We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A quiet and interesting spot...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ben Youssef Madrasa

Ben Youssef Madrasa
Book In Advance
$19.53*
and up
Souks and Medinas of Marrakech Tour
Ranked #6 of 154 things to do in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
129 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A quiet and interesting spot...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

The Ali Ben Youssef Medersa is no longer a school..but is an excellent example of a long ago time and its architecture. The lower level consists of a huge courtyard with reflecting pool and wonderful examples of Moorish architecture. There is also a prayer room that you can enter. Upstairs are the rooms the students stayed in..small and labyrinthine...with one room set up as it would have been back in the day. This is not an exciting trip and honestly there is not much to see after you have been there for half hour or so, but it is quiet and peaceful and worth the stop!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank acandkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,800 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,647
    2,476
    590
    69
    18
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Islamic School”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Some beautiful mosaic work and wooden and stone carvings inside parts of the building. Interesting history. A peacefull space amidst the hustle of the souq.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Beautiful building to visit but that is all it is, we had a guide to explain the history of the school and what the different rooms were used for.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bish78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Worth the visit. For those with a view to history, this is a must see. Use a private guide. Not one that comes up to you in the street.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hubert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“one of the few monuments to see in Marrakesh - a must in my opinion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

The patio is nice, the rooms of the former students impressive (as very small). You have to pay to enter but you get to see some nice architecture.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank fjs1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Youssef Madrasa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ben Youssef Madrasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing