We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel badly run”
Review of Hotel Oudaya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Oudaya
Ranked #392 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Oudaya is in itself a nice hotel. Rooms and bathrooms are allright, what you can expect from a three star hotel in Morocco. It has a real nice swimming pool, which is great to have to cool down from the heat of Marrakech.
What makes the hotel so poor is the uninterested staff, coming back in details like the simple breakfast or no staff in the bar or near the pool. The lay-out of the hotel is quite complex (lots of stairs and sideways) and definitely not suited for people in a wheelchair.
Distance to town is about half an hour walking, which is nice in the warm evening but not recommended in the hot afternoons.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rene_Jakobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 455 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed here during Ramadan as this was the finish hotel for our Gap Adventures tour and we stayed an extra 2 days.

The hotel location is good, as it is only a short cab ride to major attractions and the big clean pool was certainly a relief from the scorching heat. We had a nice clean room on the 3rd floor although we had to use the stairs as the lift was not working or had not been finished ... There was no button and doors were broken.

Most disappointing for us was the attitude of the staff in the restaurant. On our first day we wanted to order food by the pool after seeing a family order theirs 15 mins before we called a waiter over. He called another colleague over from the bar to attend to us and so we asked for a menu which we presumed he was off to get when he left. After waiting for some time we asked the same waiter from the restaurant about the menu and were then told we could no longer order as the service had finished. We asked where we could get food and were told there was a cafe outside BUT we could not bring the food into the hotel.

The poor attitude and laziness of the wait staff also extended to breakfast service. We were told on our last morning we could not sit inside the restaurant as it had been set up for dinner and so were directed to a table right next to a noisy air conditioner.

One good thing abut this hotel is that it's right around the corner from La Brasserie, a restaurant with a roof top bar...definitely recommended.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Muzza_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Oudaya as part of an Exodus hiking trip in the High Atlas Moutains. The trip itself was brilliant - such amazing walking, great people andnp really well organised. However, the Marrakech hotel, Oudaya, was terrible. The rooms were fine, and importantly for Marrakech in summer, it had a swimming pool. However we were really disappointed to find that our two bags that we left in the hotel while hiking were not, as we though, in the left luggage roo, but rather wintrauterine sitting under the reception desk. For six days. Not surprisingly, we found that when we returned to the hotel, a few things had been stolen from the bags (incluiding cosmetics). What was most disappointing was the rudeness, contempt and disinterest with which the hotel staff - both the reception staff and management - treated us when we dared to complain. They pretendedknow to understand when we asked for a lost property form, and then proceeded to provide us within a copy of the hotel's own insurance policy (it was not clear to what purpose they did so). On a more minor note, the hotel was also disappointing in terms of the breakfast, and the fact it did not supply sufficient toilet paper in the rooms! There are many better places to stay in Marrakech for the same price. Hotel Oudaya should be avoided.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
9  Thank il1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Stayed here as part of Exodus travel trek. Breakfast was good with freshly squeezed orange juice, rooms were clean, staff were friendly enough and the hotel was about 20 minutes walk from the centre and about 30 minutes to the souks. Cafes just out the back door selling reasonable priced food Lifts worked fine. Nice sun terrace to go and sit out on.
No problems at all and would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pollydg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

hi there - I have stayed in this hotel for 7 nights--clean rooms, nice staff, good food, BUT not sutuible for young people ( no evening enterteinment ), or disabled people (we had a room on the highest floor and the elevator/lift was broken most of the time. We had a half- board option, that's why we have been eating outsite very often. In the hotel you could choose or breakfast/lunch or breakfast/dinner. breakfast was very repetative-tomatoes, cooked eggs,bread,jam,pancakes every morning ;-((( but lunch and dinners were different everytime ;-))) we've enjoyed a small bar opposite the hotel - excellent food, very good price and service !!! the "good price" from our experience was:
- harrira (traditional evening soup) 6-10 MAD
- chicken tagine/tajine with veg 30-45 mad
-pizza margerita 30-50 mad
- morrocan traditional mint tea- 7 mad
- pepsi bottled 0.33l - 6-10 mad
- pepsi 1.5l 10 mad
-petit taxi from the hotel to the centre/medina - 20mad/2 persons taken from the street
-taxi from the hotel to the airport 80 mad/2 persons (((from the airport to the hotel is more expensive 120 mad,but there's a bus 30 mad/per 1 person to the city centre/medina/place jemaa el fna))))

3 min walking from the hotel there's a small supermarket ACIMA- it's much cheaper to buy there bottled drinks ;-)
7 min walking from the hotel is the main train station- we took a train to Casablanca Voyager : 2nd class 90 mad/person,,,1st class 140mad/person and it takes 3h to get there.

Room Tip: do not take top floors, because the elevator/lift is broken very often
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank karola11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Booked as part of the Gap Adventures tour, this hotel is a rabbit warren of rooms and layout. Breakfast is included and it's a reasonable affair, dinner and lunch are average and the bar is rarely staffed. The pool is overshadowed by the building most of the day, and the Sun-Terrace is lucky to see staff.

Location wise the hotel is nearby all major attractions and cabs are not expensive.

Having booked two extra nights we provided reception with our booking receipt, only to be told we should pay an extra night. Once this was cleared up, we then discovered another guest of our tour had her iPad stolen, along with charger and USB cable, directly from her room. The staff were unhelpful and unwelcoming in our attempts to locate it.

Getting fresh towels into our room required three seperate phone calls. Once we were able to acquire some we were accused of stealing them by hotel staff.

Overall following an excellent tour where we felt welcome and included into Morocco, this hotel made us feel unwelcome in this city and put a real dampener on our final days in Morocco. If you don't have to stay here, don't.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SamuelJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Oudaya for three nights as part of a tour with Exodus Holidays. I found it to be very clean, safe and well-maintained with a friendly atmosphere. It is a 30 minute walk from the centre of Marrakesh, but is served well by local restaurants and bars. Breakfast is served by the pool, which is also overlooked by a bar. Free wi-fi is available around the pool area also. The only slight complaint is noise from nearby cafes/bars at night, although this wasn't a huge problem. I'd say this is a decent hotel for the price.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Agdal Hotel
Agdal Hotel
#448 of 500 in Marrakech
202 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moroccan House Hotel
Moroccan House Hotel
#325 of 500 in Marrakech
590 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Central Palace
Hotel Central Palace
#357 of 500 in Marrakech
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Ibis Marrakech Palmeraie
Ibis Marrakech Palmeraie
#301 of 500 in Marrakech
368 reviews
1.3 mi away
Domaine Le Relais de Marrakech
Domaine Le Relais de Marrakech
#353 of 500 in Marrakech
100 reviews
2.4 mi away
Riad Bahia
Riad Bahia
#241 of 500 in Marrakech
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oudaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oudaya

Address: 147 Rue Mohamed El Bakkal | Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #392 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: $35 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Oudaya 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Oudaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing