We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A reliable central favourite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Gallia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Gallia
Ranked #255 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A reliable central favourite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Often use this place when visiting - have now stayed here 4 or 5 times. The rooms are good, the courtyard lovely, the roof terrace excellent. It has bags of character and helpful staff. Breakfast is plentiful and good quality, the cleaning ladies are very friendly and happy to do laundry for a few extra dirhams. The wi-fi though, was very patchy and unreliable and staff not especially interested in fixing it. However, i have to advise against the hotel 'helping' you with a car rental. We were given a car in terrible condition that had been poorly repaired from a crash. When delivered, it was parked so as to hide this, with the damaged side against a wall. Discovered the damage later, about 2 hours from Marrakech. Got really worried that they were pulling a fast one and trying to get us to pay for damage we didn't cause, but they didn't, after a little arguing. Even so, it soured the trip to the desert and caused unnecessary stress. Lesson: never be rushed when looking at a hire car and inspect ALL SIDES of the car AND WHEELS well before accepting it. Some of these cars have been badly abused and are best avoided. Wheels especially are damaged by driving on piste roads. They tried to make up for this by getting the car-hire company to give us a free trip to the airport but they turned up so late we nearly missed our plane - not helpful.
Nice hotel though, reasonably quiet considering how close to the shops and main square.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gingernut1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    51
    15
    7
    2
See reviews for
17
46
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
155 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Hotel Gallia is a quiet haven from the frantic activity that is Marrakech. The hotel is one of the oldest in Marrakech and has been operating since 1929; a restored mansion, it is situated down a small side street in the medina which runs off the main road; it is easy to find and very accessible by car. There are 19 rooms which open off two internal courtyards or the roof terrace. Rooms are comfortable and clean with ensuites, air-conditioning and heating.

Staff are friendly and helpful; I asked where I could find a good restaurant, serving Moroccan cuisine and wine (not the average everyday menu) and my host went out of his way to accompany me to Dar Najjarine a few streets away. Jemaa el Fna is only a short walk, as are other tourist attractions and numerous other restaurants. Wifi is available in the sitting area and courtyard on the ground floor.

Hotel Gallia is very reasonably priced for Marrakech, breakfast is included. I paid 320 dirhams. I will definitely stay here on return visits to Marrakech. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I stayed at Riad Gallia this September for 4 nights and loved it. The owners and the staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble, they even offered to take us to their own restaurant and teach us how to cook in 'true Moroccan' style. The riad itself is lovely, it's like a little paradise hidden in a crazy town. The rooftop terrace has sun chairs so great for sunbathing and views over the city. It is built around 2 courtyards decked with flowers and chirping small birds. Avoid the tortoises wadering aimlessly around, . The breakfasts were lovely although lacked variation consisting of butter jams, Danish Pastry, Croissant and French bread with good coffee. This was served in the courtyard although I am sure had we wished we could have had it on the roof terrace. There is also a common room off of the courtyard should the weather be inclement. This is the only spot where you could use the free wireless network. My room was spacious and well appointed, clean and comfortable with air conditioning that worked very well and it was free! The bathroom was the bathroom. Had a bath with a shower over but no bath curtain so the floor did tend to get wet. The location was ideal a 5 min walk to the Square and the souks in one direction and a 10 minute walk to the old palace, the tombs and the Jewish quarter in the other direction the souks are no more than a ten minute walk from the riad. It is situated down a small alley (perfectly safe) which is off of the main pedestrianised road which is full of life. The rooms are large in size and very clean. Overall we would highly recommend this riad to anyone going to Marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cerberusuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario, canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Lovely, clean and comfortable rooms with a beautiful view of the courtyard where roses and flowers abound. The terrace is well kept and offers a good view of the surroundings.
We stayed four nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It is conveniently located, if you want to spend some time in the Medina which definitely deserves more than a day or two of your time. It was a peaceful place to come back to after a day of exploring and experiencing the ancient alleys, the markets and Jemaa El Fna, which can be pretty intense. The breakfasts were generous and tasty.
If they recommend a day trip for you outside of Marrakech, ask if your tour guide speaks your language. This was the only negative I experienced at Gallia.
On a different note, we wanted the opportunity to talk to the natives of the community and tried to find places to eat where it wasn't just tourists. It made our experience even more rewarding.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moonbright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gradara, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

we spent only 1 overnight and we found the place pretty good. The double room was clean and quite, the location was excellent a few minutes on foot from Place El Fna. There are cheaper hotels, but for Marrakech the price is in the average. For the ones driving, there is a private garage next door. Good choice.
Riccardo and Sabine

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Riccardo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Friendly Marrakech welcome and great refuge from the madness of the square! Breakfast in the garden is lovely, the rooms are spacious (if the wiring is somewhat questionable!) and while the views from the terrace are a little restricted, it's a nice space.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dominicjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orientalisten
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

For 20 years we have been frequent guests at Gallia in the heart of Marrakech Medina. More need not be said.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rune K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Tresor
Hotel du Tresor
#210 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sherazade
Hotel Sherazade
#267 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#322 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ali
Hotel Ali
#435 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#60 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sindi Sud
Hotel Sindi Sud
#301 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Gallia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Gallia

Property: Le Gallia
Address: 30 Rue de la Recette, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Le Gallia 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Gallia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Gallia Marrakech
Le Gallia Hotel Marrakech
Hotel Gallia Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing