We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary experiences and highly recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jnane Tamsna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Jnane Tamsna to your Saves list
Jnane Tamsna
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Douar Abiad | La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40007, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #205 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Extraordinary experiences and highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is my first Trip Advisor review and I couldn't be more pleased with the exceptional service and lovely experience we had at Jnane Tamsna for my birthday with a group of 8 friends in October. The proprietor (and really your hostess) is the lovely Meryanne who did the perfect job of arranging the many small details like the airport car service, selecting the beautifully decorated rooms and organizing and recommending great guides and side trips (don't miss the Atlas Mountains). She also put together a very chic candlelight dinner on the roof of our villa for the night of the birthday soiree. Her fabulous taste and the amazing food produced from the gardens created by her charming husband make for a very special experience in the Palmeraie. We all loved it and I couldn't recommend it more highly!

Room Tip: We loved the Persian room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toddgambill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    16
    17
    13
    12
See reviews for
80
76
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I spent a week for a culinary and cultural experience of Marakech at Jnane Tamsna. I was with a group of 18 so I was able to see a number of different rooms offered by the hotel. They were themed and lovely. I stayed in the Persia room with another person, the rooms were large beautifully decorated and each grouping of units had a swimming pool. The hotel is somewhat remoter for the city center of Marakech so the a number of meals were at the hotel. The food was delicious and authentic Moroccon cuisine. The staff was very gracious and the accomodations included a lovely breakfast each morning. The culinary classes were great fun. Our final evening was a candlelit dinner out of doors.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We just returned from a 5 day stay at this beautiful oasis. It was so nice to be away from the craziness of the medina and be able to enjoy the tranquility of the Palmerie. Meryanne, the owner, and her staff were so friendly and accomodating. We had massages in our room, relaxed by the very private pool and had amazing meals here. The staff had wonderful restaurant recommendations and we were easily able to get back and forth to the medina when we needed to. Be aware there is no ATM at this hotel so you need to get cash at the airport or in town. We were there for a wedding and they held an absolutely beautiful one here for 135 people. It was literally breathtaking. We hope to be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We loved Jnane Tamsna.

We could feel the owners' love on each corner... everything is beautiful!
Loved the garden, the hidden pavillion, the different pools,
the door of our room was stunning!

We also enjoyed the meal. Exquisite hamburger...

Samira was very helpful and nice. We forgot a suitcase at the hotel...
she took care of it and even replaced a broken wheel... incredible!

Relax and enjoy this beautiful hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fileta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I just spent the most enchanting stay at Jnane Tamsna in the Palmeraie of Marrakech. I have been to many destination weddings but this was beyond every one’s expectations. We were over 100 guests for dinner. After an exquisite dinner, there was a beautiful fire show and we danced until 6.A.M. The music was fantastic. The setting of the table was magical. It was entirely candle lit in a very lush garden. Stunning. We were about 50 guests staying in the hotel for 3 days. Every thing was attended with grace and efficiency. The food was excellent, the pressing free, the guided tours informative and the last day the brunch buffet was good and abundant. Everywhere, there were more flowers than one could count.

My room was very stylish. Antiques, old photos and an immense charm, which blend the Orient with an Art Deco colonial feel. The location is perfect. Secluded enough to have a total sense of privacy, but close enough to town to visit its beautiful old Medina. The house has a lot of patina. Very old trees in the garden, an interesting architecture, a privately owned place which is being run in a very friendly manner. I hope to return with friends and family in this very unique enclave.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ernesto P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

the whole experience of booking the rooms was difficult and not transparent regarding location of hotel room and pricing. upon arrival, we were told we had to use hotel booked cars, which were charging much more (2-3x). the rationale was that local taxis would get lost and when asked upon by staff to draw a simple map, this was met with a lot of resistance. food service was exceptionally unreliable and slow. AC was not working properly and toilet was running continually, yet no attempts at fixing. upon departure, we were billed a much higher room rate price and had to point that out. very disappointing experience and question the integrity of the operation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vroth123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We were really excited to stay at Jnane having read the reviews and seen the website. However, we were thoroughly disappointed with our stay. The place was generally nice, but dusty and didn't feel clean. More importantly, service was not honest.

1. Their car service arrangement destroyed our trust. Hotel manager didn't tell us when we booked to use their driver service so we ended up taking a taxi which was a big hassle since the taxi driver had no idea where the hotel was. She made it seem like it was our fault and we should have known to use their driver. However, it is basically racketeering. The hotel does not have any signs on the road for a reason. They don't want to be found by other taxi drivers. The sign on the door is very small. We felt that the owner and car services company were in bed together. Using other taxi services is discouraged and even chastised. While it was quite nice to be away from the medina, the driver charges 150 dirham ($18) each way (8km ride) and it takes 15-30 min to order the service. We later learned that a nearby hotel Dar Ayniwen offers free taxi service.

2. Service is very, very slow. When we asked for coffee or water, it would take over 30 min! However, services in Morocco are generally poor.

We would not recommend this place. If you want a nice garden and good hospitality in Palmerie, stay at Dar Anyiwen. Perhaps I'm being harsh, but I don't like the feeling of getting ripped off.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Minibeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.3 mi away
Dar Zemora
Dar Zemora
#75 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Deux Tours
Les Deux Tours
#51 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 618 reviews
1.0 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#74 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa des Trois Golfs
Villa des Trois Golfs
#335 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#19 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 828 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ksar Char-Bagh
Ksar Char-Bagh
#152 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jnane Tamsna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jnane Tamsna

Property: Jnane Tamsna
Address: Douar Abiad | La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#126 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jnane Tamsna 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest creation of Meryanne Loum-Martin, Jnane Tamsna comprises three houses - Jnane House, Moussafir House and Dar Ylane - with a total of 17 bedrooms within a walled garden. The property is located in a protected palm grove with spectacular views. The houses blend traditional interior courtyard architecture with the space, light and vegetation typical of the Palmeraie. Jnane Tamsa offers a romantic way to discover Marrakech and understand why it has become a legend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Jnane Tamsna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jnane Tamsna Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing