We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent riad to stay in Marakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Mchicha

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Dar Mchicha
Ranked #288 of 1,171 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent riad to stay in Marakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This riad was relatively easy to find, which is important if you have never been to Marakech before! We had the room on the roof which was spacious and quiet, and we were served breakfast in the Berber tent with the sun streaming in, and birds singing, delightful! The food was excellent and plentiful (we couldn't finish it, which is saying something!) Aziz the owner is really helpful, speaks excellent English, and will even come out and rescue you if you can't find your way home. Altogether a great place to stay.

Room Tip: The stairs are steep but its nice to be on the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

A wonderful Riad in the medina, a short (15 minute) walk to the Jamaa El Fna square. Although it is down a lane, it is relatively easy to navigate to and from (which is important!).

Great value - our room was spacious, with a private bathroom and terrace. A very peaceful place to escape the madness of the souks. Good breakfast.

Aziz, the owner, is very helpful and friendly - a wonderful host.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKerr82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This Riad is an old house converted into a hostel-style hotel, with a great owner, Aziz, whom we found extremely helpful, courteous and willing to go the extra mile to accomodate us. He arranged a Hamman for us, a rental car for a day, and anything we needed he found in the market, including ginger tea for my cough!
Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet, however being right off the open courtyard, we were daily awakened very early by the call to prayer at a nearby mosque. Breakfast was included, and Aziz accomodated a gluten free diet. The room was straightened up every day by the time we got back from our wanderings. We were allowed to do laundry, which was line-dried, and which we found folded in our room on our return. Aziz also allowed us to use his computer when ours broke. Wifi was reliable.
The Riad is deep inside the old city souk, so we would walk through part of the souk every day to do our exploring. We stayed for 7 nights. I would recommed this Riad for anyone on a budget and looking for a real Marrakech experience.

Room Tip: Our room direclty off the courtyard required us to cross the courtyard, (which was also the breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lscanada45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Great Riad in the Medina, 15-minutes walking distance from Jamaa El Fna square. Aziz, the owner, is an awesome guy, very kind and helpful. He is also a great cook and he served us one of the best tajine we had in Marrakech. We stayed in the rooftop room, which has in-room bathroom and is very quiet. Absolutely a good choice for staying in Marrakech.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcferrari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Dar Asdika
Dar Asdika
#106 of 1,171 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
0.7 mi away
DadaMouss
DadaMouss
#278 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Spa du Chameau
Riad Spa du Chameau
#905 of 1,171 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Othmane
Riad Dar Othmane
#342 of 1,171 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
0.4 mi away
riad bianca
riad bianca
#355 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Samarine
Riad Samarine
#170 of 1,171 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Mchicha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Mchicha

Property: Riad Dar Mchicha
Address: 13 Derb El Ferrane, Riad Laarousse, Marrakech 40200, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 1,171 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Mchicha 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Budget Places, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Dar Mchicha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing