We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“medina magic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Les Jardins de la Medina
Ranked #58 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“medina magic”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed here for five nights with my wife who has always wanted to stay in a riad. You enter the hotel through a doorway off a narrow street into reception then on into the lovely garden and pool area. We had a room on the 1st floor which was enormous with 2 seating areas and a large bathroom with superb toiletries. Service and food were very good, a little expensive but proportional to eating in decent restaurants. The hotel is just inside the city walls and to reach the centre you have to walk about twenty minutes through the Kasbah which we did several times even late at night and felt very safe. You could get a taxi but you would miss out an experience which was like walking through a film set.

Room Tip: I would imagine all rooms to be good all surround the garden probably the ones on the 1st floor are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dears99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,123
    252
    39
    14
    16
See reviews for
265
820
41
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights and it is absolutely beautiful. You enter the reception area from a little street and walk into what can only be described as 'The secret garden'. The setting is outstanding with fabulous gardens. The food was excellent if a tad expensive, similar to European prices. Our room was lovely, cleaned twice a day, and above the room up a little stair case we had our own private terrace. It is a little paradise.

The choice of food for breakfast was excellent . The only criticism I could make was the breakfast service. You had to ask several times for tea or coffee, the tables were often not re set if you came down a little later and staff didn't clear your dishes very quickly. I did mention this to the manager who was most professional and offered my daughter and I a free massage. Having said this the dinner staff were excellent.

Room Tip: Get a room with a terrace and i'd love to return with my husband as it is such a romantic settin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne and Wear
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel or riad is in the south of the Medina. On arrival you pass through narrow, busy streets where locals are going about their daily business. You then pass through Le Jardin de la Medina's door and are transported into an oasis of calm. With excellent service and a friendliness the riad has a lovely pool area as well as a traditional feel with elements of luxury added. We used the hotel as a base for a week and they arranged drivers and local guides who took us to the Atlas Mountains. All quietly and efficiently organised. We were located about a 25 minutes walk to the main square which was always an interesting journey! From here you sawZreal life; people shopping, children playing and we enjoyed the sounds and smells of Morocco. We had a fabulous time in the hotel and in the country. I'd fully recommend it.

Room Tip: Some rooms have private upstairs sun terraces. I'd check out the cost and upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SheenTyneandWear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We spent 3 nights here and what a wonderful start to our holiday. The riad is situated just inside the medina walls so was a perfect location to explore the city. We were given a warm welcome on arrival with fruit juice and a tray of dried fruits - the dates were the best I have ever eaten! Our room, a solarium room, was beautiful with stairs from the patio to our own private sun terrace. The staff could not do enough for you - service was excellent. Breakfast was a relaxed affair with an excellent choice of pastries, fruit etc in addition to our own 'tagine' of pastries. Dinner was superb, if a little expensive - more akin to UK prices. The pool area is lovely and there is also a sun terrace. A little bit of heaven in a chaotic city!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MidlandsElaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Just spent 4 wonderful nights at Les Jardins de Medina. I've been to Marrakech a number of times and this was by far the best place I've staid. The amenities of a large hotel combined with the intimacy of a small Riad. Excellent team of staff with right mix of efficiency and friendliness. We had both lunch and dinner here and each was excellent. We also thought breakfast was good. More choice than you would get in most riads, with cooked to order egg dishes and a good selection of pastries etc. All in all a great place to stay.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Myself and 9 friends stayed for 3 wonderful nights.
Everything was perfect, the staff were outstanding, the food was excellent and the atmosphere luxuriant.
I have to say, for me, the gentleman cleaning my sun glasses whilst I lazed on my sun lounger was the highlight. I felt like the Princess who once lived in this lovely Palace.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room on the first floor for the views across the gardens and the neat little terra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel was a wonderful oasis amidst the heat and bustle of Marrakech. Once you stepped through the door you felt safe and could relax. The food was very good in fact some was excellent - the dinner was the best I had whilst in Marrakech but the menu description did not do justice to the dish that was served. A simple starter you might think described as 'Spinach and preserved lemons' does not conjour up the delicious spinach and lemon mix, three part course that was produced! loved the Moroccan salad that was served with its interesting component parts. Breakfast was a little lacklustre and service did not seem inspired. Bedroom was beautifully clean and well serviced only complaint was that there was no extractor fan in the bathroom but discovering a small window which could be opened reduced this problem. The pool was surrounded by a lush garden - very necessary with the high temperature experienced at the end of August. Have read comments about hotel taxi to airport - I was charged about £16 which wasn't bad I thought but then I'm used to London fares!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berylbee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.5 mi away
Riad Morgane
Riad Morgane
#331 of 500 in Marrakech
48 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#33 of 500 in Marrakech
824 reviews
1.6 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#6 of 500 in Marrakech
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Riad El Mansour
Riad El Mansour
#114 of 500 in Marrakech
820 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel & Ryads Barriere Le Naoura Marrakech
0.7 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 500 in Marrakech
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Jardins de la Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins de la Medina

Property: Les Jardins de la Medina
Address: Derb Chtouka, 21 | Kasbah de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#31 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#38 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#41 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Jardins de la Medina 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel and tasteful restaurant, Les jardins de la Medina benefits from the luxuriance of an exceptional 3000 m² garden in the heart Kasbah of Marrakesh, not far from souks and from historic monuments such as Djemaa Lefna ... In this historic house, the WiFi is free in the rooms as well as in the overall hotel; the breakfast and the smile of the staff are included too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Les Jardins de la Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins De La Medina Hotel Marrakech
Jardins De La Medina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing