We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful experience, special place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Les Jardins de la Medina
Ranked #58 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Restful experience, special place”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Les Jardines provides a haven away from the general chaos of the Marrakech medina. The gardens are delightful and the swimming pool heated. Scattered throughout the hotel and gardens are bijou seating areas, so even after staying for 3 days there was not sufficient time to discover all the quiet semi secluded spots.
Our room was delightful; large, well proportioned with a separate seating area and small balcony overlooking the gardens. We were over the hamman downstairs, which perhaps explains why there seemed to be under-floor heating?
Our double bed was large, comfortable and had a mountains of pillows (a must for me), while the bathroom was small, but stylish.
Room maid service in particular was very good, coming at least twice a day and departing leaving a shower of rose petals.
We were particularly impressed with the early morning tea service, which was quick and free. This is so much appreciated when hotels often charge an silly amount for this core service (the Cirankan Palace in Istanbul once charged us US$23 for two tea bags and hot water ~ I still have the bill).
The breakfast buffet is good quality and is served overlooking the gardens, we also enjoyed the popular restaurant for dinner (reviewed elsewhere). Good food at a reasonable price.
The big downside of Les Jardines is the location which is in the extreme SW of the Medina. While close to the palaces and the royal tombs, it is still a hike and the main attractions of Marrakech are definitely a taxi ride away unless you like walking and that is not practical in the warmer weather. The narrow streets mean that vehicle access can be slow at times.
Good quality, free wifi

Room Tip: Each room is different, so I suggest that you ask to see a selection ~ the staff will oblige.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 100nights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,112
    250
    39
    14
    15
See reviews for
263
814
41
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We came for lunch at Les Jardins de la Medina whilst in Marrakech. A colleague had stayed at the hotel and had highly recommended the establishment. We sat outside by the poor area which is just gorgeous and so peaceful! The menu is french but the waitress translated everything on the menu for us which was very handy as I'm pretty clueless with French. The food was fantastic (I had the tagine de poulet aux oignons et amandes sucrees, which was just delicious!!!); the service was fantastic, the staff were very attentive and even from just having lunch we were pretty jealous that we weren't hotel guests too. It was such a gorgeous place, in a quiet street (which is very uncommon in Marrakech) but just five minutes from the Tombs. If I go back to Marrakech I would definitely stay here!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank preciouspixies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

This was our first trip to Marrakesh, and the hotel Jardins de la Medina is a good reason to come back. It may not be the absolutely 'authentic' environment some people may be looking for, but it is indeed a high quality hotel with excellent service, and the ambience is genuine enough for a first-time visitor. People that are rating this hotel lower than excellent are of course entitled to do so, but it may be that it is a rating against expectations rather than a objective assessment of the hotels qualities (I experience this quite frequently when reading reviews in Tripadvisor by the way).

Good sized heated pool (the heating certainly not needed in summer, but very much so in February), good breakfast and dinner. A nice touch was the Manager's apero, which was provided free of charge as a social event one evening (appeared to be a regular thing).

Room Tip: Room 135 is a very comfortable "Privilege "Sultana" bedroom" well worth the slig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skaanetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2012

What a wonderful getaway.. After just a short flight from the UK. We arrive to sunshine and a friendly driver awaits to take us to the hotel. First impressions don't disappoint. Staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly. We are whisked away by Youssef to enjoy mint tea to a court yard situated by a fountain surrounded by orange trees. After explaining where everything is in the hotel he then goes on to tell us what are the best places to see in Marrakech.
A back scrub and hammam follows in the Spa - bliss after our travelling ! The Spa is completely amazing high ceilings and fabulous features that wouldn't be out of place in a high end spot in Central London.

The hotel suite is also luxurious, with lots of extra little touches thrown in. I was very pleasantly surprised.

Overall this was a wonderful weekend away.. the staff went out of their way to make us welcome. Especially Youssef and Jamal. Thank you so much. We hope to see you again some day.
Charlotte and Suzanne.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlotteGarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed at the Les Jardins last June in 100 degree heat and we were so delighted that we had chosen this hotel! As soon as you walk through the wooden door you are welcomed by a cool and contemporary reception. You are taken through to the hotel's restaurant and out into the garden's which are a true paradise in the middle of a crazy, bustling city!
The plants and flora are beautiful and there are lots of birds chirping away. You can't hear any noises from outside the hotel, it truly is peaceful and relaxing. The pool is lovely and although not that big, perfect for dunking in and having a few short strokes. The sunbeads are of top quality and the hotel itself is stunning, beautiful architecture and lots of nooks and crannies to explore!
The restaurant serves lovely breakfast and our room was beautiful. Big with large french doors that we could open out onto our own little terrace overlooking the pool, heaven! The bed was so comfortable and the shower / bath was of top quality also.
I have absolutely nothing negative to say about this hotel whatsoever. It is now my ambition to try and return as soon as i can.
I am a parent but wouldn't really take my child here, only because there isn't much to do for them here, (or in this city really!) and its so peaceful as it is, i wouldn't want my child to annoy any of the other guests relaxing and soaking up the atmosphere!
Thank you to the Les Jardins for making our stay so very special!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayMcNamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Really lovely property, immaculately decorated, the rooms were toasty warm all the time and they would light a fire if you needed as it was chilly in Feb. The gardens are beautiful and the pool area very relaxed, birds tweet, its a great sun trap, orange trees and palms give you shade. Overall though the staff make it, Yossif on reception was just so helpful, friendly and kind, the bar and restaurant staff really go out of there way to make you feel at home, it has the feel of a welcoming country house hotel rather than a Marrakesh riad style hotel! We did visit the spa, the Hamman scrub is done in the hotel next door which has the most amazing basement hamman they pretty much switch on the steam for you. The surrounds are just stunning and well worth getting on arrival as we did. Its only 30 mins and really kicks off your holiday. We had other treatments in the Hotel Spa which are more like treatment rooms than a full spa experience but it has to be said the facial and massage we had were pretty top notch.

Overall I would definately stay in this property again and recommend it, the only possible negative I can think of is that it is about a 10 minute walk from the main square but its a nice walk and who can ever walk back after all that shopping!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoozeL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

When we arrived we were dropped off at a door way in a small street, looking slightly puzzled until we entered the hotel. Every thing about the hotel was understanded top class service. Although nothing was too much trouble the staff let you enjoy the peaceful surroundings of the hotel. Would recommend it to anybody, had a fabuolus time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jardinsmedina, Manager at Les Jardins de la Medina, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Thanks for your comment! We hope to welcome you soon at les Jardins de la Medina!
Best regards from sunny Marrakech!

Luc Fougere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.5 mi away
Riad Morgane
Riad Morgane
#329 of 499 in Marrakech
48 reviews
1.5 mi away
L’Hotel Marrakech
L’Hotel Marrakech
#260 of 499 in Marrakech
19 reviews
1.7 mi away
Riad El Mansour
Riad El Mansour
#110 of 499 in Marrakech
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#35 of 499 in Marrakech
823 reviews
1.6 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#8 of 499 in Marrakech
228 reviews
1.6 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#9 of 499 in Marrakech
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Jardins de la Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins de la Medina

Property: Les Jardins de la Medina
Address: Derb Chtouka, 21 | Kasbah de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#31 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#38 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#40 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Jardins de la Medina 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel and tasteful restaurant, Les jardins de la Medina benefits from the luxuriance of an exceptional 3000 m² garden in the heart Kasbah of Marrakesh, not far from souks and from historic monuments such as Djemaa Lefna ... In this historic house, the WiFi is free in the rooms as well as in the overall hotel; the breakfast and the smile of the staff are included too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Les Jardins de la Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins De La Medina Hotel Marrakech
Jardins De La Medina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing