We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfair reputation on here. Very good hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Agdal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Agdal Hotel
Ranked #424 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unfair reputation on here. Very good hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Agdal with my boyfriend between 4-9th March. I was unsure whether to do so because of the vast amounts of negative reviews on here. However, I got a cheap package deal so I thought I'd give it a try.

The hotel was ABSOLUTELY FINE! I had NO PROBLEMS whatsoever. People on here simply complain too much or have had bad experiences for a reason that I simply can't fathom.

Taxi to the hotel cost 150dh which was a rip off because we could have got the bus but we were tired so we just went with it. When we got to the hotel we had to fill out some forms and were taken to our rooms. The porter carried our suitcase for us. Our room was clean, had aircon/heating, a TV, a nice balcony and was facing the pool. Everything that we'd asked for. As many people have said: IT HELPS IF YOU SPEAK SOME FRENCH - at least try! The room itself was pretty simple but not ugly and had all the basic things you'd need. The maids offered to change our sheets everyday but usually we were still in bed when they came round and saw it as a bit of an inconvenience so we had it done every other day instead. The also brought toilet paper, emptied the bins and changed the towels (though we didn't use their towels as we'd brought our own). They cleaned the bathroom every other day.

Breakfast was yummy. The best things are the pancakes and syrup, the omelettes, the crossiants and the Moroccan mint tea. Me and my boyfriend ate to our hearts' content every morning and rarely ate lunch because it carried us to dinner time!

We didn't go in the pool as my boyfriend had forgotten his trunks and I didn't want to go in alone. But from our balcony view we saw a man cleaning it every other day and it was sparkling blue. There was a building site next door which isn't great for when you're sitting in your bikini sunbathing and the workers are oggling but that's not Hotel Agdal's fault!

We didn't eat in the hotel as we wanted to explain local restaurants. We found some great ones: Chez Chegrouni (Medina), Hotel Amalay (Gueliz), Cafe Gemma (Gueliz). The ACIMA supermarket nearby is also really useful for getting 1L water for 5dh.

The hotel is a little far from the Place Djemma El Fna but I preferred being the Gueliz late at night as things stay open longer there and there's only so much you can do at the Place. The hotel is about a 25min walk from the Place. We walked once and got the bus (No. 1) back and forth after that. The bus stops near the ACIMA supermarkets going to the Place and right outside the Place's entrance when going back to the hotel. It only costs 3dh50 as well! (Be careful of pickpockets when your getting on the bus at the Place and its crowded!)

What else can I say, I would stay there again for definite. I think maybe some of the negative reviewers may have paid a lot to stay there so expected more. Next time shop around and get a better price. With my package I only paid £10 a night for a double room ;)

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool ("une chambre a cote de la piscine")
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    41
    71
    36
    24
See reviews for
28
51
35
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

Cheap 3 star hotel for a cheap budget, I went march 2012, used to get cold in the evenings, but no heating was provided, swimming pool had no water in it! Limescale in the bathroom/shower, cold draft coming from all the doors on balcony!they did not change the bedding until I basically punched the concierge! In saying this though this is the usual standard in a 2-3 star hotel! Last but not least the location is not ideal as it's a 45 min walk to the main square (jemaa al fna) or approx 40-50 dhirams for a taxi ride. Enjoy lol

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 50ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

Stayed in Hotel Agdal back in December and have only got around to reviewing the hotel now.  The overriding impression of the hotel was good. The staff in the hotel were generally friendly and happy to assist with any issues that arose, although there was an issue with the air conditioning that I with touch on later.  One of the front desk staff was particularly helpful in arranging a last minute winter trek up to Mount Toubkal in the Atlas mountains which was the highlight of the Morocco trip.  There a lots of other less extreme excursions available that they can provide information on and book for you and the prices are pretty reasonable.

The location of the hotel is fairly convenient being just off one of the main streets in Marrakech and a mile or so from the central median area. Access to the hotel from the airport is good - just catch the L19 bus right outside the airport and you will be dropped off literally outside the hotel as long as you let the driver know your intended destination.  This only costs approx £3, far better than the £30+ taxis were asking!

The rooms and bathrooms in the Hotel Agdal were clean, the beds comfortable and there wasn't too much noise from the streets outside.  That said, earplugs are certainly worth packing If you are a light sleeper as Moroccans do like to frequently use the horns in their cars!  Didn't hear any noise from any ofter residents so that was a plus.  Wifi is available, although you will only be able to pick up a signal in the reception area.

The buffet breakfast was sufficient consisting of fresh juice, croissants, bread, fruit, coffee and freshly make pancakes.  No meals were served in the hotel so it was a case of eating elsewhere which didn't prove to be an issue as there are lots of places to dine near the hotel.  

On a general note, be aware that in Morocco as with many Arab states, tipping is expected so think before accepting help, especially on the streets and always carry some loose Dirham for this purpose. Also beware of 'friendly' locals who before you know it will gladly whisk you off to a local carpet seller (in my case on the back of a scooter!). These guys are good and know all the tricks in the book.  Don't be afraid to say No even if they appear to be the friendliest people.  Trust your instincts and stick with them!

Note regarding the air conditioning in this hotel. If you need it, or are expecting it, demand it especially if this is included in the description of the hotel room.  The first two rooms I was placed in had vents in the wall that had no cooling effect whatsoever.  It was only when demanding a room with air conditioning, and following a lot of gesticulating, that I was finally moved to a room with a wall mounted aircon unit.  In fact there appear to be a lot of rooms with proper aircon so don't be afraid to ask what you have paid for!

If you are expecting a swimming pool there, check before you leave as in December it was empty and in a state of disrepair.  I guess its likely that this with have been resolved but if you expect it, or want it, ask before you book.

Would I stay there again?  Possibly. The prices were good at only £15 a night and it had pretty much everything I needed but I wouldn't hesitate to consider another hotel the next I visited.

One final and very useful tip - take a cheap compass with you to Marrakech as its all to easy to become disoriented in the city, even with a map!!

Room Tip: Insist on a room with a proper wall mounted air conditioning unit and not just a meaningless and ino...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie_Richards_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

I never ever would go back to this hotel they all are a joke disgusting the way they treat you especially the troll cleaner she was the worst accused of stealing a towel we nearly missed our flights because they were searching our bags they didnt find anything waste of time and dignity. A TOWEL thats just unbelievable this ruined the whole expeirence. For your own self respect dont even consider this place.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Girls A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

North Wales, UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

I stayed in this hotel a few years ago and came back as it is convenient with most things walking distance. The majority of the staff are friendly, rooms cleaned daily, breakfast adequate and all in all good value for money. Also get free wi-fi in reception area and dining rooms. Our room faced the road but we were not disturbed by noise. TV in room and ac/heating.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeinab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

Light bulb 'blew' on first of five nights. Had to pay tip to have it replaced. Remote control mysteriously went missing. Was returned upon payment of a tip. Insufficient towels each day for 5 days. Each request for towels was satisfied upon payment of a tip. Electricity went off in our room only. Turned back on in 3 minutes upon payment of a tip. Last day of stay and no water in just OUR room. You guessed it!! Water supply 'repaired'/ switched back on in 2 minutes flat upon payment of a TIP!! I am still angry at having to pay for things that I should not have had to pay a penny extra for!!!!

Room Tip: Stay away unless you are willing to pay endless tips for basic things such as running water and elec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aighouse2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

Hello!
Well we came back from our honeymoon on Sunday and we stayed at the Hotel Agdal for a week (7-14 Aug). We booked through an online travel agents which included hotel and flights but no transfers, so we paid over the odds for a taxi to the hotel (200dh). Its about a 10min drive from the airport, but don't attempt to walk it.. noooo way. Just suck up the taxi fee rip-off.
The hotel itself is fine, the rooms are good - aircon thankgod - but very basic, ie no fridge or kitchen facilities (things like plates/cutlery/cups etc, none of this). The balcony is good and we overlooked the pool. I imagine the other half of the hotel would have some noise as are facing the road and a big 'roundabout' sort of junction.
We paid 100dh for 2 beers (called Flag, they are coke can size) and 2 soups as we had just arrived and were too late for a bigger dinner. That works out to about a tenner, so pretty pricey. The bar that looks amazing in the pictures wasn't open at all while we were there, so your best alcohol option is to get some from the amazing supermarket Acima across the road and down on the left but take your passport as you need to sign into the alcohol section.
Also I would recommend from speaking to other people who stayed at Agdal, don't book all inclusive. It does include your food, which is of a limited selection, but not your drinks not even soft drinks with your meal. We went B&B and ate out as there are a lot of places to eat for a lot cheaper than the hotel, and not too far away. Highly recommend Restaurant Amalou - red fronted building on the same street as supermarket.. literally over the road, just down that street on the right hand side. A tagine for between 30-40dh, and we ate there 4 nights out of 7, so sampled a lot of their food. The pizzas there were bigger than elsewhere too.. and recommend trying kefta (like flat minced meat burgers) for a snack.
Back to the hotel.. the pool was good, a good size.. though beware for the tourists who sit literally at the pool all day and nab the loungers in the shade even if theyre not there using them. I have a very red right leg from squishing into the shade I could find next to the wall (desperate times). Also recommend the trees at bottom end by the pool - shady for a lot longer if you get your lounger there.
Check out is 12 noon on your last day but they will look after your luggage for you if you have a flight to wait for, and you can sit in the lounge or stay by the pool for the day and they dont mind.
Breakfast for us was a selection of pastries, tomato, cucumber, and if youre lucky some pancakes/omelette depending on the speedyness of service if the cook is at the hotplate or not.
The reception staff were friendly enough - though keep some change for tips, anything you want to know they will hope for a tip. We were expecting a travel rep, who never arrived so relied on the old guy behind reception who offered us tours (apparently the waterfall/monkey tour was good.. we had booked our own before we left) and gave us a map of marrakesh and pointed out the touristy places to go. Also theres a free safe secure box option for passports/extra money etc.
There is a awesome tour bus that goes at the end of the street - go for the 2 day ticket as there is a lot to fit in in a day, and for an extra 40dh for the second day, its much cheaper than a taxi to get to the square etc so just jump on the bus :)
Also recommend Jardins Majorelle - shaded cactus/palm tree gardens about 15 minutes walk from the hotel (come out and go down left hand road and keep walking).
Also you might want to buy some spoons from the Acima and some cheese spread, ham and bread (and lots of water/pop, we got through 5ltrs a day between us) to keep in a cool corner of your room for snacks - theres only restaurants, and even a 'snack' restaurant the food is huge!
Not sure how long it's going on for, but when we went, there was a building site right next door to the hotel. The daytime noise didnt matter so much, but the killer was the 7am wake up every day except Sunday, and we were on our honeymoon :( booo :( Our balcony overlooked it as well which was a bummer.
Overall though, good hotel and nicely located. Friendly staff, good with English, nice pool area. Use it as a base and find activities (Highly Highly recommend Adil at Camel Tours - search on here) and food elsewhere :) x

Room Tip: Half of the rooms have poolside view, the other half have roadside view which would be noisier. Pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank leckershell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Tachfine Hotel
Tachfine Hotel
#445 of 508 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mont Gueliz
Hotel Mont Gueliz
#442 of 508 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
#465 of 508 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Residence Ezzahia
Residence Ezzahia
#427 of 508 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oudaya
Hotel Oudaya
#406 of 508 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
22.5 mi away
Le Coq  Hardi
Le Coq Hardi
#469 of 508 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agdal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agdal Hotel

Property: Agdal Hotel
Address: 1 Boulevard Zerktouni, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #424 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Agdal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Agdal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agdal Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing