We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful hotel - so peaceful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Jardins de la Medina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Les Jardins de la Medina
Ranked #51 of 512 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hotel - so peaceful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel was a wonderful oasis amidst the heat and bustle of Marrakech. Once you stepped through the door you felt safe and could relax. The food was very good in fact some was excellent - the dinner was the best I had whilst in Marrakech but the menu description did not do justice to the dish that was served. A simple starter you might think described as 'Spinach and preserved lemons' does not conjour up the delicious spinach and lemon mix, three part course that was produced! loved the Moroccan salad that was served with its interesting component parts. Breakfast was a little lacklustre and service did not seem inspired. Bedroom was beautifully clean and well serviced only complaint was that there was no extractor fan in the bathroom but discovering a small window which could be opened reduced this problem. The pool was surrounded by a lush garden - very necessary with the high temperature experienced at the end of August. Have read comments about hotel taxi to airport - I was charged about £16 which wasn't bad I thought but then I'm used to London fares!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berylbee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,013
    209
    33
    13
    12
See reviews for
236
726
37
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We wanted to stay inside The Medina, Then this Riad It's great! It's near to the new and touristic neighborhoods (shopping mall, restaurants and nightclubs) and in The Medina, though. The restaurant It's very good, there isn't air conditioning though. The pool area is very nice. Perfect for relax time. The service is good and friendly. The room is very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aretusa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

What more is there to add to all the excellent reviews! Spent four nights here and everything was lovely, just as I had hoped. Great staff, lovely gardens, so relaxing. Lots of choice at breakfast, lunch and dinner also excellent in our opinion.
Highly recommended

Room Tip: First floor rooms with a private rooftop solarium are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheConstantTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haderslev, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Excellent hotel. Central location, yet wonderful tranquil atmosphere. Lovely rooms, very clean with attention to detail. Staff very friendly and service minded. Can strongly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Marrakesh.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gitte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

I was a solo traveler, and spent an idillic week in this Oasis within the Medina. Great location, 10 minute walk from the madness of the Djemaa el-fna Sq. staff were very friendly without being intrusive. I would recommend.

Graham, Cheltenham

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Franicso Bay Area, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

After getting a little lost in the kasbah (my cab let me out several streets away), I was relieved when the staff buzzed me in and all of the noise and dirt of the street just disappeared. I stayed two nights and was upgraded to a Sultana room (115), which was spacious, quiet, and well-appointed in a mix of Moroccan and Western decor. Outside temperatures were 100+ degrees F/39 C, so I greatly appreciated the shaded room and patio, quiet air conditioning, and rainfall shower. I also enjoyed the peace and beauty of the gardens, my soaking tub, in-room espresso, and lovely Moroccan sweets and fruit that came with my room. (Suggestion: Peel the fruit.) The bed was very comfortable. The restaurant is relatively expensive, as hotel restaurants usually are, but sometimes it's good to just stay in, and I had nothing but well-made food from the restaurant (a delicious seafood tagine, intensely-flavored harira, lovely berber omelette and freshly-made batbouts from the breakfast buffet).. At the end of a hectic two-week trip, I found this a lovely, civilized place to relax and move more slowly.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

LOCATION
South end within the medina, roughly 10 minutes walk from the main square Jeema el Fna. Because of its location inside the old town, some may call the immediate surroundings authentic, some may just call it dirty and crammed. You have to walk through some back streets to get to the hotel.

GOOD
Beautiful lush garden and lovely pool. It's definitely a nice and tranquil escape from the city outside. The rooms are well appointed and there's a lush rustic charm in the interior design rather than opulent luxury. You definitely feel like you are in a Moroccan riad with character and not another large international hotel. You also get free N'espresso and bottled water in the room. Personable service and the front of hour staff are very friendly and helpful, particularly with restaurant recommendations.

BAD
The in-house restaurant. Terrible breakfast with limited food selection. Some of the food on display seemed to have been out for a long time and the pastry was dry. If you are used to the larger hotels' breakfast, be prepared to lower your expectations. Our lunch didn't really improve either, so we ended up not eating there again. The rustic charm in the rooms can easily be seen as tired by some. The aircon in both rooms that we had were noisy and one of them broke down in the middle of one night. Finally, the hotel charged 350 MAD (£26) for airport transfer for a journey that last precisely 6:30 minutes from door to door in a dirty and tired-looking Hyundai. Seriously?!

SUMMARY
I stayed at Les Jardins de la Medina with my partner and my parents for a long weekend 11-14 July 2013. I have also stayed here before in 2007. Both my stays are good and the riad can be recommended, but it needs to improve its breakfast offering and quality as well as the airport transfer before I can give it my full endorsement.

Room Tip: Go for the high floors because they are brighter and more private. The ground floor rooms are dark b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoa-an B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#69 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#38 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#30 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#23 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Jardins de la Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins de la Medina

Property: Les Jardins de la Medina
Address: Derb Chtouka, 21 | Kasbah de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#27 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#31 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#38 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Jardins de la Medina 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel and tasteful restaurant, Les jardins de la Medina benefits from the luxuriance of an exceptional 3000 m² garden in the heart Kasbah of Marrakesh, not far from souks and from historic monuments such as Djemaa Lefna ... In this historic house, the WiFi is free in the rooms as well as in the overall hotel; the breakfast and the smile of the staff are included too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Les Jardins de la Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins De La Medina Hotel Marrakech
Jardins De La Medina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing