We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anti-Climax” 2 of 5 stars
Review of El Badi Palace

El Badi Palace
Book In Advance
$78*
and up
Full-Day Small-Group Marrakech Bike Tour with Lunch
Ranked #27 of 153 things to do in Marrakech
Attraction details
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Anti-Climax”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

If you expected to see visible remains of the past glory of Saadian Dynasty, then I'm afraid you might get disappointed. Except the walls and wholes in the ground that represented pools a long time ago, not much more is left to see.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vladimir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    561
    318
    90
    26
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nerja, Spain
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Haunting place, incredible birds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a huge ruined palace surrounding sunken orange groves, all enclosed in huge tall walls. It was quiet and you could let your imagination run wild - how this must have looked when it was built, how peaceful in crowded, noisy and dusty Marrakech. No hassles inside, you could wander at leisure. The orange trees were in blossom giving a gorgeous frangrance to the entire area.

The birds have taken over the walls - lots of storks sitting on their huge nests, and flying around so close. We also heard and saw a pair of small falcons who landed on a stretch of the walls, impervious to the few tourists below them.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank zula c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

A bit of a mission to find but breath taking. Its a beautiful place in a stunning part of the world. A must see

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Hauntingly beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We visited around lunchtime and heard the call to prayer, whilst standing in its beautiful grounds. It was truly unforgettable in the magical setting with the storks flying overhead.

I would recommend you pay the 10dh extra to see the minbar, taken out of the Koutoubia mosque in the 60s. As non- Muslims, it was fantastically interesting.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thriftystudent89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“It's a shame that so little effort has been put into this place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

If we had had a guide to give us some history, I think our visit to the El Badi Palace could have been very interesting, because it was clearly a place of significance but it's so poorly maintained, there is virtually no information at the site so you're really just looking at a bunch of stones and that doesn't do it justice, one senses. A real shame and I hope the officials in Marrakech put some work into this place to make it an informative visit to a historic site.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Badi Palace also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to El Badi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing