We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Oudaya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Oudaya
Ranked #401 of 495 Hotels in Marrakech
UK
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

Stayed here as part of Exodus travel trek. Breakfast was good with freshly squeezed orange juice, rooms were clean, staff were friendly enough and the hotel was about 20 minutes walk from the centre and about 30 minutes to the souks. Cafes just out the back door selling reasonable priced food Lifts worked fine. Nice sun terrace to go and sit out on.
No problems at all and would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pollydg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    142
    140
    69
    52
See reviews for
64
158
47
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

hi there - I have stayed in this hotel for 7 nights--clean rooms, nice staff, good food, BUT not sutuible for young people ( no evening enterteinment ), or disabled people (we had a room on the highest floor and the elevator/lift was broken most of the time. We had a half- board option, that's why we have been eating outsite very often. In the hotel you could choose or breakfast/lunch or breakfast/dinner. breakfast was very repetative-tomatoes, cooked eggs,bread,jam,pancakes every morning ;-((( but lunch and dinners were different everytime ;-))) we've enjoyed a small bar opposite the hotel - excellent food, very good price and service !!! the "good price" from our experience was:
- harrira (traditional evening soup) 6-10 MAD
- chicken tagine/tajine with veg 30-45 mad
-pizza margerita 30-50 mad
- morrocan traditional mint tea- 7 mad
- pepsi bottled 0.33l - 6-10 mad
- pepsi 1.5l 10 mad
-petit taxi from the hotel to the centre/medina - 20mad/2 persons taken from the street
-taxi from the hotel to the airport 80 mad/2 persons (((from the airport to the hotel is more expensive 120 mad,but there's a bus 30 mad/per 1 person to the city centre/medina/place jemaa el fna))))

3 min walking from the hotel there's a small supermarket ACIMA- it's much cheaper to buy there bottled drinks ;-)
7 min walking from the hotel is the main train station- we took a train to Casablanca Voyager : 2nd class 90 mad/person,,,1st class 140mad/person and it takes 3h to get there.

Room Tip: do not take top floors, because the elevator/lift is broken very often
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank karola11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Booked as part of the Gap Adventures tour, this hotel is a rabbit warren of rooms and layout. Breakfast is included and it's a reasonable affair, dinner and lunch are average and the bar is rarely staffed. The pool is overshadowed by the building most of the day, and the Sun-Terrace is lucky to see staff.

Location wise the hotel is nearby all major attractions and cabs are not expensive.

Having booked two extra nights we provided reception with our booking receipt, only to be told we should pay an extra night. Once this was cleared up, we then discovered another guest of our tour had her iPad stolen, along with charger and USB cable, directly from her room. The staff were unhelpful and unwelcoming in our attempts to locate it.

Getting fresh towels into our room required three seperate phone calls. Once we were able to acquire some we were accused of stealing them by hotel staff.

Overall following an excellent tour where we felt welcome and included into Morocco, this hotel made us feel unwelcome in this city and put a real dampener on our final days in Morocco. If you don't have to stay here, don't.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamuelJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Oudaya for three nights as part of a tour with Exodus Holidays. I found it to be very clean, safe and well-maintained with a friendly atmosphere. It is a 30 minute walk from the centre of Marrakesh, but is served well by local restaurants and bars. Breakfast is served by the pool, which is also overlooked by a bar. Free wi-fi is available around the pool area also. The only slight complaint is noise from nearby cafes/bars at night, although this wasn't a huge problem. I'd say this is a decent hotel for the price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

My Husband and I have been going to Marrakesh every January for the last 5 years and have stayed in several 2 to 3 star hotels in this area. This is the first and last time we will stay in the Oudaya Hotel. We had to change rooms as the first one we where put in had a broken bed-it sank in the middle quite bad and we had no sleep at all the first night. The AC noise coming from the next room was so loud we could'nt here ourselves think. The sheets on the bed where so old they where see through and thread bare and also had a 5 inch rip on the corner. My pillow case was so old it was full of bobbles and itched my face, so I had to cover it with a tee shirt to sleep on. There was no space apart from a dusty shelf in the wardrobe to put your clothes on-This was all in the first night!! We where so upset with our decision to stay here. Anyway we went for breakfast the next morning and found it to be just mostly BREAD type pastries-which where stale, breakfast was less than basic, no yoghurts, cereal, cheese, toast, just pastry, bolied egg and Jam and tea or coffee. We moved rooms and chose the best on offer to us but then found we where in a room that did not have any hot water due to the position of it away from the boiler, so we had cold showers on the first day. We called the guy to the room and he felt the water and tried to convince us it was fine, in fact he insisted it was warm and fine, eventually after having a heated conversation with him, he agreed to turn up the thermostat, after this it improved but we only got hot water in the late afternoon/evening. The hotel staff in general where very pleasant but I guess they are limited as to what they can do with resources. Generally we had a horrible experience and I have complained to Thompson-our tour operator but they never commented.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank collette s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Oudaya for 2 nights at the end of Dec 2011. The location for us was ok and I found it to be within easy reach of restaurants, etc. Parking was a bit difficult. I did not find the hotel reception to be service oriented. I was turned off by the fact that they held onto our passports a bit too long. I can't remember why we left our room key at the front desk but they gave us a wrong room key (even though I was insistent they were doing so). Entered the room number for the key they gave us... it was the wrong room as I suspected. The scary thing was the same key was able to open our room. The room lacked toilet paper, the toilet did not flush and I had to take off the lid and jiggle the gadget in the tank. Also, there was no hot water in the early morning hours. Checkin took a bit of time. Checkout was speedy. The hotel rate I found it to be reasonable.

Room Tip: Ensure that you test drive the toilet is working
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamaicawi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

We stayed at the Oudaya hotel in September 2011 for one week. Our room was on the ground floor and had a small patio that led into the garden. The staff were polite, our room was cleaned everyday and supplied with fresh towels. We only had breakfast at the hotel, which was pancakes, croissants, pastries etc. The hotel is about a half an hour walk to the medina - the main square full of restaurants and the souks. The walk can seem quite long on a hot day, so take water and wear comfortable shoes. There are newsagent style shops on the same street as the hotel where you can buy water/ snacks etc. The hotel has a small shop selling all the usual tourist stuff, but also sells nice holdalls and bags that are a bit cheaper than in the souks. The pool is very deep and quite cold, but it's really refreshing on a hot day.

Overall we really loved this hotel, it's basic, but gives you everything you need and is clean. The staff aren't over bearingly friendly, but are polite and helpful. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay again!

Room Tip: Some ground floor rooms have a nice patio in the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mont Gueliz
Hotel Mont Gueliz
#433 of 495 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.3 mi away
Domaine Le Relais de Marrakech
Domaine Le Relais de Marrakech
#381 of 495 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moroccan House Hotel
Moroccan House Hotel
#318 of 495 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Agdal Hotel
Agdal Hotel
#431 of 495 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.7 mi away
Imperial Plaza Hotel
Imperial Plaza Hotel
#454 of 495 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
#443 of 495 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oudaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oudaya

Property: Hotel Oudaya
Address: 147 Rue Mohamed El Bakkal | Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #401 of 495 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Oudaya 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Oudaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing