We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great deal with great atmosphere and location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Hotel Essaouira

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Hotel Essaouira
Ranked #265 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Ninove, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great deal with great atmosphere and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

The hotel is a budget hotel, with basic provisions but an awesome deal.
It is located in the medina and close to the Jama el Fnaa square.
We stayed here with a large group of 12 people for two nights.

The first night I slept on the roof which costs about €2.
The atmosphere on the roof is great and you will probably meet up with other travellers.
The rooftop view at night is also dazzling.
The roof however can get overcrowded so you'll have to make sure that you get one of the thicker matrasses as soon as you can.
You however shouldn't worry to much about the noise, lights go out arround 11pm on the rooftop.

The second night I took a room, which are fine though it can get very hot at night.
There is one shower on each floor so it's best to get up in time to take a shower (especially if you still want hot water).
Breakfast is awesome. You can get different types of breakfast including coffee, orange juice and croissants.

If you go to Marrakech and you are looking for a cheap deal with a great atmosphere this is the place !

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim_Daysontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    58
    13
    9
    9
See reviews for
13
41
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2010

All of the reviews about location, service, decor are true. This is a typical budget hotel and I was looking forward to staying there. However, there were bed bugs. I stayed in their largest (and most expensive room, I might add) for one night, with a plan to move to a smaller room for the second. Luckily I awoke before getting eaten alive, but there was no way I was going to risk a second night. Maybe they aren't in all the rooms, which would explain the large number of positive reviews on this site.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetsuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2010

All the traditional style hotels in Morocco are beautiful, but the atmosphere and value for money add to this to make this hostel an experience in itself. During our stays, many people were camped out on the roof terrace, looking over the city under the glow of the stars. Although we stayed in a twin room, we chatted to lots of these guests during breakfast on the terrace, or while having a coffee and taking in the city. It seemed that whether you stay here in a bed, or on the roof, you'll enjoy a really relaxed, friendly, comfortable and unique stay. I would definitely recommend this to any budget traveler. But it should be noted that if you haven't been to Marrakech before you will not be able to find this place alone!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KallyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2010

Such a good hotel, after a disastorous night in another hostel, clean rooms, spacious, excellent staff and a brilliant price. You can see the High Atlas from the roof terrace which serves drinks and food at good prices. Really highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garjones30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2010

Very noisy in rooms on ground floor. We were woke early by people checking out early. Beautiful tiles throughout but this just adds to the echo of noisy neighbours! Room simple and small. Terrace pretty but a little crowded with rooftop guests. We stayed just one night before heading across the street to a quieter and cheaper riad.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellinjodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for about a week at the beginning of July. It was nicely decorated, traditional Moroccan style, and had a lot of character. We paid 30 dirham a night, which was about £2.35 to sleep on the roof, wouldn't of wanted a room - far too hot. The roof was great, big with cushions, lot of tables and chair and a small kitchen which served food all day and the most amazing orange juice. Met so many great people there, it was a good atmosphere, and right in the middle of the action. Bathrooms were fine, and a good washing facility for clothes. However there were bad parts of this stay. We met a few people on the roof that were staying in one of the rooms, and they were covered in bites - bed bugs in the rooms. Another down side was that there was no cover whatsoever on the roof, and it got ridiculously hot during the day, one of my friends got a nose bleed because of the heat. Also the roof did get a little overcrowded on a couple of nights, due to about 20 french (and very annoying) scouts taking over. Would recommend this place for like minded travellers who want to meet people, but not people who want an early night!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amythebackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2009

They didnt seem concerned and I have my foubts that they decontaminated the room. They suggested I brought them in but it was a definate infestation. I have about 40 bites

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ABCDEF4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#332 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sindi Sud
Hotel Sindi Sud
#316 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ali
Hotel Ali
#433 of 511 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Gallia
Le Gallia
#274 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sherazade
Hotel Sherazade
#275 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aday
Hotel Aday
#312 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Hotel Essaouira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Hotel Essaouira

Property: Riad Hotel Essaouira
Address: Riad Zitoune Kedim 3, Derb Sidi Bouloukate, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Medina neighborhood in Marrakesh, 100 m from Palais de La Bahia, Riad Hôtel Essaouira features free WiFi throughout the property. Every room has a private bathroom equipped with a shower. You will find a 24-hour front desk at the property. The riad also provides car rental. Museum Dar Si Said is 201 m from Riad Hôtel Essaouira, and Cooking School is 300 m from the property. Menara Airport is 4 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Hotel Essaouira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essaouira Hotel Marrakech
Hotel Essaouira Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing