We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Oasis of calm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Jardins de la Medina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Les Jardins de la Medina
Ranked #45 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Tyne and Wear
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Oasis of calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel or riad is in the south of the Medina. On arrival you pass through narrow, busy streets where locals are going about their daily business. You then pass through Le Jardin de la Medina's door and are transported into an oasis of calm. With excellent service and a friendliness the riad has a lovely pool area as well as a traditional feel with elements of luxury added. We used the hotel as a base for a week and they arranged drivers and local guides who took us to the Atlas Mountains. All quietly and efficiently organised. We were located about a 25 minutes walk to the main square which was always an interesting journey! From here you sawZreal life; people shopping, children playing and we enjoyed the sounds and smells of Morocco. We had a fabulous time in the hotel and in the country. I'd fully recommend it.

Room Tip: Some rooms have private upstairs sun terraces. I'd check out the cost and upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SheenTyneandWear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    984
    200
    31
    11
    10
See reviews for
222
707
37
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We spent 3 nights here and what a wonderful start to our holiday. The riad is situated just inside the medina walls so was a perfect location to explore the city. We were given a warm welcome on arrival with fruit juice and a tray of dried fruits - the dates were the best I have ever eaten! Our room, a solarium room, was beautiful with stairs from the patio to our own private sun terrace. The staff could not do enough for you - service was excellent. Breakfast was a relaxed affair with an excellent choice of pastries, fruit etc in addition to our own 'tagine' of pastries. Dinner was superb, if a little expensive - more akin to UK prices. The pool area is lovely and there is also a sun terrace. A little bit of heaven in a chaotic city!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MidlandsElaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Just spent 4 wonderful nights at Les Jardins de Medina. I've been to Marrakech a number of times and this was by far the best place I've staid. The amenities of a large hotel combined with the intimacy of a small Riad. Excellent team of staff with right mix of efficiency and friendliness. We had both lunch and dinner here and each was excellent. We also thought breakfast was good. More choice than you would get in most riads, with cooked to order egg dishes and a good selection of pastries etc. All in all a great place to stay.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Myself and 9 friends stayed for 3 wonderful nights.
Everything was perfect, the staff were outstanding, the food was excellent and the atmosphere luxuriant.
I have to say, for me, the gentleman cleaning my sun glasses whilst I lazed on my sun lounger was the highlight. I felt like the Princess who once lived in this lovely Palace.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room on the first floor for the views across the gardens and the neat little terra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel was a wonderful oasis amidst the heat and bustle of Marrakech. Once you stepped through the door you felt safe and could relax. The food was very good in fact some was excellent - the dinner was the best I had whilst in Marrakech but the menu description did not do justice to the dish that was served. A simple starter you might think described as 'Spinach and preserved lemons' does not conjour up the delicious spinach and lemon mix, three part course that was produced! loved the Moroccan salad that was served with its interesting component parts. Breakfast was a little lacklustre and service did not seem inspired. Bedroom was beautifully clean and well serviced only complaint was that there was no extractor fan in the bathroom but discovering a small window which could be opened reduced this problem. The pool was surrounded by a lush garden - very necessary with the high temperature experienced at the end of August. Have read comments about hotel taxi to airport - I was charged about £16 which wasn't bad I thought but then I'm used to London fares!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berylbee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We wanted to stay inside The Medina, Then this Riad It's great! It's near to the new and touristic neighborhoods (shopping mall, restaurants and nightclubs) and in The Medina, though. The restaurant It's very good, there isn't air conditioning though. The pool area is very nice. Perfect for relax time. The service is good and friendly. The room is very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aretusa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

What more is there to add to all the excellent reviews! Spent four nights here and everything was lovely, just as I had hoped. Great staff, lovely gardens, so relaxing. Lots of choice at breakfast, lunch and dinner also excellent in our opinion.
Highly recommended

Room Tip: First floor rooms with a private rooftop solarium are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheConstantTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#72 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,230 reviews
6.2 mi away
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
#44 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#23 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#41 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 560 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#34 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Jardins de la Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins de la Medina

Property: Les Jardins de la Medina
Address: Derb Chtouka, 21 | Kasbah de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#24 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#25 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#38 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Jardins de la Medina 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel and tasteful restaurant, Les jardins de la Medina benefits from the luxuriance of an exceptional 3000 m² garden in the heart Kasbah of Marrakesh, not far from souks and from historic monuments such as Djemaa Lefna ... In this historic house, the WiFi is free in the rooms as well as in the overall hotel; the breakfast and the smile of the staff are included too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Les Jardins de la Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins De La Medina Hotel Marrakech
Jardins De La Medina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing