We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hotel with a disabled access room, service at reception needs improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Les Jardins de la Medina
Ranked #58 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
99 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A beautiful hotel with a disabled access room, service at reception needs improvement”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

When looking for a hotel in Marrakech with a wheelchair accessible room, we were faced with limited options. When I found Les Jardins de la Medina I was thrilled.
We opted for an airport transfer, and even though I requested a car, a van was sent to collect us. As I am in a wheelchair it was very difficult for me to get into the van, but with the help of a very nice driver and my husband we managed.
On arrival to the hotel, the reception area seemed quite disorganised and sent us to the bar where we were served a very pleasant welcome drink and some dried fruit/nut snacks. We did not get access to our room till 3:30pm and only after enquiring with the reception area (who seemed quite put out by the enquiry). The wheelchair access room is well set out, but needs a bar on the wall near the toilet in addition to the pull down bar. The shower has a low tiled seat (as per photo) which had limited use for me.
After settling in we went back to reception to see if they could help us organise a day trip. Given my need for a wheelchair we were hoping they might help suggest an appropriate tour. To our disappointment the gentleman at reception had no interest nor provided any help.
There was a smell coming from the drain in our room, but on reporting this to reception they did rectify this quickly.
I booked a facial in the spa and I cannot speak more highly of both the treatment and the lovely beautician who was more than happy to help in any way she could.
We ate in the restaurant on 2 occassions, and on both occassions it was fantastic - in fact in both occassions I had the chicken and pear tagine because it was so good!! The desserts were also fabulous.
We did request a late check out from reception as there is no disabled toilet at the hotel outside of the room, but were told this was not possible. Check out was 12pm, we were hoping to keep the room till 2pm as we were leaving for the airport at that time. Check in was 3pm so we were hoping they would try to help us out - but they didn't. Even the manager would not budge and when we suggest we had been delayed in check in by 30 minutes, she said she would check the footage they had. It was not a pleasant experience and given the cost and rating of this hotel, confirmed that the administrative side of the hotel needed improvement.
The hotel was responsive to the need for a car to transfer us back to the airport.

Room Tip: Room # 101 is the wheelchair accessible room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IntrepidTravellersOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,104
    242
    39
    14
    15
See reviews for
261
806
40
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

Small hotel in the Kasbah district. Lush grounds, tranquil pool area and lovely room and shower. Rooms beautifully scented every day and rose petals scattered. Turn down service left pastries each night. The staff were really friendly. It was an easy walk to most things and a cheap taxi ride to the new city clubs and bars. Only downside was that we were not there long enough. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank mmb2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Wonderful 4 nights, every member of the hotel team was incredibly helpful in any and all ways. It is a place of peace and calm after the hustle and bustle of the souks and markets. Highly recommended and I hope I will be able to return.

Room Tip: Every room has a private balcony, I do believe every room is a great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DRH1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

I spent the last week of June in Les Jardins de la Medina with my boyfriend and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. From the moment you step through the door you leave the hustle bustle of Marrakech behind and enter into calm and gentile surroundings. The staff were lovely - so kind and welcoming. Our room was incredibly spacious with a large bed and seating area. We spent a great deal of time relaxing by the pool, which was surrounded by greenery. There were a number of extra perks including a small drinks party by the pool one evening. The breakfast was absolutely fantastic and we made the most of all the different options. I wish the hotel the very best of luck and I hope to return for a future visit. I have already recommended the hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulietWesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Beautiful oasis in the Medina. We were upgraded to a room with private sitting patio and roof! Beds and showers were heavenly. Breakfast was leisurely and so many options. The last place we stayed in Morocco and it was a treat!

Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

This riad was at one end of the Medina within walking distance to several places of interest; and a cab ride to the center of town and the souks. We had a very spacious room on the ground level with two french doors opening out to the lush gardens and a separate sitting room where we had our breakfast. There is a central walkway outside which can get a bit busy and noisy at times - so you might want to request a room on an upper level if you want absolute quiet. The workout area is outdoors but the equipment is a bit tired. The staff (especially Youssef) was warm and friendly; they even had staff serve complimentary refreshments poolside at times and someone to clean your sunglasses! We had most of our meals here - great selection and service -- the indoor/outdoor dining areas had a romantic ambience. Make sure you try their tagines and coconut shrimp. Overall - a lovely sanctuary to come back to after your daily adventures in magical Marrakech. I highly recommend getting a local Berber guide to take you around to see the real Marrakech.

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground level open out to the gardens and are very convenient. But they can be a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in June. The rooms were of a high standard, very clean, comfortable and spacious. The breakfast was plentiful, buffet style with good choice. We also had 2 high quality meals here. Between us we had several spa treatments and I had a Hamman which was excellent. Good size pool with comfortable sunbeds in lovely gardens. Is situated in the Kasbah area, which is a quiet area and not too far to walk to the main attractions or the reception staff will arrange a taxi for you. The reception staff were extremely helpful with restaurant reservations , advice and contacting airline when our flight was delayed. All staff were very friendly helpful, as was the manager also, who introduced himself to us. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#68 of 500 in Marrakech
1,409 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#38 of 500 in Marrakech
656 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 500 in Marrakech
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#16 of 500 in Marrakech
1,984 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Jardins de la Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins de la Medina

Property: Les Jardins de la Medina
Address: Derb Chtouka, 21 | Kasbah de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#31 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#38 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#42 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Jardins de la Medina 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel and tasteful restaurant, Les jardins de la Medina benefits from the luxuriance of an exceptional 3000 m² garden in the heart Kasbah of Marrakesh, not far from souks and from historic monuments such as Djemaa Lefna ... In this historic house, the WiFi is free in the rooms as well as in the overall hotel; the breakfast and the smile of the staff are included too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Les Jardins de la Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins De La Medina Hotel Marrakech
Jardins De La Medina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing