We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely hotel with a 1001 vibe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Jardins de la Medina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Les Jardins de la Medina
Ranked #45 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel with a 1001 vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Wie had such a lovely time in Les Jardins de la Koutoubia. Even though the hotel is right in the heart of the Medina, inside there's no sign of the hussle of nearby " la place". The hotel combines old with the new and stays true to its Morrocan roots. The suits are perfect. If there are too many kids by the pool in the yard, one can escape to the pool on the roof, with. a view to the Koutoubia mosque next door. Breakfast is great with crepe station, omelette station and the wonderful Marrakesh orange juice. The hotel's three restaurants are all great. The entrecôte of the French restaurant is wonderful. The Morrocan place's speciality is the tangine with prunes and almonds.And the Indian restaurant on the roof has guests from all over town and a view which is hard to beat. I can recommend Le Jardins De La Koutoubia wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: rooms facing the garden. It's worth paying a little extra for a mini suite or suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank udonchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    979
    199
    31
    11
    10
See reviews for
221
703
36
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We chose Marrakech as a week on the beach wasn't for us - we like adventures and exploring. This hotel catered to our every need and we truly had the most memorable experience. The staff were attentive and remembered our drink preferences and generally kept our favourite table for us. The room was beautifully decorated with rose petals and candles and the reception staff and poter were beyond helpful, kind attentive and nothing was too much trouble. I would highly recommend

Room Tip: The superior rooms have a private roof terrace with two loungers a hammock and an outdoor shower to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Our group stayed here for four nights.
Just lovely!
The ambience and service on every level was great.
Beautiful gardens,great pool.
A real oasis, and very reasonably priced.
Go the bit extra and upgrade your room to one with a verandha.
Big recommendation!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susiefromaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This is a great hotel with lovely gardens in the middle of the medina. The gardens and pool are great, rooms lovely and the food from the restaurant top notch.
Most things have been said by others so here are my tips:
Airport
we flew British Airways, on the afternoon flight that arrived with 6 other flights causing absolute chaos in a small airport that is only designed for one at a time. The result was over 1000 people queuing in the heat for over 2 hours to get through. If you arrive at this time make sure that you have plenty of water. better still catch the morning flight, easy jet too, and there is very little activity and you wont experience this.
Heat
Beware the heat is intense at this time of the year. 2 years ago we came at this time but went up into the mountains where there was a breeze, inside the Medina there is no air and temperatures well into the 40's, it can be totally exhausting.
The Medina
If you are visiting in the heat do visit one of the many restaurants surrounding the main sqauer for a drink and to see the sunset. Drinks are not expensive and there was always a breeze and plenty to see. Shopping is great and whilst you do get hassled, if you say no politely you are left alone. My advice is to say that you are staying for several more days and will come back to their shop.
The hotel
Great place, staff are all polite and helpfull, food in the restaurant is great and I would recommend a Solarium room, providing you with a private terrace above your room for sunbathing and having an evening drink looking at the stars, and a bit of a breeze!! The pool is lovely, however if you want the sun you need to realise that most of the sunbeds are in shade and around the pool can get crowded becasue people are let in on a day pass to have luch and use the pool facilities- hence recommend the solarium room. Hammam and Spa treatments were good value and on the whole very good. My partner was a bit taken aback when a bucket of water was suddenly thrown over her without warning in the Hammam and another guest told us that this happened to her too. The massage that I had was excellent in itself, the room was nice and it was cool, just dont expect the same sort of sophistication that you get in the Far East or Dubai - no drinks afterwards etc. As I have already mentioned the food in the restaurant is excellent and the terrace area where the tables are set up has a great ambience. Our only criticism was other guests smoking whilst you are eating, this was a real problem as some of the tables are very close together and on one night we were absolutely surrounded by French and Germans smoking throughout dinner, all the more oppresive in the searing heat. When we checked out and mentioned it on our questionnaire we were told that the management are looking to ban smoking in both the rooms and the restaurant.
To summarise we had a great four nights here and you wont go far wrong staying here. make sure that you visit at a time where you can stand the heat and be prepared to allow time for your drinks and order to arrive, it will be a bit slow but will happen!!! Enjoy

Room Tip: Pick a Solarium room if you want to sunbathe
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at les jardins for the first 3 nights of our honeymoon in late June. Upon our arrival we were greeted with a welcome drink and snacks and the service from there until the very end did not disappoint.
The grounds are absolutely gorgeous, feeling like a beautiful oasis in the middle of the busy, noisy kasbah section of the medina.
The riad is located steps away from the royal palace and a 20 minute walk or a very short taxi ride (which is extremely cheap) from the main jmaa el fna square.
The rooms are big and beautiful, the grounds are peaceful and quiet and the located excellent. We couldn't recommend this place enough!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Tranquil and beautiful gardens, very attentive and kind staff. Lovely room with balcony.

From the moment we arrived, staff were very helpful. We were met with a dish of dried fruits and a drink and then shown around. Beforehand I had let the hotel know that my daughter was allergic to gluten and with our very first lunch, they brought out freshly baked corn bread. From that moment we knew thay had paid attention to detail. The restaurant is one of the most beautriful in Marrakech among the olive and orange trees and at the side of the pool (lit gently at night). We really enjoyed our lunches here but felt the dinner menu could have been 'refreshed' - a shame as we would have eaten here more often.
The hotel is near the palaces and the tomb but about 15 minutes walk from the centre. Be careful not to ask the way as you often get sent the wrong way so that you have to 'pay' to find your way back!

The first 3 days were very peaceful and the pool was a great place to relax after hot and dusty Marrakech. On the last day a family with 3 young children checked in - they were noisy and splashing around a lot so I was pleasantly surpriosed that one of the rewstauant staff asked them to be quiet. To be honest, a family with young children would be better to book elsewhere, where there is a separate pool or more to do for children. This hotel was more suited to couples - or, in our case, a mother and daughter experiencing a new country and some shopping.

Finally a thank you to all the kind and attentive staff!

Room Tip: We really liked our room - 120 - it had a private balcony, morning sun on the balcony and a small si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine188633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

we found ourselves at Les Jardins in an oasis. The service was excellent. Rooms were large, beautifully decorated, and comfortable. This is within the walls of the Medina, near old square. But inside the hotel, you were secluded from the heat and the noise of the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyJMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#73 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,212 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#24 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#28 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 963 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#37 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 557 reviews
6.2 mi away
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
#43 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Jardins de la Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins de la Medina

Property: Les Jardins de la Medina
Address: Derb Chtouka, 21 | Kasbah de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#24 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#25 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#38 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Jardins de la Medina 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel and tasteful restaurant, Les jardins de la Medina benefits from the luxuriance of an exceptional 3000 m² garden in the heart Kasbah of Marrakesh, not far from souks and from historic monuments such as Djemaa Lefna ... In this historic house, the WiFi is free in the rooms as well as in the overall hotel; the breakfast and the smile of the staff are included too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Les Jardins de la Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins De La Medina Hotel Marrakech
Jardins De La Medina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing