We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the medina of Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Jardins de la Medina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Les Jardins de la Medina
Ranked #44 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Winterthur, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oasis in the medina of Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We spent the first week of February 2014 at the Jardins de la Medina and we are still overwhelmed when thinking of the wonderful hotel with its beautiful garden. The staff from the receptionists to the waitresses and waiters and the roommaid are extremely friendly and helpful, the restaurant and the bar have a wonderful and cosy atmosphere and the food is good. Room and bathroom were always very clean and well taken care of, and-since it was still pretty cool during the night and in the morning-we appreciated the good central heating The whole riad is furnished and decorated with exquisite taste and full of charming decorations and details.
We made two trips to the mountains and the sea, organized by the hotel, and the driver did an excellent job, taking very good care of us.
If ever we make another trip to Marrakech the Jardins de la Medina is the place to stay and feel at home!

Room Tip: We would suggest to book a superior room since they are a bit bigger and better located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    970
    195
    30
    11
    10
See reviews for
218
693
36
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

From the moment we stepped through the doors on a rather soggy January afternoon the staff made it their business to ensure we had a wonderful stay.

Food was so good that we chose to dine in most evenings as their was so many dishes that sounded too good to miss.

Spa was excellent and the beauty therapists professional and friendly.

It was so good I am booking to go back later this year.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahbX1388QL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

** They do not lie when they refer to this hotel as an Oasis. You step of the streets off of a very busy medina in Kasbah and into the quiet, tranquil and exotic paradise of the hotel.
When in the hotel you would never guess what laid the otherside of the walls.
I would suggest booking airport transfers prior as Hotel a little hard to get to, but being central in the old town, definitely a great location only 10 - 15 minutes to the main square and market.
The staff are extremely friendly and welcoming and at your beck and call. They do everything they can to make the stay as pleasent and as relaxing as possible.
In the hotel I would recommend going to the cocktail evening they hold, great way to meet other guests. No matter your age. Being 25 and my partner 29 we were probably the youngest couple staying but was still nice to chat to other tourists and hear about there experience in the City and whats good to see and do.
We booked a tour and an excursion through the hotel which are all private.
The Excursion to the mountains was great but our driver didnt speak any English. We were a little irritated as did ask for an English speaking driver. Although ignorant of us not to know another language we did say we didnt speak any french. So the journey to the mountains was in silence and we could not ask any question about the area etc. Having said this on arrival to the mountains we then paid for a further tour of the villages by an English speaking gentleman and he was excellent. I would still recommend this excursion, its worth it to go to the Atalas mountains definitely.And our driver did what ever he could even trying to sign to communicate with us. He was extremely friendly.
We booked a Tour of the City with the Hotel and this was AMAZING!! Best day we had.
On arrival in Marrakech we had a bad experience in the town and it made a bit nervouse about going back. We booked the tour so we could be shown around more by a local and experiance the old town fully. Our guide was brilliant. (Mohammed) He used to be a teacher and now is a tour guide. He took us to parts of the town we would never have found ourselves and we got to see an insight into the locals. He took us not only to shops in the market but our the back up the stairs to see how things are made etc. This was well worth the money. You are on your own with the guide, not a group tour. But I think this is what makes it sooo much better. Our guide was also very helpful, answered all our questions, and taught us so much about the city. Afterwoulds we felt so much more confident going around the market and exploring ourselves.
All in all what an AMAZING hotel. I would stay again. Definitely book a city tour. As soon as you get there if you are a bit nervouse or if its a bit of a culture shock. **

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I recently stayed here with 4 friends to celebrate my 40th birthday and loved it. I had originally wanted to book Le Maison Arabe but after visiting there for dinner I am SO glad that I chose Les Jardins de la Medina instead. From the pick up at the airport to arriving at the hotel, the staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. The hotel layout and beautiful gardens are stunning, the rooms are luxurious, spacious and perfectly appointed and the pool and rooftop terraces provide the perfect spaces to relax. I particularly liked all the traditional Moroccan touches such as the beautiful tiling, lighting and ornaments. The breakfast/dinner room was beautiful too with a good choice. Would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: We booked two Superior rooms which can sleep up to 3 people and both were gorgeous. My favourite of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

If you need to rest and cut yourself from the rumble of the world, this hotel is the place to go. Although fantastically located right in the middle of the old Kasbah, once you pass its doors, everyting is calm, heavenly serene, with the only sound you hear being the birds singing in the amazing garden. The service is absolutely flawless, discrete, smiling and helpful. The spa is great, fantastic service, exquisite hammam experience, massages and manicure. Beautiful heat swimming pool. My only regret is the international menu of the restaurant, when all I dreamt of was tajines and harira. I will go back.

Room Tip: Waking up by the sound of birds chipping with a room with view on the Gardens is a dream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lolba B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed here in January with our three daughters and grandson Kai for 5 nights.It was a nightmare getting to the hotel.. We used navigation ... Try to go through the Medina .. Shortest route.. Use a map much better.from the front end to back end the staff were excellent.. The place had a homely feel to it..our grandson had a wonderful time... Beautiful interior .. With wonderful gardens and a tranquil feel to it... Open the main door and you were in the huddle and bustle of Marrakesh...and only a 10 min straight walk to the main square...breakfast was very good with a good a selection..it's one of those places where you would happily stay again..and you would have to put this down to the wonderful service and location...

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dobberspharmacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roche, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

This was our third time at this hotel and it gets better every time. The hospitality is second to none from the moment you walk off the narrow streets until you leave. Youssef and the reception staff are there to answer any queries, the bar and waiting staff make you feel very special and the ladies who do the rooms are exceptional, not to mention all the other staff who do a fantastic job behind the scenes. Room was gorgeous, food excellent and this time I tried the hammam which I had not done before but now know what I've been missing. If there was to be any criticism it would be that the wine is a bit expensive, but I believe there are heavy taxes and the rest makes up for it. We will return for sure.

Room Tip: We have never had a bad room, but we had an upgrade free this time and it was even livelier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#77 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,196 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#27 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#36 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 557 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#16 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,660 reviews
3.6 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#69 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Jardins de la Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins de la Medina

Property: Les Jardins de la Medina
Address: Derb Chtouka, 21 | Kasbah de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#23 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#25 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#38 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Jardins de la Medina 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel and tasteful restaurant, Les jardins de la Medina benefits from the luxuriance of an exceptional 3000 m² garden in the heart Kasbah of Marrakesh, not far from souks and from historic monuments such as Djemaa Lefna ... In this historic house, the WiFi is free in the rooms as well as in the overall hotel; the breakfast and the smile of the staff are included too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Les Jardins de la Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins De La Medina Hotel Marrakech
Jardins De La Medina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing