We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful Riad” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Malika

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Malika
Ranked #99 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Altea la Vieja, Comunidad Valenciana, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Riad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I booked a junior suite at Riad Malika in Marrakech to celebrate our ruby wedding anniversary. It is a wonderful riad with a beautiful inner courtyard where breakfast. lunch and dinner is served and is also the perfect spot to relax with a delicous iced mint tea after a day spent seeing all the wonderful sights Marrakech has to offer. Our suite was fabulous. The staff are very attentive and helpful. There are also roof terraces where you can relax and unwind. Breakfasts are plentiful and varied with a staple of pancakes. We ate in the restaurant twice and had lunch once and the food was excellent. All in all Riad Malika is great value. I highly recommend the Malika and hope we will be able to return again some time soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    43
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
61
220
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

A friend and I did a tour of Morocco last week and decided to spend an extra night at the end in this delightful riad for some R&R. I booked it based on the reviews and pictures on here. As soon as we had booked, the riad got in touch to confirm our dinner arrangements and offered us a map and telephone number in case we got lost trying to find them.

The riad is, like most Marrakech riads, difficult to find in the maze of the souk. We had done a guided tour of Marrakech the day before our visit and the guide helped us to find the riad, which did sort of help us find it the next day. If you aren't using their airport transfer, my advice would be to get a taxi to Restaurant Dar Marjana, turn left when facing the restaurant door, walk along the street until you reach a shop on your right that sells quad biking and camel treks, there is a small street opposite. The riad is up that street on the second right. The more difficult bit is getting from Dar Marjana to the Djema el Fna. One day we got lost in the souk, and the second day we got lost in the medina trying to find our way back, although this isn't the riad's fault at all and they did actually supply a map with routes to the riad from Djema el Fna on arrival which we clearly couldn't read :)

The riad itself is absolutely beautiful, with tasteful decor, a charming courtyard, a lovely terrace and a pool with a jet swim. We stayed in a junior suite which was very large and luxurious. Toiletries were nice, hot water was plentiful (we stayed in hotels that had none), and we had bathrobes in our room. The staff we met were very friendly and accommodating. We had breakfast and dinner in the courtyard and both the service and the food were sublime. Good choice of wines, spirits and teas too.

I absolutely recommend Riad Malika and will hopefully return again later this year because I loved both it and Morocco so much!

Room Tip: Pick a suite, it's worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Plum378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiloo
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We were very happy to be staying at this lovely Riad, just around the corner of the souks. The calm atmosphere was very delightful after a day in the hectic city. And then the staf... We were touched by the loving and kind treatment at every moment of contact with each of them! They really made us feel at home. The food was great; from the six nights we stayed, we had four nights diner at te Riad. Just because of the good quality and of course the nice and calm ambiance. I would strongly recommend Malika to everyone who wants to have a peacefull stay in Marrakech! And next time when I'll be visiting this lovely city.... I know where I am staying!

Room Tip: We stayed in the junior suite, Which was very beautifull and had two floors and access to the roof t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
211 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Unlike so many starchy, pretentious, stiff alternatives, Malika is perfectly in keeping with it's surroundings in a residential street just off the souks. Faded it is, but deliberately, a little shabby but very chic indeed. We loved it. Get a suite, it is fabulous value.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toqiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
158 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

2 couples stayed here 3 nights. We booked the 2 suites as they were not much more than standard rooms. It was 120 euros/couple/night for B&B. We ate in one evening for about 20 euros. A very nice 3 course meal. Beers were about 3 euros. We did a hammam at 30 euros/pair which was a steam and a scrub with a masseur. Lasted about 45 minutes. The riad itself is in the souk area and has about 8 rooms facing onto a central courtyard or a deep swimming pool. The courtyard has many palms and bouganvillas giving shade - although most shade is from the surrounding walls - 3 storey. The owner only speaks French - if you try a small bit then all is fine. The staff - especially Abib - speak English. A roof terrace can be accessed by all, with private access from the suites.
We really liked the riad. It has all the hallmarks of slightly faded grandeur - some plaster in the courtyard peeling, top small windows in rooms a little dirty - but all very acceptable. Our rooms were huge with big bed, table and chairs, small balcony looking over courtyard, separate louge with satellite TV, ensuite (no shower in one of the suites - bath). No phone in rooms. Plenty of hot water with a good pressure. Lovely sheets and towels.
NB take ear plugs to block the call to prayer in the mosques in the early hours!

Room Tip: Go for a suite as not much more costly than standard. The one with access from ground floor from cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy3178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

From the moment we stepped in through the huge front door, we felt relaxed. The owners and staff at the riad made us feel welcome and totally pampered. We stayed in the Royal suite, and it was enormous- we loved the huge remote controlled sky light! We drank wonderful mint tea, the breakfasts of pancakes (of several different varieties ), freshly squeezed orange juice, yoghurt, fresh fruit and coffee were delicious, and the 3 course meals we ate on 2 of the 4nights we stayed were gorgeous. Marrakech is a hectic city, but this felt like an oasis of calm in the middle of it all. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I have stayed now at this beautiful Riad in Marrakech three times, including booking the entire Riad for a weekend this spring for 22 guests. It never ceases to fill me with happiness and a longing desire to return whenever I can. It really is the best Riad in Marrakech; beautiful, characterful, charming, not to mention with fantastic service and thoughtful attention to detail. Close to the Medina, but in a quieter part of the city, this Riad is in a league of its own.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BenjamincLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#25 of 502 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#64 of 502 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Reves D'orient
Riad Reves D'orient
#95 of 502 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Fleur d'Orient
Riad Fleur d'Orient
#127 of 502 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Melhoun
Riad Melhoun
#93 of 502 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Rihani
Le Rihani
#88 of 502 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Malika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Malika

Property: Riad Malika
Address: 29 Arset Aouzal | Quartier Dar el Bacha, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#55 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the first charmed hotel in Marrakech, located in a historic place of the Medina, a few steps from the famous Dar el Bacha, Riad Malika offers, in a subtle blend of "Art Deco" and traditional moroccan art, 10 luxurious rooms, patios, its swimming pool, hammam and its beautiful gardens shaded. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Riad Malika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Malika Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing