We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Must-see in Marrakech” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ben Youssef Madrasa

Ben Youssef Madrasa
Book In Advance
$19.68*
and up
Souks and Medinas of Marrakech Tour
Ranked #6 of 154 things to do in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Patras
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Must-see in Marrakech”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

This place is a must-see. Do take a guide if one is available. The place is beautiful and very detailed, Moroccan architecture is beautiful overall. This place is worth seeing if you appreciate architecture and history.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ANARIA19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,817 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,659
    2,480
    590
    69
    19
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
99 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

I've been to Marrakech 4 times now and only realised this place existed last trip but its by far one of the beauties of the medina and should not be missed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“very nicely presented”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Beautiful mosaics and wood carvings. Only downside is that there is no English explanations anywhere so if you are not fluent in French or Arabic it can get a bit boring. You need 30 minutes tops.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
108 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Tile work worth the visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We did not stay long, this was our last day in Maroc and we were on overload for such places. The tile work and gardens were very nice. A good place if you are just beginning your visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ivypoison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A reflection of the past”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

It was only towards the end of our adventure we discovered the Madrasa was a 10 minute walk from our Riad. This place is everything you expect it to be and more. The architecture, like the rest of Marrakech has been perfected to an exceptional standard. The Madrasa is well maintained and we enjoyed exploring this labyrinth of a building. Tour guides are available at an additional, small expense. You could easily spend a good few hours around here as it offers so much culture. As much as we loved the chaos of the Medina, it was insightful to reflect and try to comprehend school life here.

A must see whilst in Marrakech!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Youssef Madrasa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ben Youssef Madrasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing