We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful Architecture!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ben Youssef Madrasa

Ben Youssef Madrasa
Book In Advance
$19.65*
and up
Souks and Medinas of Marrakech Tour
Ranked #6 of 154 things to do in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Provo, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,110 helpful votes
“Beautiful Architecture!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Our of all the places we visited, except for maybe the Hassan II Mosque in Casablanca the Madrasa al ben youssef had the most beautiful architecture and mosaics that we saw. I highly recommend a visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank Ammon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,838 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,667
    2,490
    593
    69
    19
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

The architecture of this place is breathtaking, and although there were lots of visitors around, one can almost feel the tranquil atmosphere

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ForeverYoung01538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Hidden within the souk, this was a bit of a walk but the architecture was beautiful with lots of carved details. It would be a shame to go to Marrakech and not take the time to visit this Gem

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Educational”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Loved the architecture and guide was very interesting when he talked about the history of the place.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Trangmard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsm
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Interesting architectural design...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

People who are interested in history, architecture and calmness then this is d place of interest. Total calm n peaceful inside and beautifully designed with perfect workmanship. Fascinating wooden carving, mosaic flooring n beautiful ceiling...worth a visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank Deepak2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Youssef Madrasa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ben Youssef Madrasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing