We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic”
Review of Jnane Tamsna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jnane Tamsna
Ranked #136 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I just spent the most enchanting stay at Jnane Tamsna in the Palmeraie of Marrakech. I have been to many destination weddings but this was beyond every one’s expectations. We were over 100 guests for dinner. After an exquisite dinner, there was a beautiful fire show and we danced until 6.A.M. The music was fantastic. The setting of the table was magical. It was entirely candle lit in a very lush garden. Stunning. We were about 50 guests staying in the hotel for 3 days. Every thing was attended with grace and efficiency. The food was excellent, the pressing free, the guided tours informative and the last day the brunch buffet was good and abundant. Everywhere, there were more flowers than one could count.

My room was very stylish. Antiques, old photos and an immense charm, which blend the Orient with an Art Deco colonial feel. The location is perfect. Secluded enough to have a total sense of privacy, but close enough to town to visit its beautiful old Medina. The house has a lot of patina. Very old trees in the garden, an interesting architecture, a privately owned place which is being run in a very friendly manner. I hope to return with friends and family in this very unique enclave.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Ernesto P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
There are newer reviews for Jnane Tamsna
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 311 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

the whole experience of booking the rooms was difficult and not transparent regarding location of hotel room and pricing. upon arrival, we were told we had to use hotel booked cars, which were charging much more (2-3x). the rationale was that local taxis would get lost and when asked upon by staff to draw a simple map, this was met with a lot of resistance. food service was exceptionally unreliable and slow. AC was not working properly and toilet was running continually, yet no attempts at fixing. upon departure, we were billed a much higher room rate price and had to point that out. very disappointing experience and question the integrity of the operation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank vroth123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were really excited to stay at Jnane having read the reviews and seen the website. However, we were thoroughly disappointed with our stay. The place was generally nice, but dusty and didn't feel clean. More importantly, service was not honest.

1. Their car service arrangement destroyed our trust. Hotel manager didn't tell us when we booked to use their driver service so we ended up taking a taxi which was a big hassle since the taxi driver had no idea where the hotel was. She made it seem like it was our fault and we should have known to use their driver. However, it is basically racketeering. The hotel does not have any signs on the road for a reason. They don't want to be found by other taxi drivers. The sign on the door is very small. We felt that the owner and car services company were in bed together. Using other taxi services is discouraged and even chastised. While it was quite nice to be away from the medina, the driver charges 150 dirham ($18) each way (8km ride) and it takes 15-30 min to order the service. We later learned that a nearby hotel Dar Ayniwen offers free taxi service.

2. Service is very, very slow. When we asked for coffee or water, it would take over 30 min! However, services in Morocco are generally poor.

We would not recommend this place. If you want a nice garden and good hospitality in Palmerie, stay at Dar Anyiwen. Perhaps I'm being harsh, but I don't like the feeling of getting ripped off.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Minibeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed here in June 2013 for 4 nights with some friends. It was my third stay at Jnane Tamsna and as usual our stay was fabulous. Meryanne and her wonderful family were extremely kind and welcoming and this kindness resonated throughout the hotel, making it feel like a home form home. We stayed in Jnane Moussafir as there were many of us, we had our own pool and pavilion to shelter under in the heat of the day, and whilst we were by the pool or on an excursion the magical staff would do our beautiful rooms without us ever noticing! During our stay we enjoyed trips to the old town to explore the bustling labyrinth of the souks (a taxi was organised for us to be dropped off and picked up which was relatively inexpensive as split between 4 of us) and also enjoyed the nightlife that Marrakech had to offer. As we were not staying long we stayed in the hotel for most of the day however in previous stays Jnane have organised camel rides in the Palmeraie around the hotel, quad biking and also one year a day trip to another hotel up in the mountains was organised by staff with a very 'happy-to-help' attitude, and these have all been hassle free and very enjoyable. I have fallen in love with the place and will strongly recommend staying here to anyone looking for a relaxing oasis in Marrakech!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I stayed at the beautiful Jnane Tamsna boutique hotel with three friends, and each and everyone of us was absolutely delighted. My room, the African Suite in the Moussafir Villa, was beautifully decorated with gorgeous textiles and antiques. We had this villa, and its pool to entirely ourselves, but all had great interactions with the other guests when we would wander through the lush garden to the main house for meals. It was clear that this oasis getaway attracts like-minded, creative and interesting people, who often come back together after having met during their previous stay. This was the case with some of the other guests we met. The staff was so friendly and this joined with the owner Meryanne's warm hospitality, made us feel entirely at home.

Samira at the office was very informative about what kind of activities we could do. She organized a camel ride and the camels were brought straight to the front door. As an advanced tennis player, I can say the tennis coaching lessons they provided were great, as well as the hotel's clay tennis court, which is in great condition.

The cuisine, sourced for the most part from their organic garden, was simply exquisite. Chilled cucumber soups and gazpachos, delicious spicy grilled meats, fresh fruit and amazing chocolate cake. The perfect end to each meal was the mint tea, picked from the garden the very day.

A great thank you to Meryanne, her staff and the Jnane family for welcoming my friends and I into this beautiful oasis paradise in which we could not have felt more at home. I look forward to coming back in the very near future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Having never been to Marrakech or Morocco before I was somewhat nervous about what to expect. My husband and I had a 3 day stay and instantly felt relaxed from the moment we walked through the doorway. The decor is impressive - a difficult to achieve blend of simplicity with antique furniture, ornate doors and modern comforts. The staff are faultless in their effort to make you feel at home and serve in an unobtrusive manner. The meals are fantastic too - all cooked using fresh vegetables. At 25 euro ahead for 3 courses, we found them great value. There are several pools within the grounds so you can find a quiet spot if that is what you are after! We went for a run each morning outside the hotel grounds amongst the palm trees and camels! We are planning to return and hope to bring the children too to experience their own Moroccan adventure.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurreyCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaptal9, Owner at Jnane Tamsna, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to express your enthusiasm about our property. We are truly happy that you enjoyed your stay.

We are very grateful as so often guests send me an enthusiastic personal email but they do not go on Trip advisor.

We very much look forward to hosting you with your children next time
Kind regards
Meryanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed in Jnane Tamsna (JT) for 3 nights.

The short version of this review:
a nice, upscale, hotel, 20 min from city center with VERY expensive food.

Longer version:
Booking was easy, by the internet. Found JT via Iescapes.com but be aware that when booking through this and through Bookings or similar, the online company charges 15-20% on top; so book directly.
We were traveling with two kids and the hotel offered us to put both in additional beds, in the room, free of charge. A nice touch. Checkin was a bit slow and we were exhausted after a long car ride from Essaouira.
Our room, in the "main" house was nicely decorated in moroccan/french style with black/white photos etc. The hotel is composed of 4-5 different houses, each with a pool spread out over the grounds. You can go to the different houses and use the pools, if that house has not been rented.
During our visit, most/all were empty.
The famous garden looks a little faded and general upkeep of the hotel we felt a little lacking too.
The pools were not clean enough for a hotel in this price range, we were allowed to use the "blue" pool by one of the other houses but it too was not cleaned during our stay.
Service is friendly and non-intrusive. All non alcoholic beverages are free of charge, inc espressos / cafe au laits etc. Most welcome after Maroccos rather boring coffee.
Another plus, free laundry and free wi-fy.

So much for the positives, there is, however one major negative about staying in this hotel; the food.

As others have mentioned there is a fixed menu both for lunch and dinner.
At a price of 25€ pr person for lunch and 35€ for dinner (15 / 20 for kids aged 5-12)
This accounted for a total of 190 € for our family (2 adults and 2 kids aged 7 and 10)
, that is 2100 Dirams!

For this kind of money you can eat at some very nice places in Marrakesh.
The food served is tasty but basic. A simple salat, for starter, a grilled piece of fish for main and melon for dessert. Consider that you can get the same menu, perhaps done better, in town for 70-100 D pr person, this is a ripoff.
We ate at the very popular (a slightly touristy) Pepe Nero (3d on TA) for far less and had a very superior meal.

There is no shuttle but the hotel arrange taxis for take you out for 150 D.
Our suggestion, use this to eat else where.

So, in conclusion, the hotel is nicely decorated especially at night, service is good, the pools and grounds mediocre, the food, however, overpriced.

Would i stay again? Only as a group, renting a house for private stay, but the price of the food would make me look elsewhere first.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rawlpluks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaptal9, Owner at Jnane Tamsna, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to review your very recent stay. When you book through agencies, they do not charge on top of the price. It is the same public prices published every where that you pay and that you paid. Indeed our famous gardens are suffering from a general drought these days. As you have seen it is extremely hot, and there is the desert wind called chergui blowing sand and dust all over the Palmeraie. It is also Ramadan, and the slow check-in you experienced (and that I do apologise for) was linked to the fact that the reception person had fasted all day and was probably a bit slow to move then. No water no food for about 12 hours a day in 45 degrees and plus... We do apologise for the fact that you experienced holidays in a very hot week, a very tired moment for people doing their religious fasting and that there was the sandy wind. I remember that our place was warmly recommended to you by friends of yours who came at another moment of the year.
Totally uninformed that you were coming with two children who were between 9 and 12, I guess.. We graciously offered you 2 free beds with their included breakfasts, soft drinks, pressing and laundry. Nothing of this was charged. I do hope that the future will give us opportunities to come back to our place and see it under the eyes of your friends who recommended it. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Les Deux Tours
Les Deux Tours
#47 of 502 in Marrakech
750 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dar Zemora
Dar Zemora
#80 of 502 in Marrakech
303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Murano Resort Marrakech
Murano Resort Marrakech
#192 of 502 in Marrakech
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#15 of 502 in Marrakech
945 reviews
3.4 mi away
Riad Farnatchi
Riad Farnatchi
#89 of 502 in Marrakech
407 reviews
3.9 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#50 of 502 in Marrakech
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jnane Tamsna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jnane Tamsna

Address: Douar Abiad | La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40070, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: $199 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jnane Tamsna 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest creation of Meryanne Loum-Martin, Jnane Tamsna comprises three houses - Jnane House, Moussafir House and Dar Ylane - with a total of 17 bedrooms within a walled garden. The property is located in a protected palm grove with spectacular views. The houses blend traditional interior courtyard architecture with the space, light and vegetation typical of the Palmeraie. Jnane Tamsa offers a romantic way to discover Marrakech and understand why it has become a legend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Jnane Tamsna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jnane Tamsna Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing