We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spot On!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Gallia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Gallia
Ranked #282 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol_UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Spot On!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We wanted to photograph the craftspeople in the Medina and the life of Djema el Fna. Le Gallia is just off the square so everything was a short walk away - important when carrying heavy camera kit.

Mr Said was very helpful, emailing to explain how to get there on the bus from the airport. It was a short trundle from the bus stop, didn't need a taxi. We requested a multi-way Euro extension lead for all our gadgets and it was in the already in the room when we arrived.

The hotel has a lovely traditional feel with rooms set round a central courtyard which has a large palm tree and other plants, very relaxing after the bustle of the streets outside.

Breakfast is fresh croissants, bread, pancakes, served in the courtyard, a good start to the day. There's a wide choice of restaurants and cafes within a very short walk.

We felt Le Gallia was excellent value as it is a perfect location, clean and comfortable and in traditional Marrakesh style.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JennyFBristol_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    56
    15
    8
    2
See reviews for
17
47
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

We had booked three rooms and stayed 3 nights over the weekend. The rooms are spacious, have everything you need, nice paintings and stylish lamps. They are being cleaned on a daily basis, which is not always the case in Marrakech. The breakfast is simple but everything you need and good as well. It is served whereever you want it.(room, terrace etc.) The owner is very helpful and friendly! Perfect price/performance ratio!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Meper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

I was very happy with the Hotel Gallia and would stay there again. The location is super - just around the corner from the main square and directly accessible to taxis. The room was inexpensive, but adequate and clean. It was great to have a room with air conditioning after a hot day walking around. The central courtyard with palm tree and vegetation where breakfast was served was nice. I found the hotel personnel helpful and friendly. I made the reservation via email and received answers back promptly. Don't understand the ratings complaining about slow and unfriendly service. Perhaps I had an advantage because I could speak French. Unfortunately payment was only in cash as the credit card machine was out of order all the time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for the last night of our trip, in a very comfortable room. It has a roof terrace with pretty views across the city, and it is only a 5 min walk from the Djemma-El-Fna. The staff were very welcoming, and I'd certainly stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lauraAl a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Arriving in Marrakesh we went with a woman we met on the train to a new riad that had just opened. A lovely place with a really friendly atmosphere, but the rooms were just too tiny.
We booked a trip to the desert and before leaving looked around for another place to stay, choosing Le Gallia on the recommendation of a fellow traveler. It was considerably more expensive (we are definitely budget travellers), but we looked at and booked a nice, big room on the ground floor.
Came back from the desert and found that we were in a small, dark room upstairs. Our protests were met with indifference that swiftly changed to downright rudeness. "Find another hotel." was his advice. So, after one night, we did finding a cheaper riad with friendly helpful staff.
The room wasn't bad, though it was nothing special. We would have been content there, but for the attitude of the owner. I got the impression that he was getting by on a reputation that he doesn't deserve.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank colliefleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I booked this hotel on recommendation and I don't think I have ever felt more welcome. The hotel is beautiful, clean and centrally located (5 mins walk to the square!)

Breakfast was also lovely and relaxed. I only wish I could have stayed longer to properly enjoy this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foodie84jw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Often use this place when visiting - have now stayed here 4 or 5 times. The rooms are good, the courtyard lovely, the roof terrace excellent. It has bags of character and helpful staff. Breakfast is plentiful and good quality, the cleaning ladies are very friendly and happy to do laundry for a few extra dirhams. The wi-fi though, was very patchy and unreliable and staff not especially interested in fixing it. However, i have to advise against the hotel 'helping' you with a car rental. We were given a car in terrible condition that had been poorly repaired from a crash. When delivered, it was parked so as to hide this, with the damaged side against a wall. Discovered the damage later, about 2 hours from Marrakech. Got really worried that they were pulling a fast one and trying to get us to pay for damage we didn't cause, but they didn't, after a little arguing. Even so, it soured the trip to the desert and caused unnecessary stress. Lesson: never be rushed when looking at a hire car and inspect ALL SIDES of the car AND WHEELS well before accepting it. Some of these cars have been badly abused and are best avoided. Wheels especially are damaged by driving on piste roads. They tried to make up for this by getting the car-hire company to give us a free trip to the airport but they turned up so late we nearly missed our plane - not helpful.
Nice hotel though, reasonably quiet considering how close to the shops and main square.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gingernut1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sherazade
Hotel Sherazade
#268 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sindi Sud
Hotel Sindi Sud
#310 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Tresor
Hotel du Tresor
#214 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#139 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Bahia
Riad Bahia
#237 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Narjisse
Hotel Narjisse
#304 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Gallia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Gallia

Property: Le Gallia
Address: 30 Rue de la Recette, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Le Gallia 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Le Gallia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Gallia Marrakech
Le Gallia Hotel Marrakech
Hotel Gallia Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing