We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Holiday Retreat”
Review of Jnane Tamsna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jnane Tamsna
Ranked #133 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We were recommended Jnane Tamsna but two separate friends and it ticked all the boxes. Meryanne is a very talented designer and has created a very special place allowing total privacy and peace but with the facilities of a hotel. We felt immediately at home. The gardens were beautiful and it was a joy to know that so much of what we ate was grown on site. It is the perfect antidote to the freneticness of Marrakech. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tania P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 325 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013

Meryanne Loupmartin and her amazing team I believe make the Tamsna the most delightful of places to stay in the Palmeraie. I've been several times, and my sister had a milestone birthday party here over a long weekend for 60 guests. The house organised a fabulous candlelit dinner by the pool with wines, champagnes and entertainment, and the next day a wonderful brunch under the trees. They organise trips to the Atlas mountains, overnight camping with the Berbers in the Sahara, mule rides up to the Toubkal and both camel and horse-riding in the Palmeraie. Marrakech is known as a party town, and the Tamsna is ideal for parties, family reunions, special events, and just for people that want to be able to visit Marrakech and the surroundings while staying in the peaceful, fragrant gardens of the Tamsna. Couldn't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marinaiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed in the medina for a few days before going to Jnane Tamsna in the Palmeraire. It is a decadent and lovely place. Meryanne and Gary are present and very warm hosts, the food is wonderful and the rooms gorgeous. We loved our stay and its a nice break from the hustle and bustle of the Medina. We had no trouble going into the Medina for some shopping, although the cars they use charge much more than if you haggled the price yourself (this is the only negative I have about the place). They also booked some glorious hammam treatments for us. We would happily and often go back! Great for families and couples.

Room Tip: All the rooms are gorgeous and personally designed by Meryanne, who has exquisite taste. Ours had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontrealLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Just 10 minutes from the bustle of the city, in Marrakech's Palmeraie, Jnane Tamsna offers the shade of it's palmtrees. Wonderful lush gardens, teracces. You feel emerged in the 'green'.
The interiors, a mix of african and mediteranian country blend, are of Meryanne elegant touch. Blissful cusine, fresh organic vegetables from the gardens, selected wines....I always leave from Jnane Tamsna with a peaceful mind and with an highly increased energy level. The owners Meryanne and Gary have truly created a marvellous hideaway.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IST-YwP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Beautiful, peaceful hotel with great service. Will definitely be returning soon! Such lovely gardens, there are 4 or 5 swimming pools and often you end up having one all to yourself. Everything is made easy for you - transportation, food, sleep, room service etc. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kieran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

What an amazing place! Serene walled garden, 5 swimming pools, organic vegetables & fruit, superb loyal staff-Ibrahim and Samia to name just a few-nothing is too much trouble and everything is relaxed and laid back. Meryanne and Gary have created something very special indeed. There was even a Nightingale singing at 2am just outside our room-how amazing is that! We had a lovely meal after we arrived in the evening, the garden lighting creates a wonderfully different landscape, prepare to be relaxed and chill chill chill! There is a Maroc Global Music fest on 25 May-wish I could attend. Will def be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank G528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this peacefull hideaway. The garden is amazing, staff very friendly and the food is good. The rooms are beautifully decorated but I really found it a pity that they are not well looked after, faded glory and that in such a beautifull surrounding.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mirjamreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaptal9, Owner at Jnane Tamsna, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment your stay. Your review is very much taken into consideration. We hope that you will return and appreciate the changes you suggested. We truly appreciate your opinion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
3.4 mi away
Dar Seven
Dar Seven
#130 of 500 in Marrakech
142 reviews
3.7 mi away
Riad Fleur d'Orient
Riad Fleur d'Orient
#110 of 500 in Marrakech
145 reviews
1 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#100 of 500 in Marrakech
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Les Deux Tours
Les Deux Tours
#45 of 500 in Marrakech
767 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ryad Dyor
Ryad Dyor
#66 of 500 in Marrakech
303 reviews
3.9 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#49 of 500 in Marrakech
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jnane Tamsna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jnane Tamsna

Address: Douar Abiad | La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40070, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: $170 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jnane Tamsna 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest creation of Meryanne Loum-Martin, Jnane Tamsna comprises three houses - Jnane House, Moussafir House and Dar Ylane - with a total of 17 bedrooms within a walled garden. The property is located in a protected palm grove with spectacular views. The houses blend traditional interior courtyard architecture with the space, light and vegetation typical of the Palmeraie. Jnane Tamsa offers a romantic way to discover Marrakech and understand why it has become a legend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jnane Tamsna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jnane Tamsna Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing