We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Le Gallia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Gallia
Ranked #307 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Deggendorf, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We have stayed in Le Gallia for two nights this august and enjoyed every minute of it. The roof top terrace is wonderful as are the whole building and the breakfast. The hotel is located really good right next to a big street with lots of restaurants and bars. Djema el fna is only a 5 minute walk away.

I can only recommend this place to everyone visiting Marrakech!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    56
    15
    9
    2
See reviews for
17
47
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Very beautiful little hotel right in the middle of the medina. A short walk from both the Djemma el Fna and the Koutoubia mosque. Quiet despite the location, the inclusive breakfast of bread, croissants and coffee was fine and eaten in the decorative courtyard among birds and tortoises. Would recommend

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2011

this riad is excellent value given its cleanliness, location and great breakfast. the rooms, bathrooms, common areas are all very clean. it is a 5 min walk to the square located down a small alley off the main street leading to the square. so its a great location to be close enough but once you enter, its truly a quiet respite from all that is Marrakech, you'll be needing your quiet get away! breakfast is excellent, its the same Moroccan fare of breads, butter, jam, fresh OJ and coffee, but the friendly ladies make your breads(msmemen, crumpet style pancakes etc) FRESH every day. Relaxing common area with tv and sunny terrace. Reception staff very helpful and friendly. Easy going well established place that runs smoothly and efficiently.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bogart2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravensburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Great place to stay with wonderful moroccon style interior, very clean. Just one Internet PC but also free wifi at reception. A double room ensuite is about 220 to 250 DH depending on your bargaining skills and the area is a bit run down.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cmx51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, UK
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

Le Gallia is a reasonably priced, peaceful and fairly comfortable riad, 2 minutes walk from Djamaa el Fna Square. Spotlessly clean. Satisfactory breakfast. Rooms look out onto two pretty central courtyards. Rooms a bit dull and drab with little natural light especailly on the ground foor, but this help keeps them cool in the summer I'd imagine, and there is aircon. Breakfast was served in the pleasnt inner courtyards. Not much of a view from the rooftop terrrace, but a lovely place to sit out. The staff are not shy in asking for a tip for routine service.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyTheBairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2010

For approx $40 USD, I was very happy with this riad, where I stayed for 5 nights. It's very easy to find the riad from the main square, which is definitely not the case for many other riads. I was in town for a wedding and a lot of my friends were constantly getting lost and having to get taxis or pay kids to guide them back to their riad. The rooms were cleaned daily - mostly very thoroughly although sometimes it was a bit spotty. The breakfast is excellent, and the courtyard and roof deck are beautiful.

The main problem I had with the riad is that I came back very late one night after the wedding and the night staff was extremely angry and rude at having been woken up. A few nights later I asked for a wake-up call to be sure I would make my flight out, and he was again very discourteous about it. They don't have an official curfew, but acted quite put out at needing to provide these standard services.

Also, don't ask the riad staff to get you any taxis. You can get a much better price if you walk a block to the taxi stand and negotiate yourself.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shield75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Munich
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Located a few walking minutes away from the Djemma el Fna, this cute little hotel provides its visitors with an oriental feeling you won't forget!

We took the bus from the airport to the square off of the Avenue Houmman el Fetouaki. The ride cost us about 20 MAD, no doubt a very inexpensive, convenient and fast way to get to the hotel.

The Le Gallia is located on a quiet little street, hidden within what at first seems to be a labyrinth of little walkways. But don't worry, it's easy to find.

Once arrived, the oriental architecture of the hotel and its inner courtyards are truly spectacular. The traditional tiling, exotic plants and turtles in the garden immediately allow you to dive in to the world of Marrakech.

Our room was located on the main floor with a window to the inner courtyard. The bath was nice and equipped with a toilet and a large shower.
After climbing two (steep) flights of stairs you reach the rooftop terrace, where you can enjoy your breakfast or just lounge to read a book or soak up some sun.

All in all, a very nice little hotel, close enough to the Djemma el Fna, but with enough distance to enjoy your peace and quiet as well.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMarei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel du Tresor
Hotel du Tresor
#205 of 499 in Marrakech
255 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Sherazade
Hotel Sherazade
#268 of 499 in Marrakech
199 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Slawi
Riad Slawi
#93 of 499 in Marrakech
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tafoukt
Hotel Tafoukt
#317 of 499 in Marrakech
14 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Dar Saba
Riad Dar Saba
#215 of 499 in Marrakech
174 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Sindi Sud
Hotel Sindi Sud
#303 of 499 in Marrakech
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Gallia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Gallia

Property: Le Gallia
Address: 30 Rue de la Recette, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #307 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Le Gallia 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Gallia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Gallia Marrakech
Le Gallia Hotel Marrakech
Hotel Gallia Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing