We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“wonderful riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Jardins de la Medina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Les Jardins de la Medina
Ranked #46 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“wonderful riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

What a truly amazing break we had at Les Jardin de la Medina. The hotel and its gardens were relaxing and beautiful. All area were clean and tidy and the staff were friendly and helpful and really made our stay. The room and bathroom was spacious and elegant with a fantastic terrace. The food was amazing and we ate there for breakfast then lunch one day and evening dinner another, could not fault it at all. The roof terrace is a beautifully decorated and relaxing place to enjoy an evening glass of wine. I would whole heartily recommend this riad and hope to visit again someday

Room Tip: our room 115 came with a lovely outdoor area with sun loungers. the room was enormous with a beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LynneButler33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    984
    200
    31
    11
    10
See reviews for
222
707
37
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

It is true what they say about this hotel, it really is an oasis in the medina! Our stay was perfect. The rooms were lovely, the restaurant and service fantastic. I cannot fault anything. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Our standard room was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica_Phyllis_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Wie had such a lovely time in Les Jardins de la Koutoubia. Even though the hotel is right in the heart of the Medina, inside there's no sign of the hussle of nearby " la place". The hotel combines old with the new and stays true to its Morrocan roots. The suits are perfect. If there are too many kids by the pool in the yard, one can escape to the pool on the roof, with. a view to the Koutoubia mosque next door. Breakfast is great with crepe station, omelette station and the wonderful Marrakesh orange juice. The hotel's three restaurants are all great. The entrecôte of the French restaurant is wonderful. The Morrocan place's speciality is the tangine with prunes and almonds.And the Indian restaurant on the roof has guests from all over town and a view which is hard to beat. I can recommend Le Jardins De La Koutoubia wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: rooms facing the garden. It's worth paying a little extra for a mini suite or suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank udonchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We chose Marrakech as a week on the beach wasn't for us - we like adventures and exploring. This hotel catered to our every need and we truly had the most memorable experience. The staff were attentive and remembered our drink preferences and generally kept our favourite table for us. The room was beautifully decorated with rose petals and candles and the reception staff and poter were beyond helpful, kind attentive and nothing was too much trouble. I would highly recommend

Room Tip: The superior rooms have a private roof terrace with two loungers a hammock and an outdoor shower to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Our group stayed here for four nights.
Just lovely!
The ambience and service on every level was great.
Beautiful gardens,great pool.
A real oasis, and very reasonably priced.
Go the bit extra and upgrade your room to one with a verandha.
Big recommendation!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susiefromaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This is a great hotel with lovely gardens in the middle of the medina. The gardens and pool are great, rooms lovely and the food from the restaurant top notch.
Most things have been said by others so here are my tips:
Airport
we flew British Airways, on the afternoon flight that arrived with 6 other flights causing absolute chaos in a small airport that is only designed for one at a time. The result was over 1000 people queuing in the heat for over 2 hours to get through. If you arrive at this time make sure that you have plenty of water. better still catch the morning flight, easy jet too, and there is very little activity and you wont experience this.
Heat
Beware the heat is intense at this time of the year. 2 years ago we came at this time but went up into the mountains where there was a breeze, inside the Medina there is no air and temperatures well into the 40's, it can be totally exhausting.
The Medina
If you are visiting in the heat do visit one of the many restaurants surrounding the main sqauer for a drink and to see the sunset. Drinks are not expensive and there was always a breeze and plenty to see. Shopping is great and whilst you do get hassled, if you say no politely you are left alone. My advice is to say that you are staying for several more days and will come back to their shop.
The hotel
Great place, staff are all polite and helpfull, food in the restaurant is great and I would recommend a Solarium room, providing you with a private terrace above your room for sunbathing and having an evening drink looking at the stars, and a bit of a breeze!! The pool is lovely, however if you want the sun you need to realise that most of the sunbeds are in shade and around the pool can get crowded becasue people are let in on a day pass to have luch and use the pool facilities- hence recommend the solarium room. Hammam and Spa treatments were good value and on the whole very good. My partner was a bit taken aback when a bucket of water was suddenly thrown over her without warning in the Hammam and another guest told us that this happened to her too. The massage that I had was excellent in itself, the room was nice and it was cool, just dont expect the same sort of sophistication that you get in the Far East or Dubai - no drinks afterwards etc. As I have already mentioned the food in the restaurant is excellent and the terrace area where the tables are set up has a great ambience. Our only criticism was other guests smoking whilst you are eating, this was a real problem as some of the tables are very close together and on one night we were absolutely surrounded by French and Germans smoking throughout dinner, all the more oppresive in the searing heat. When we checked out and mentioned it on our questionnaire we were told that the management are looking to ban smoking in both the rooms and the restaurant.
To summarise we had a great four nights here and you wont go far wrong staying here. make sure that you visit at a time where you can stand the heat and be prepared to allow time for your drinks and order to arrive, it will be a bit slow but will happen!!! Enjoy

Room Tip: Pick a Solarium room if you want to sunbathe
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at les jardins for the first 3 nights of our honeymoon in late June. Upon our arrival we were greeted with a welcome drink and snacks and the service from there until the very end did not disappoint.
The grounds are absolutely gorgeous, feeling like a beautiful oasis in the middle of the busy, noisy kasbah section of the medina.
The riad is located steps away from the royal palace and a 20 minute walk or a very short taxi ride (which is extremely cheap) from the main jmaa el fna square.
The rooms are big and beautiful, the grounds are peaceful and quiet and the located excellent. We couldn't recommend this place enough!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#72 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,233 reviews
6.2 mi away
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
#45 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 323 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#40 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#23 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 541 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#33 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Jardins de la Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins de la Medina

Property: Les Jardins de la Medina
Address: Derb Chtouka, 21 | Kasbah de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#25 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#26 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#38 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Jardins de la Medina 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel and tasteful restaurant, Les jardins de la Medina benefits from the luxuriance of an exceptional 3000 m² garden in the heart Kasbah of Marrakesh, not far from souks and from historic monuments such as Djemaa Lefna ... In this historic house, the WiFi is free in the rooms as well as in the overall hotel; the breakfast and the smile of the staff are included too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Les Jardins de la Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins De La Medina Hotel Marrakech
Jardins De La Medina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing