We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice breakfast!”
Review of Le Gallia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Gallia
Ranked #309 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed November 6, 2011

The courtyard layout makes the windows orient towards the corridor & hence can be noisy sometimes. Leafy courtyard is an excellent place to have the fabulous breakfast. Clean toilets. Air-conditioning helps during summer. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kumaresh_sekaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Le Gallia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 132 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2011

We have stayed in Le Gallia for two nights this august and enjoyed every minute of it. The roof top terrace is wonderful as are the whole building and the breakfast. The hotel is located really good right next to a big street with lots of restaurants and bars. Djema el fna is only a 5 minute walk away.

I can only recommend this place to everyone visiting Marrakech!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebastian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Very beautiful little hotel right in the middle of the medina. A short walk from both the Djemma el Fna and the Koutoubia mosque. Quiet despite the location, the inclusive breakfast of bread, croissants and coffee was fine and eaten in the decorative courtyard among birds and tortoises. Would recommend

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

this riad is excellent value given its cleanliness, location and great breakfast. the rooms, bathrooms, common areas are all very clean. it is a 5 min walk to the square located down a small alley off the main street leading to the square. so its a great location to be close enough but once you enter, its truly a quiet respite from all that is Marrakech, you'll be needing your quiet get away! breakfast is excellent, its the same Moroccan fare of breads, butter, jam, fresh OJ and coffee, but the friendly ladies make your breads(msmemen, crumpet style pancakes etc) FRESH every day. Relaxing common area with tv and sunny terrace. Reception staff very helpful and friendly. Easy going well established place that runs smoothly and efficiently.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bogart2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Great place to stay with wonderful moroccon style interior, very clean. Just one Internet PC but also free wifi at reception. A double room ensuite is about 220 to 250 DH depending on your bargaining skills and the area is a bit run down.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank cmx51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

Le Gallia is a reasonably priced, peaceful and fairly comfortable riad, 2 minutes walk from Djamaa el Fna Square. Spotlessly clean. Satisfactory breakfast. Rooms look out onto two pretty central courtyards. Rooms a bit dull and drab with little natural light especailly on the ground foor, but this help keeps them cool in the summer I'd imagine, and there is aircon. Breakfast was served in the pleasnt inner courtyards. Not much of a view from the rooftop terrrace, but a lovely place to sit out. The staff are not shy in asking for a tip for routine service.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimmyTheBairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

For approx $40 USD, I was very happy with this riad, where I stayed for 5 nights. It's very easy to find the riad from the main square, which is definitely not the case for many other riads. I was in town for a wedding and a lot of my friends were constantly getting lost and having to get taxis or pay kids to guide them back to their riad. The rooms were cleaned daily - mostly very thoroughly although sometimes it was a bit spotty. The breakfast is excellent, and the courtyard and roof deck are beautiful.

The main problem I had with the riad is that I came back very late one night after the wedding and the night staff was extremely angry and rude at having been woken up. A few nights later I asked for a wake-up call to be sure I would make my flight out, and he was again very discourteous about it. They don't have an official curfew, but acted quite put out at needing to provide these standard services.

Also, don't ask the riad staff to get you any taxis. You can get a much better price if you walk a block to the taxi stand and negotiate yourself.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shield75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel du Tresor
Hotel du Tresor
#207 of 502 in Marrakech
257 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Sherazade
Hotel Sherazade
#274 of 502 in Marrakech
200 reviews
2.3 mi away
Riad Villa Harmonie
Riad Villa Harmonie
#269 of 502 in Marrakech
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Les Trois Palmiers
Les Trois Palmiers
#313 of 502 in Marrakech
306 reviews
2.6 mi away
Riad Bahia
Riad Bahia
#246 of 502 in Marrakech
150 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dar Al Hamra
Dar Al Hamra
#292 of 502 in Marrakech
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Gallia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Gallia

Address: 30 Rue de la Recette, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $50 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Le Gallia 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Gallia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Gallia Marrakech
Le Gallia Hotel Marrakech
Hotel Gallia Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing