We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful architecture with some items of interest”

Museum of Marrakesh
Book In Advance
More Info
$101.59*
and up
Marrakech Highlights: Guided Day Tour
More Info
$35.85*
and up
Half-Day Guided Tour of Marrakech
Ranked #40 of 163 things to do in Marrakech
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful architecture with some items of interest”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The tiling, plaster work and decor is beautiful, however the 'contemporary' art display is very poor - there is better art to be seen in the souks. The artifacts aren't all that old (on the most part) or interesting, and again there is no information in English (for those that cant read french) so take a guide book that offers some information. The central lantern (?) in the large room is amazing!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hollylouise84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    241
    189
    81
    33
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good local art.”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

It's fair to say there is not much in here, I enjoyed looking at the art though and although it isn't worth the entrance price of 50Dhs, we got it for an extra 10Dhs added onto our Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa ticket so 80p.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice, little museum”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The museum is pretty hard to find and the entrance is somewhat high for Moroccan standards (50 dh), but the museum is worth a visit. The central 'room' is huge and beautifully decorated. The artefacts are allright. We liked the contemporary exposition, with about 20 modern paintings, the most.
Furthermore, it's a quiet and relaxed place. When you're done wandering through the souks, it's nice to just sit around and have some peace and tranquility.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Muzes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A big dissapointment”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I am a fan of museums and Art galleries and make a point of visiting them in every place I travel . This has to be the most disappointing Museum I have ever visited in 30 years of travelling. It was embarrassing. Where have all the Artefacts gone ? and as for the exhibition of ' Modern' Art one would have seen better at a Primary School.

The Building was of vague interest but if this was meant to be the main Municipal Museum of Marrakech then someone needs to take it in hand.

Unless you have a interest in the building do not bother - it was also the most expensive entrance fee we paid in Marrakech.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We thought we should go in as we passed and at least take a look. As others have mentioned everything is in French so we walked around without really any appreciation this obviously isn't ideal. Perhaps an unfair review in that respect. The mosaic tiled rooms were worth a few photos. Not really worth the 60dh entry in our opinion.

Helpful?
Thank TheBaileys2012
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Marrakesh also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Museum of Marrakesh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing