
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Crazy”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

During the day, fairly quiet in terms of stallholders. Snake charmers and monkey handlers will try to pull you in for photos. "Gratuit" (free) is anything but so be very firm with your "no" if you don't want to part with your money. At night it's an altogether different proposition, teeming with activity and all the mobile restaurants hassling and hustling for customers. We had a great meal at No 25, less than 400 euros for 4 people and we ate loads. Watch out for your handbags and pockets, keep bags firmly zipped up and close to your side.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Helen975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unhygienic”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

People would be openly urinating in the middle of the square it was swamped with beggars and chained chips. I'm glad I've been but it was a disappointment as its just a huge dumping ground with some poor animals stuck in the middle of it,

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsP20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Now this is a marketplace!”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

So many people doing so many things. Very entertaining. And especially, a wonderful place to have dinner at night: tongue of sheep, merguez, pastries... Excellent. But go where the locals go.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank HedonicTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A real culture shock - and a bit scary with kids”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We'd visited here several years ago as a couple and this was the first trip with our young daughter. We did spend a lot of time feeling terrified that we'd lose her and also getting increasingly annoyed by the "in your face" attitude of the people, although they're only trying to make a living. Very annoying the way you can't even take a photo of anything without someone trying to make you pay for the privilege. Myself & my daughter got a henna tattoo from a group of young women who said "pay what you like" but then got really argumentative when we did pay what we though was reasonable (and twice the amount we later paid for the same thing at our hotel!).
My advice is take a big deep breath before venturing in!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jemaa el-Fnaa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Jemaa el-Fnaa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing