We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time a trade is not observed in Morocco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Hotel Essaouira
Ranked #180 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“First time a trade is not observed in Morocco”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've been in Morocco 3 times and this is one of the worst experiences ever!

We were 8 people. We asked for a room (where we could keep the luggage) and 8 places on the terrace, because we wanted to sleep outdoor and often this is possible in Morocco.
The man at the reception asked if two of us would have slept in the room and we said no. Of course we talked about the price, as always in Morocco, and we traded for what we asked. Usually on the terrace you can sleep on the sofa, or on a mattress on the floor, and this solution in cheaper.
On the terrace there were 8 places on some sofas, and we took them all, so we chose the most expensive solution.

Strangely, the man asked us to pay in advance and that's the first time this happened to me in Morocco: usually you pay the day you leave, since the host needs to prove he'll give you what you traded. We said it was strange, but we paid.

The last day in the afternoon, we saw there were two guys who put their luggage on the terrace and we asked them if they were going to sleep there in the night. They said yes. So we went at the reception to remind them we took all the 8 places on the sofas! They apologized and took them to another hotel.

A few hours later, when we went to sleep, a guy was sleeping on the terrace and there was no place enough for everyone. We went again to the reception to complain. After half an hour discussion, they gave us a mattress (that WE had to bring on the roof) to put of the floor.

The morning after we had to leave and we asked for a discount on the breakfast (that we still had to pay) for what happened the night before. They accused us that we changed our mind, that the night before we said "no problem" with the mattress, that we already had a discount when we paid (it's trade, not a discount, it's different), that the first day we said that two people would have slept in the room, that the terrace was open so they couldn't guarantee there were place on the sofa (then why did they apologize and send away those 2 guys in the afternoon?) and so on... They basically refused to give us a discount.

Now, I know Morocco traditions quite well and I know that:
1. not respecting a trade is a serious thing
2. both of the parts must be happy with the trade, and if something happens in between, everything must be fixed (for example with a discount)
3. lying is a bad thing for them (and that's what the guy did when he said that we asked for just 6 places on the roof, that the roof was open, etc...)
4. accusing someone of lying is really really bad, and they did it with us.

In Morocco they honor all this trade rules. This is the first time I see such a rude and disrespectful behavior.

I red some review talking about racist behavior. This doesn't surprise me, since during the discussion the man at the reception asked our nationalities. You should have seen his face!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vagamentale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    73
    13
    9
    9
See reviews for
19
48
34
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is an old, somewhat rundown hotel. I got a large, airy room with private bath. The mattress was only slightly sloping towards the middle. A good centrally located stopover for someone on a modest budget.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jollycrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We were a group of 8 friends travelling on a budget. This place was a very good start for us. Very cheap, very close to Djemaa El Fna square, even charming if you're sporty and do not care about sharing a bathroom. The management let us have a pleasant terrace-breakfast at the near "Riad Mogador" which apparently is run by the same people. We had a very good time, we stayed here on our way back as well.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCorso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I slept there for one night when we were waiting for our flight back from marrakesh and it is right what you seek when all you need is a place to stay. it was simple but clean, comfortable and very cheap. 70 dh is next to nothing in marrakesh and it is fairly easy to find and just a few minutes walking from the djemma el fna. if you are looking for a clean place and travel on low budget i can advise you consider staying there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VielUnterwegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I asked a room for the close riad but no room were available so the owner sent us to next block and offered a big room in Hotel Essaouira: at a first glance it was ok but during the night I was completely eaten by bed bugs. I would not recommend even to my enemies to spend a night in this Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiaraeffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

I stayed in this Hotel one week during christmas, and once i got used to the cold rooms, and the wc and shower in the hall, it Was great. Clean, great location, quiet, very cheap and friendly staff - especially the cleaning ladies. Other guest were nice too.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjoenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellezelles, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

every year we stay one or two nights in hotel essouira when we pass marrakech
nice rooms,great terrace,hot shower an very friendly ownerin the centre of the medina ,near "place jem el fna" where you can have breakfast
the whole family is big fan

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lieve9954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#333 of 499 in Marrakech
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central Palace
Hotel Central Palace
#352 of 499 in Marrakech
100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Tresor
Hotel du Tresor
#206 of 499 in Marrakech
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sindi Sud
Hotel Sindi Sud
#302 of 499 in Marrakech
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#123 of 499 in Marrakech
116 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Saba
Riad Dar Saba
#217 of 499 in Marrakech
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Hotel Essaouira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Hotel Essaouira

Property: Riad Hotel Essaouira
Address: Riad Zitoune Kedim 3, Derb Sidi Bouloukate, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Medina neighborhood in Marrakesh, 100 m from Palais de La Bahia, Riad Hôtel Essaouira features free WiFi throughout the property. Every room has a private bathroom equipped with a shower. You will find a 24-hour front desk at the property. The riad also provides car rental. Museum Dar Si Said is 201 m from Riad Hôtel Essaouira, and Cooking School is 300 m from the property. Menara Airport is 4 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Hotel Essaouira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essaouira Hotel Marrakech
Hotel Essaouira Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing