We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A good base” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Oudaya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Oudaya
Ranked #369 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A good base”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We stayed at the Oudaya for a week at trend of July into August 2014. We were allocated a twin room on the third floor overlooking the pool, with a balcony. The room was basic but functional, although the shower hook thing was missing and there was only hot water in the mornings, no showers before going out for dinner! The Oudaya is a budget hotel with simple amenities, close to everything.
The majority of the staff speak passable English, with some speaking English exceptionally well. The majority spoke French or Arabic. We found the male restaurant manager to be quite gruff and unhelpful at the start of the week, but better towards the end. We did find however that a couple of minor things went missing from our room and in talking to other guests in other parts of the hotel, they had also 'lost' things, some, not so insignificant. The chamber maids were great but I don't believe the floor was cleaned in the time we were there.
In short, if all you want is a base, this is perfect!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fillies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    137
    131
    65
    49
See reviews for
57
150
43
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Was great, walking distance to the old town and medina (taxis are cheap anyway). Nice area with cheap cafes for lunch on the walk down with good food. The hotel was clean, tidy and relaxing (very quiet and peaceful in January). The staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast was good there was a lot of food so you'd find something you'd like, we liked basically all of it. We booked a camel trip...then cancelled it as we found a cheaper one, so maybe dont book excursions at the hotel. pool looked clean, though we didn't go in. was lots of roofs and terraces to sunbathe privately. The bar served reasonably priced drinks.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlixP92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here from 27/7 until 4/8.
And let's say I've had better hotels..
I was with my sister and dad, and first we had a real small room, too small for 3 persons.
We got an other room, luckily, but they should've thought about it before.
Then again the room was not really awesome. Dirty and many things were broken.
The staff was bad, and also where the excursions. We got pick up 2 hours late, and it was much longer drive then they told us it would be, we went back earlier then they told us.
The organization could be a lot better!

I did have fun but i wouldn't go back

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thatkidrauhll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Basic standard, but solid, rooms not very big but clean, beds comfortable. They have rules about bringing food and beverages to hotel - not allowed, if someone has that kind of rule you imagine that they have wonderful food there, which actually was not amazing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonne_pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed for 7 days here 15/7 -22/7
Staff very welcoming and polite. Beware there is a local tax which you will be charged for on arrival. 11dh/day (under £1)
Room - 5th floor with balcony very clean and linen towels changed daily
Pool area has many seats, about 10 sunbeds - kept very clean and good sized pool
Breakfast quite adequate - bread, eggs, pastries, flat breads
Dinner - 3 courses - very meaty (we're veggie) but quite happy to cook omlettes etc- mostly starter and desert was adequate for us.
Good area - no 1 bus to medina, close to Guerliz and numerous cafes and restaurants there
Carrefour 5 min walk
Would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: 5th floor with balcony overlooking pool was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Indiafile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Oudaya for 7 Nights. We found it very pleasant indeed. It's a gentle half an hour stroll from the main square, and there are many good shops nearby as well as the Jardine Marjorelle. We found the rooms to be clean and comfortable. The food is very basic, but you get what you pay for. There are many other restaurants nearby if you want something more culinary.
The pool is an excellent sun trap for those who want a tan, but there are only 12 sun loungers, so get down early. We found the staff friendly and helpful, they may look a bit grumpy at first, but a smile and a "Bonjour" go a long way to breaking the ice.
This is a budget hotel that has seen better days, however if you want a low cost base to explore Marrakech, this is a good bet.
A word of warning however, when we arrived at 2am, we were presented with a bill for 156dr (around £11). This is apparently a hotel tax. It wasn't mentioned by our operator, nor in any of the literature. It is hotel policy, so don't worry, it's not a scam.
All in all a pleasant budget hotel for those who just want the basics. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank WithnailUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The overall first impression of this hotel was one of being quite good for a central location of Marrakech. Room was presentable, bathroom fine, small balcony overlooking another hotel pool.

Hot water for the shower was an issue, sometimes it worked and sometimes it didn't, but at best took about 10-15 minutes for the hot water to come through, what a waste of water.

Breakfast was good value but the coffee although kept in insulated jugs was cold. We stayed half board and the evening menu was less than good. First night choice of rabbit or fish, my wife likes neither and no alternative offered. The rabbit for me turned out to be the rabbit leg, had difficulty finding any meat on it.

On our last morning we had to leave early, should not be an issue as breakfast starts at 6:30, but upon arriving at 6:45 door was locked, staff member inside was sat down talking to another and gestured for us to take the long walk round to the back entrance to come in, needless to say I didn't and after a couple of minutes he did walk over to open the door.

Overall I would say, a nice quiet hotel, but don't waste your money half board, some lovely small reasonable restaurants close by in which to get evening meal.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mont Gueliz
Hotel Mont Gueliz
#431 of 504 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Akabar
Hotel Akabar
#419 of 504 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel le Caspien
Hotel le Caspien
#120 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Moroccan House Hotel
Moroccan House Hotel
#288 of 504 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 554 reviews
0.3 mi away
Agdal Hotel
Agdal Hotel
#444 of 504 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
#458 of 504 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oudaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oudaya

Property: Hotel Oudaya
Address: 147 Rue Mohamed El Bakkal | Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #369 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Oudaya 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Oudaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing