We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice, little museum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Marrakesh

Museum of Marrakesh
Book In Advance
Top Rated
$21*
and up
Marrakech Palaces and Monuments Tour
Ranked #41 of 154 things to do in Marrakech
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice, little museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The museum is pretty hard to find and the entrance is somewhat high for Moroccan standards (50 dh), but the museum is worth a visit. The central 'room' is huge and beautifully decorated. The artefacts are allright. We liked the contemporary exposition, with about 20 modern paintings, the most.
Furthermore, it's a quiet and relaxed place. When you're done wandering through the souks, it's nice to just sit around and have some peace and tranquility.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Muzes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    190
    144
    61
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A big dissapointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I am a fan of museums and Art galleries and make a point of visiting them in every place I travel . This has to be the most disappointing Museum I have ever visited in 30 years of travelling. It was embarrassing. Where have all the Artefacts gone ? and as for the exhibition of ' Modern' Art one would have seen better at a Primary School.

The Building was of vague interest but if this was meant to be the main Municipal Museum of Marrakech then someone needs to take it in hand.

Unless you have a interest in the building do not bother - it was also the most expensive entrance fee we paid in Marrakech.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We thought we should go in as we passed and at least take a look. As others have mentioned everything is in French so we walked around without really any appreciation this obviously isn't ideal. Perhaps an unfair review in that respect. The mosaic tiled rooms were worth a few photos. Not really worth the 60dh entry in our opinion.

Helpful?
Thank TheBaileys2012
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Small nice museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The museum is not big so with reading of all the information you need not more than 30 min for sure. The main hall is nice and some interesting typical Moroccan architecture (if you haven't seen any other Morrocan museum yet). I wouldn't put it on "must seen" list of Marrakesh but its a nice place to relaxe if you are annoyed by the markt atmosphere of medina.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank guzTheGuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Put on to do List”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This Museum of Marrakesh was quite worth the visit. Well laid out with some nice display. Cost was approx 50dhr which hopefully goes towards improving total display.Tile displays were outstanding with centre display somewhat futuristic… not quite sure where that came from. Our guide took us there so assume on the standard tour trail.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pocent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Marrakesh also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Museum of Marrakesh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing