We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building”

Ben Youssef Madrasa
Book In Advance
More Info
$21.37*
and up
Souks and Medinas of Marrakech Tour
More Info
$100.90*
and up
Private Guided City Tour: Discover the Authentic Marrakech
More Info
$92.59*
and up
Private Guided Half-Day Marrakech City Tour
Ranked #7 of 163 things to do in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Oxford
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful building”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

You get a real feeling for how the students lived by being able to go into the rooms (cells, more like).

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank corrie_clan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,386
    2,946
    698
    80
    24
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We thought we'd visit as we had several days in Marrakech but I wasn't particularly excited at the thought. It was AMAZING! A true hidden gem.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank lph537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I love the tiles and all that wood work and painted!
All that colors, its a incredible work!
Like all traditions had things very beautiful and some others very bad, but a nice Museum to visit!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
932 reviews
440 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 398 helpful votes
“A must-see attraction”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just north of the souk the madrassa is the most expensive property we visited whilst in Marrakech - 50 DHR or 65 if you do the museum as well.
It is probably the best £5 I have spent - the interior is amazing. There is incredibly intricate carving, plasterwork and painted decoration. A lovely pool in the courtyard displays enchanting reflections as you walk around it.
The upstairs is a warren of rooms but gives some nice views iver the courtyard and the amazing doorways.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarcusHurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Must see”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

fab Architecture - interesting peaceful place away from the hustle and bustle for a few hours. wondering around the small student rooms you can imagine what life would have been like.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ACIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Youssef Madrasa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ben Youssef Madrasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing