We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem Riad in Marrakech”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Les Jardins de la Medina
Ranked #58 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem Riad in Marrakech”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This hotel is really comfortable and set in lovely gardens. This is without doubt one of the best riads in its range price. We visited other riads (such as the one next door which was great for a meal) and the Maison L'Arabie, which is real luxury but still have no complaints re our choice of Le Jardin de la Medina as the staff were very nice, friendly and helpful. We had no issues with the room which is old fashioned French style and had everything one would want in a hotel room. Don't expect modern luxury but everything works and its really comfortable and pleasant. Breakfast was more than adequate and dinner was very good albeit from a limited menu and a wee bit pricey. The bar is modest but the outside seating area is excellent and the service as good as anywhere. No complaints at all.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade as some of the rooms are old Moroccan and quite private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanandEllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,120
    251
    39
    14
    16
See reviews for
265
817
41
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Spent 4 nights here end of May. Very comfortable and friendly hotel. Staff all very helpful. Lovely gardens and pool. Takes about 30 mins to walk from hotel to the central square in Marrakesh. Agree with others comments who have liked this hotel. Excellent breakfast served by the pool, lovely informal, relaxed dinners, food all very good. Lots of bottled water provided daily.
Alan and Pauline B,

Room Tip: If available have room on second floor as these not only have a small outside seating area by bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vosselaar, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2014

All senses are stimulated and coddled
Morrocan wines and Lot of wines by the glass
Superb lunch and dinners (chef is top ! ! !) Lot of different tastes
Attentive, polite and friendly staff
Lots of relaxing spots and opportunity's
Fine Hamam experience
Service, kindness, care taking,

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I can't speak highly enough of this hotel, the resort, the staff, the food, the beautiful gardens, the spa and not to mention the amazing bedrooms. I would go as far to day you do not need to look any further for the perfect hotel for your stay in Marrakech, just amazing. Also located within the old town walls so good for walking to the tourist sites. Beautiful!

Room Tip: room 136 can't beat it! own private garden with sunbeds
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke, Norfolk, UK
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed as a group for 4 days/3 nights and booked through Naturally Morocco in the UK. I'd stayed in Marrakech before and would normally have booked a small Riad but as a group we needed somewhere larger. The Jardins certainly fitted the bill. It was large enough to accommodate us but situated within the city walls so on-hand for all the sights.

Situated about 15 minutes walk south of the Main Square, we were a little off the beaten track but right in the heart of the Royal Quarter and within sight of the Kings Palace.

What we didn't realise when we booked was that the hotel [seemingly] has the largest Riad Garden in the city [check-out Google Maps] as well as a proper swimming pool and lots of secluded nooks for lazing around. You wouldn't guess this from the street. You can certainly get privacy as well as mingle with other guests if you want. A true quiet Oasis in a busy/dusty city.

We ate one night in the hotel and the food was very good. Delicately flavoured local dishes and international for those who wanted that. We drank Moroccan wines with the meal, which were errrrrr mixed. Tip: The higher priced ones were definitely an improvement on the cheaper ones. Service was always impeccable.

We benefited from the personal attention of the French owner/manager but it wasn't really necessary because the local staff were up to scratch from early starts and late-night drinks in the bar.

Recommended for a very comfortable stay if you want to be close-ish to the action [15 mins walk] as well as require lovely garden space for a bit of privacy/lazing around and pampering in addition to all the frenetic Souk/touristy stuff.

Room Tip: Some first floor double rooms [121] have a secluded balcony overlooking the garden but are shadowed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bunnco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Very well placed to wander the many souks and sights of Marrakech.
Very friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms.
Largest selection of Moroccan wines by the glass - not that any of them were that good but still.
Good local food in the restaurant and the one next door was good(if a tad empty) as well.
Nice pool - heated and empty half of the time.

Highly recommend

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexStevenson187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chepstow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Once you go through the unassuming door in the heart of the Medina you know you are in a former Royal Palace a beautiful garden with a pool awaits you complete with its own tortoise.The food is some of the best we tasted in Morocco made all the more special by the setting, a truly special place. M and C Clarke

Room Tip: Room with aterace overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank palacecottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.5 mi away
Riad Morgane
Riad Morgane
#331 of 500 in Marrakech
48 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#32 of 500 in Marrakech
824 reviews
1.6 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#7 of 500 in Marrakech
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Riad El Mansour
Riad El Mansour
#113 of 500 in Marrakech
820 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel & Ryads Barriere Le Naoura Marrakech
0.7 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 500 in Marrakech
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Jardins de la Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins de la Medina

Property: Les Jardins de la Medina
Address: Derb Chtouka, 21 | Kasbah de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#31 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#38 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#41 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Jardins de la Medina 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel and tasteful restaurant, Les jardins de la Medina benefits from the luxuriance of an exceptional 3000 m² garden in the heart Kasbah of Marrakesh, not far from souks and from historic monuments such as Djemaa Lefna ... In this historic house, the WiFi is free in the rooms as well as in the overall hotel; the breakfast and the smile of the staff are included too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Les Jardins de la Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins De La Medina Hotel Marrakech
Jardins De La Medina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing