We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fantastic authentic setting in the medina. Brilliant staff. Amazing food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kaiss

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Kaiss
Ranked #188 of 1,171 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic authentic setting in the medina. Brilliant staff. Amazing food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

This riad is in the southern part of the medina. It is done out so authentically in a Moroccan style. There are only 9 bedrooms so you are assured of a professional and personal service. It is well placed for both the centre of Marrakech and also the sights on the south side, perfect. Once you're inside the walls the hurlyburly ceases and there is only the fountain to break the silence. A beautiful building combined with caring staff and not bad value either.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boredtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    26
    13
    7
    1
See reviews for
28
98
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

From start to finish we had a lovely stay at the oasis of calm that is Riad Kaiss. Staff were attentive, very welcoming and friendly - and nothing was too much trouble. We highly recommend you ask the madame to organise a Guided Medina walk as the first thing you do in Marrakech - to get your bearings and enable you to get the best out of a short break. Mustapha was our guide who was brilliant - we learnt so much about all sorts of things ranging from how to haggle the Berber way, to the symbolism in the patterns at the nearby Bahia Palace to finding the best place to buy Argan Oil. Our suite at Riad Kaiss was lovely - and we would agree with a previous reviewer's comment that it has an atmosphere of 'traditional elegance'. We were kindly allowed to use another room before leaving for the airport and this room was charming too, with the Tuareg indigo blue throughout.
We tried the Hammam together - it really is an experience - not for the shy - it's very hot and dark, with the delicious smells of the savon noir and gommage being rubbed into your skin.
We would have tried a massage to follow if there had been two beds in the spa.
The Riad felt a safe and homely haven after the dusty busyness of a day walking the souks and sights and we were always greeted with a warm friendly smile by our hosts. Thank you!
Recommended restaurants nearby:
La Sultana - an upscale Riad in Kasbah area - lunch on the elegant rooftop terrace is a must - absolutely delicious and very attentive service with views of the Atlas Mountains
Kosy Bar - near Spice Souks in Jewish area - watch the sunset from the sophisticated rooftop lounge bar (just remember to wear a warm jacket and even gloves in Jan/Feb)

Room Tip: Go for Rm 3 with the private terrace - ask staff to bring table and chairs onto the terrace and hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARNManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

After a rather long journey I arrived at Riad Kaiss to be greeted warmly by the beautiful Hayat and Team. Given a wonderful green tea to warm me up and allow me to soak up the wonderful architecture and inner courtyard/gardens. The courtyard is intricately designed in the traditional Moroccan style mixed with the magic and flair of French designer workmanship. A flawless marriage of craftsmanship and Moroccan hospitality.

As a single female traveller I was cared for constantly by Hayat and her team. They went out of their way to make sure I was having a fun and peaceful time. The location is perfect as the Riad is situated just off the inner Medina so it is super easy to walk all over the Medina and also neighbouring sites. I had no problems walking by myself. There are many local places to eat alternatively the Riad itself serves excellent food. There is a beautiful level of terraces for soaking up the sun rays and simply listening to the Medina come alive each morning at dawn.

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone as I arrived as a guest and I left as a friend.

Room Tip: Definitely pay the extra and get either the ground floor room looking into the inner courtyard as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FCS73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I can't imagine a more beautiful or charming place to stay in Marrakech. The riad is an oasis of calm amid the busy streets of the Medina. All the staff were excellent, especially Hayat, and made our stay really memorable. We enjoyed the fabulous breakfasts on the roof terrace, overlooking the city rooftops with views of the Atlas Mountains, and their homemade yoghurt with honey was the best I've ever eaten; we also enjoyed the cookery course too. We'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 576Emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_234, Manager at Riad Kaiss, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your wonderful stay at Riad Kaiss. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Set in the Medina, the Riad is a delightful oasis of calm within the chaos outside. Without doubt, the staff are the crux of the Riad - friendly and polite. Corporate the Riad is not! It's traditional elegance hides a tired old lady. I chose the Riad because its claim of wifi - (I need to have access to work) - but this did not work. The food was adequate not exceptional and the cost was on the high side when compared to the gastronomy of local restaurants. The cost of the Riads taxi service is exorbitant (they dress it up as a 4x4) being more expensive then London and three times as much as a local taxi. In conclusion I would say the Riad is a place to crash rather than enjoy and the staff are a breath of fresh air in a city where asking someone the time of day is likely to cost you a few Euros!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_234, Manager at Riad Kaiss, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

Yes, during your stay we experienced general problems with both the wi-fi and the telephone system due to work and service degradation from Maroc Telecom, the local telephone company. We provided a USB key to provide temporary wi-fi service.

We appreciate your comments about the taxi service as it brings up a very important point. It is expensive, but compared to a London taxi it is still substantially less. This guest recommends not using our car service. It is true, it is substantially more expensive to have a private car than to use a taxi from the street. Please note, however, that this is not us, but an outside car service. It is expensive compared to the alternatives. It is also licensed and insured. A great many riads and hotels either use their own cars to drive clients or "car services" that are not licensed or insured. In Morocco, many people (including taxi drivers) also drive without drivers licenses, and at the very least, anyone who has driven here understands how dangerous the roads are. Fatal accident rates in Morocco are 6th highest in the world per capita, highest of all Middle Eastern and North African countries, and 29 times higher than those in the UK relative to the number of cars on the road. Should a guest be involved in a serious accident in an unlicensed vehicle or with an unlicensed driver, they risk having their insurance claim invalidated. For these reasons, we have chosen to work with a car company that we know has licensed and trained drivers, who have full insurance, are authorised to carry tourists and have the permits to do so--and for this reason, their prices are closer to what you would pay to take a taxi in Europe. For us, the safety and security of our guests always comes first.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Riad Kaiss was beyond exception. Hayat provided attentive, friendly, warm service to our family and made us feel at home. From the minute we arrived until the time we left Hayat made our trip special. We travelled with two young children who were fully integrated into the Riad family. All the staff were wonderful and warm. The cooking classes were fantastic, we are now ready to cook at home . The kids made pastries under Majda's guidance while we made dinner. Our rooms were exceptional, spacious, and relaxing. We ate both breakfast and dinner on sight and every meal was wonderful. Fouzia and her team cooked up incredible meals each evening that all of us enjoyed. That Hammam was a great way to end our vacation. The common areas provided all kinds of quiet nooks to escape to and enjoy the magic of Marrakech. The pool was perfect for a cool down at the end of a hot day. It was amazing how quiet life was at the Riad, once outside the doors and around the corner the city was bustling, but the Riad was a quiet oasis. Our children cried when it was time to leave, we all felt so at home it was as though we were leaving family. Clearly we will have to return again!

Room Tip: If a family let them know as there are rooms that can join together with a little private hallway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalgaryMom2boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_234, Manager at Riad Kaiss, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your wonderful stay at Riad Kaiss. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stunning traditional Riad with beautiful cool courtyard full of tumbling climbing plants and flowers, stunning traditional tiled decoration and furniture. Roof terraces with small pool and views over the city to the mountains beyond. The staff are very friendly and helpful. If you are looking for a corporate style hotel look else were, If you are looking for a true boutique hotel experience in Marrakech this is an excellent choice. Slightly off the beaten track down a side street, not directly accessible by car/taxi, easy to walk to the main square, or to get a taxi from the end of the street, (your bags can arrive and leave by hand cart). Breakfast is fabulous! So peaceful we slept well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clare s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Dar Les Cigognes
Dar Les Cigognes
#93 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 380 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#49 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad El Mansour
Riad El Mansour
#36 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#32 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 976 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#25 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kaiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kaiss

Property: Riad Kaiss
Address: 65 Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun Kedim, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 1,171 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kaiss 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the harem of the Favourite, Riad Kaiss is one of Marrakech's grandest traditional riads and boutique hotels. Located steps from the Djema el Fnaa on a quiet side street, 9 luxurious bedrooms and suites, spa, hammam, restaurant, cooking classes, chauffeur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Riad Kaiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kaiss Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing