We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“always a stunner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ben Youssef Madrasa

Ben Youssef Madrasa
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.89*
and up
Souks and Medinas of Marrakech Tour
Ranked #6 of 156 things to do in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“always a stunner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

I've visited twice. It is truly beautiful. Try to go early to avoid the crowds. Go up both sides of the courtyard to the student rooms. One side has a little student room set up as it would have been. You can buy a combined ticket to the museum here too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank nrgalloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,051
    2,754
    647
    75
    21
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Espinho, Portugal
Level Contributor
129 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely week in Marrakech”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

As you are not allowed to enter mosques unless your a moslem. this old mosque and school because it is not used anymore as a religious place can be visit.
Nice architecture and nice to see how the student leaved in this place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Beautiful architecture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

The architecture and the intricate works were beautiful! Being here felt like you were transported to another era. The small courtyards and the dorm rooms are well worth exploring.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tasha094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
342 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Nice school!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Beautiful arab architectural building, walking through it with cool breeze and seeing how the students used to live their lives in the school. Good students got better rooms and bad students got rooms without windows...Great ceilings, doors and walls hand carved and painted.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank embcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Better than El Hamra for us”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We visited Maroc before Spain. So we saw Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa before El Hamra in Granada. Since Madrasa Youssef attracted us in deep, we did not excited for Nasrid Palace.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank eLiF_CeLiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Youssef Madrasa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ben Youssef Madrasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing