We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Worth a visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ben Youssef Madrasa

Ben Youssef Madrasa
Book In Advance
$84*
and up
Private Guided City Tour: Discover the Authentic Marrakech
Ranked #7 of 153 things to do in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Chislehurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

It was OK and interesting to see a bit of Marrakech history but was not overwhelmed by the place. We stumbled on it as we were walking around city so did not have any great expectations.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,323
    2,225
    520
    62
    14
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Schooled!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We think we have it all worked out in the West but this incredible place which housed and educated 900 boys is a real humility lesson. The architecture and tangible simple way of life here when the school was open offer much to be admired.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Hard to find and do not fall for scam on the way that it is closed. Really beautiful palace. Only 10DH to visit. Beautiful colours and architecture

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank IrelandTasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cultural hotspot in heart of Medina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We visited this place as part of a Souk tour so our entry fee was already arranged, however I think it only costs less than £5 to enter for adults. It's a really old school from the 1100s and it's kept in excellent condition. You can explore all of the old rooms upstairs where the boys used to sleep (as it was a boarding school) and the old architecture (Moorish, etc) has been excellently preserved.

The only thing I would suggest is to have a bit more information dotted around about the Ben Youssef's history- we were lucky enough to have a guide with us but we could see people gravitating to him for information.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex_and_Katie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limburg Province, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“koranicschool”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

nice to see, but a little bit from all the same.
You see a lot of little rooms where the students work, study and sleep and that's it.
So after 20 rooms there comes another 20 rooms and thats for me too much.
But I'm glad that I have see it, for to understand this way of living

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank manifrema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Youssef Madrasa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ben Youssef Madrasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing