We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Use this to know where you are, we did and didnt get lost”

Koutoubia Mosque and Minaret
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$96.64*
and up
Private Guided City Tour: Discover the Authentic Marrakech
Ranked #21 of 161 things to do in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Brotton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
438 reviews
189 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 489 helpful votes
“Use this to know where you are, we did and didnt get lost”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

This beautiful building (looks even better at night time) is so big we used it to navigate ourselves around Marrakesh, steeped in history and exquisite architecture.

Helpful?
1 Thank Warhol40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,705 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,388
    1,484
    719
    83
    31
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The highest building in Marrakech”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We went there because it is something you HAVE to visit. We walked up to the Mosque and we thought it needed some paint , and also we felt disappointed because due to religious reasons we were not allowed to go inside. Still it was something quite surprising to hear the Iman sing and call everyone to pray.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank XMontalvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gardent not open”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The mosque looks so formidable in pictures and from far away but close up it is not kept up properly, the garden was closed and of course hard to go inside due to the religious requirements.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Abfabsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Historical building with Islamic Architecture”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

It is a place with lot of historical connections, specially to the Islamic culture, great place to visit if you want learn about the mixture of Moroccan's and Islamic customs , vales and designs.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaseen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A standing building...”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

OK. So there is really not much to say about this. If you go to morocco this is a must. Nothing can be built higher then this building and you cannot go inside. You can walk around it and admire it from afar, but besides that not much to it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank El-Tuti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koutoubia Mosque and Minaret also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Koutoubia Mosque and Minaret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing