We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely central, classy and friendly.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Jardins de La Koutoubia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Ranked #73 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Extremely central, classy and friendly.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Exceeded my expectations. I booked last minute and in the rush it seems we double booked but once we got to the hotel the receptionist was happy to clear one of the rooms for no charge and no fuss. I hadn't told them I needed a car but once I arrived I called them for the address and the woman tried to see if they had one available, alas they didn't but not a problem.

The location is insane. Jmaa El Fna and the Koutoubia Mosque are 3 steps away and the surrounding area has cash machines, restaurants and the traditional souks to enjoy yourself in. You are right in the action.
When you enter the hotel however, it is different. Well-secure, high class and an elegant place with a fantastic piano bar and two great pools. The staff at both bars were so friendly and the indian restaurant was great.

To end with, the value for money is good. We stayed for three nights, made phone calls abroad, used a laundry service which was fast and constantly used the concierge to make us bookings and what we paid was well, well worth it.

Only negative points, they are strict on visitors and the wifi in the rooms isn't great. Didn't try the breakfast so can't comment.

Room Tip: Room 156, not sure what it's called but was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    686
    353
    103
    41
    29
See reviews for
199
640
27
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

When we drew up to the hotel we thought "OMG" but once in - super! Great rooms, good food and .right in the middle of Marrakechech 2 minutes from the square.
Staff helpful, central courtyard with pool calm and verdant, just as advertised.

Room Tip: Views of the mosque good and the morning call to prayer wakes you up anywhere in the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed the experience. It's not in the class of an internationally recognised 5 star hotel, but for Morocco it is a class above mostly everything else. Lovely to see rose petals and roses used in our room. Staff were very friendly and attentive.

We had a room in the new/recently renovated Relais de Paris section. You had to actually go outside to get to to this, normally not an issue in Morocco, but for our stay it was cold and wet! Also the room had a strong smell of paint/paintstripper one day - I think they're doing work across the hotel as we heard occasional banging too, but the smell went away and the work wasn't obtrusive. I couldn't connect my iPhone or iPad to the wifi in the room, but could connect in the reception area.

We ate in all 3 hotel restaurants (rather than chancing our luck finding something outside or around the square) and we were very happy with them all. Yes, they're more expensive than outside, but we found the quality to be very good. The outside heated pool on the roof was nice, if a little shallow to have a proper swim, but the views were impressive. Would've loved to use the comfy looking loungers, but on our short winter stay, it was simply too cold!!

Room Tip: Ask for the passcode for the wifi when you checkin, it's not like some where you enter your name...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WellTravelledBison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I would agree with previous reviewers that this is not really a 5 star hotel, more like a 4 star. It just doesn't have quite the luxury and attention to detail that I would expect for 5 star, although some rooms are better than others. We had two rooms for our party of five which were next door to each other. However the room my parents were in had a terrible smell (a recurring theme on reviews) and they had to complain. They sent up the maintenance men and the smell got better but then recurred. In the end they moved my parents to what was a much nicer room but over in the annexe by the Relais de Paris restaurant. Lovely room but to get to it you had to go out of the hotel and down a short alley so they were miles away from the rest of us. We gathered from speaking to the public relations lady at the hotel that problems with smell are not uncommon. So if you have a problem I would suggest you just raise the issue with reception straight away and ask to be moved.
So saying, this is still a lovely hotel and it's like a tranquil oasis when you come in from the city. It's so convenient for the square and for that reason if no other I would definitely consider it again. Breakfast was lovely, loads of choice, and we always found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We were there with two children and it was great to have so much space inside the hotel complex where they could safely roam, and also things like the heated pool and snooker table.
Ate at the Moroccan restaurant at the hotel on the first night but this was expensive and the food was much less good than that which we had at the Marrakchi restaurant off the main square on a later night. Also the Imlil snack bar is really expensive for what you get.
All in all, a lovely hotel but don't quite expect 5 star. Well worth considering though just for the amazing location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenny12368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

A beautiful hotel in an excellent location. Staff were friendly & helpful and very calm which was welcoming when coming in from the frenzy of Marrakech. Our room was large and beautiful, a bed was ready for our daughter as requested.
We ate in all 3 restaurants and the food was very good. The pool on the roof terrace is heated and we swam here. - the indoor pool is only free if you are using the spa.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Having been here before 2 years ago I was very pleased to find it again and just as we remembered it.
A group of 8 of us ended our busy day and hussle round the night market and souks here for a lovely cocktail or 3. The Piano Bar was our destination and was pleased to see the sane chap playing along to his backing tracks and singing a range of songs. He really enjoyed us dinging along with him and applauding him at the end. Some bum notes and words missed but it added to the fun. The waiters give excellent service and make very nice cocktails and table snacks always served. These are hotel prices though so be careful how many you have. It's a lovely looking hotel and seems to be a well kept secret as not very busy bearing in mind most restaurants in the area do not serve alcohol ad in sight if the mosque. It's just off the main square so hardly any walk at all. There are cabs available outside which is handy. It was great to visit again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Wendysav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Having spent the day wandering around the dusty and noisy ( yet brilliant) medina and markets then this hotel bar has just what you need. The piano bar is a dark oasis offering " cheesy" piano music alongside a menu of cocktails and beers. The staff were very friendly and the atmosphere relaxed and refreshing. Sit back, relax and accept it for what it is

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank petmadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Les Jardins de la Medina
Les Jardins de la Medina
#45 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Ryads Barriere Le Naoura Marrakech
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#24 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 530 reviews
0.8 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Jardins de La Koutoubia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins de La Koutoubia

Property: Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Address: 26 Rue de la Koutoubia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#44 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#86 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#112 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Jardins de La Koutoubia 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Les Jardins de La Koutoubia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins De La Koutoubia Hotel Marrakech
Jardins Koutoubia Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing