We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded Colonial Glory”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Ranked #66 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Faded Colonial Glory”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed at the Les Jardin Kotoubia hotel from 14th to 21st August. We booked a standard room but was upgraded to a mini suite. The hotel facilities were excellent and the staff were extremely polite, pleasant and helpful.

The hotel itself it excellent had a really old worldly feel about it (hence the faded colonial glory) and you could imagine what it was like in days past.

There were 3 pools but the main one was my favourite. It had a wonderful relaxing feeling and staff ensured that if the beds weren't being used then they were cleared for others. The pool on the roof was an absolute sun trap (perfect for topping up your tan.)

Not only was the hotel beautiful but it was also extremely close to the Souks and the Medina.

Whilst there were a few minor issues (mainly around our room looking a little tired) I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DannyK183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    839
    407
    110
    44
    29
See reviews for
252
738
39
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Booked through travel agent to stay at the Les Jardin Kotoubia hotel(central Marrakech).
Arrived at the hotel 16th August @ 12.30am.
Fast Check in by Abdul (hotel Manager).
Room was beautiful, clean, contemporary, spacious.
We booked a standard room but was upgraded to a mini suite.
Buffet breakfast served with a poolside view, waiters wonderful, polite, and cannot fault the professionalism.
Roof terrace pool & further 3rd pool available if other pool is busy.
Public Relations Manager Rukaya frequently seen daily asking feedback & how to improve the hotel & services!
You never see this in any hotel even in the UK!! (Awesome).
The 7 days stay flew by, as a family loved our stay.
The staff were faultless, cleanliness guaranteed!

Clarins spa within the hotel, Pool table/table tennis, WiFi, Fully Air conditioned rooms, room Safe facilities as standard.
G4S Security Guards manning the entrance/exit doors to keep riff raff out!

Look forward to seeing you again a couple of months!

Saeed & family!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saeedtahir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelmsford
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is a fantastic restaurant with really great service. Staff very friendly and the food truly the best in Marrakech in my experience. I would reccomend this as a must for any trip to Marrakech. Although I didnt stay at the hotel it looked very good with very large suites etc. The hotel exteria is misleading as with most properties as once you get in it looks very impressive

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merlin03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antwerp
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Just at El-Fna and still o so calm.Very relaxing.
We received a room upgrade for free: thank you!
2 Swimming Pools/3 Restaurants (different styles of food).
Friendly staff always there for you.
If we come back to Marrakech we go back to this autentic hotel for sure.

Room Tip: go for the junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cthybaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel and it was just as good as the first time. The hotel is very well placed for the Medina, only a few hundred yards to the souk. We went for the sun (lots of) and a relaxing time, the hotel did not disappoint. Some of the areas could do with abit of updating
i.e around the roof top pool the decking is getting abit tried and some of the fittings in the room could of been better. It was abit hit or miss with pool side service, one day good the next not too
clever ....different staff. Norman in the piona bar was very good and also as we went during Ramandam he explained the holy festival to us which made the experience very moving. We would not go again during Ramandam as it limited the times you could go the souk.

Overal, we will be going back in few years as we find the hotel and city a very interesting place to visit. Yes you can get abit of hassle but it's nothing to worry about if you go as a couple or more.

Room Tip: We have always booked a suite and have found the rooms to be quite large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CliveCFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, but certainly not a 5 star as advertised. It has a lovely feel to it as its very "colonial" and one really feels as you are staying in a traditional Morroccan hotel. They say there are 3 pools but you can only use two properly. The other is a plunge pool by one of the restaurants and you cant sit around it. The hotel is literally a 5 min walk to the main sq and souks, you couldnt really be any closer. The food is good and its worth asking to be upgraded as we got a free upgrade to a junior suite. The air conditioning was very good and the breakfast was superb.

There is a however, and apart from a few individuals the staff were appalling. We were not made to feel welcome, either by the reception staff of the waiting staff. If any of the management read this review they really need to upskill their staff in customer service, especially as they advertise this as a 5 star hotel. Our check out left a sour taste in our mouths as well. We had paid our bill and then came rushing out to tell us that they hadnt charged us for our mini bar after I had paid our bill. They were neither apologetic nor friendly about this which really annoyed me. We asked for an air conditioned cab which didnt arrive until 25 mins mins after the time that we wanted and left us running late for our plane, again they were neither apologetic or didnt really seemed that bothered.

In short, a really nice feeling hotel, very authentic, close to everything but appalling customer service. Would I go back....yes!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashandtashy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We did not stay in this hotel but we stopped by almost daily. It is the perfect location on your way to or from the main square of Marrakesh/the souks or other sights. We loved the entry into this oasis of calm when just a hundred or so meters away there were thousands of people out and about. We would stop for pre or post-dinner drinks or a lunch or just to calm down before returning to our riad a bit further away. Always enjoyed the somewhat colonial atmosphere if that that description is allowed, beautiful setting with the pool and lights, good service, nice snacks served with drinks and cool decor. We felt the prices were fine, also for rooms, for what the hotel seemed to offer were fine even for Morocco for such a central location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riikkaahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Ryads Barriere Le Naoura Marrakech
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#7 of 499 in Marrakech
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#75 of 499 in Marrakech
371 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Jardins de La Koutoubia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins de La Koutoubia

Property: Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Address: 26 Rue de la Koutoubia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#35 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#48 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#84 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#112 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Jardins de La Koutoubia 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Les Jardins de La Koutoubia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins De La Koutoubia Hotel Marrakech
Jardins Koutoubia Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing