We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Get cultured!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ben Youssef Madrasa

Ben Youssef Madrasa
Book In Advance
$19.65*
and up
Souks and Medinas of Marrakech Tour
Ranked #6 of 154 things to do in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Get cultured!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I enjoyed the architecture of this school, the entry door and the country yard. Very cultural tour and highly recommended for the first time travelers to Marrakech. For more information visit alextravelblog.com

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,834 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,667
    2,486
    593
    69
    19
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Stunning building dating back to Shakespeare's time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

This building, restored in the past 20 years, was a sort of campus for Koranic scholars. Most of the rooms are small cells, plain and simple, many without daylight, where the scholars used to sleep. The most amazing part was the central courtyard where the patterning (tiles, wood and plaster) was overwhelmingly beautiful. A peaceful, inspiring space - definitely worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great arab design”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We, after a long trip from the main square, found the Ben Youssef Madrasa and we did not regret it !
It has a great history and some wonderful arabic design. We took lots of pictures and really enjoyed seeing the orginal arabic design and it is really unspoilt. It is worth every penny !

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jerome_worcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knokke-Heist
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We visited this place and found it to be one of the most interesting places of historical and religious meaning in Marrakech, especially as the mosques are not accessible for not-muslims.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank marckh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and SO interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

At first, visiting a school seemed like an odd and potentially boring trip.

However, the building itself was worth the small fee (we bought a double ticket that also included entry into the Museum of Marrakech which is also worth a quick visit). The architecture was stunning, the intricacies of the stone and mosaic are astounding. We spent most of our visit taking photos in every room and corner.

There is also an educational function in that you get an insight into what life was like within an Islamic school- there are still little individual bedrooms and a communal bathroom.

This is a great place to visit and it is close to the Museum of Marrakech and the souks in the centre of the Old Town.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank estansf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Youssef Madrasa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ben Youssef Madrasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing