We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hotel need better manager”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
Ranked #452 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The Persons working their were total not cooperative and dealing with customs very bad, specially in the reception of Hotel.
Clean service was good, Restaurant was O.K.. The location of the Hotel is far away from the city.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Alghamdi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 1,125 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

Could do with a bit of refurbishment as it does look a bit 'tired' but having said that, its got everything you need for a pleasant stay in Marrakech. The choice is a bit limited for breakfast but the food for lunch and dinner is very good, with a very large buffet offering a wide range of salads, pasta and hot main courses. There is a barbecue served outside on the terrace as well. The rooms are spacious and clean and there is a hairdryer in the bathroom and plenty of hot water. Wifi was only available in the reception area, which was a bit of a pain, but it was free. There's a nice outdoor pool and plenty of sunbeds. All in all, this hotel was good value for money.

Room Tip: Ground floor can be a bit noisy at night so a higher floor might be better if you're a light sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Ten bus stops from the centre. Not suitable for elderly. No entertainment of any kind . I would not book this place for the price I paid again. Advert for the hotel not correct. Bus stop for the town on a very busy road and one would have to chance to cross the road , elderly please watch out when crossing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
1  Thank Ahmed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The Hotel is compared to the other hotels in Marrakech very much 90s style what doesn't have to be bad in some ways.

The interior is old fashioned but not necessarly bad. The rooms are basic but the hotel has a nice bar and a lot of space. The location isn't the best but you are still central.

What I liked the most is the big pool garden that allows to find you a lonely spot.

You just have to consider that here are many families with kids, so it's not that quiet always. Also I wished they had some pool service for drinks etc.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I thought the hotel was very tired in its decor, the staff on occasions were not the most helpful. The food was not clearly labeled so no idea what I was eating.
The breakfast was very basic for us westerners, which I thought disappointing.
I was overcharged for a lunch by double on my last day, the receptionist charged it to my card on a mobile machine, when I realised the error a whole half an hour of negotiation proceeded even involving the tour leader. I kept telling them it was their mistake not mine ! It turned out the receptionist did not have the training to issue a refund on the machine....he only had training to take money ? To this end I was issued with local currency of which I had to get rid of at the airport.

Not a great experience. On returning home a delayed reaction brought on a very nasty tummy bug, of which kept me in bed off a week, my GP put me on antibiotics and is calling for a sample to go to the lab if no better in another two days. To be fare it might not have been the hotel food, as we did eat out at other restaurants too. One other lady on the trip suffered the same symptoms too.

I felt the medina at night was a very interesting place, however everywhere you turn locals are pestering you to give them money for nothing really, I was walking along and a poor monkey was thrown on my back, the poor creature was so scared he showed me his teeth and screamed.
Another lady was grabbed quite firmly , enough to bruise as a local thought she had taken a photo of them. Not a nice experience. And believe it of not are group had a guide !

So no I will not go back.

Room Tip: I stayed on the lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Falmergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

There are a lot of reviews on here that put me and my other half off before we were due to stay at the Semiramis. Never having gone to Morocco it did put us off at first, however the hotel was lovely. If you want a cheap holiday with a bit of sunshine then I fully recommend the Semiramis. Yes, I agree, the rooms could do with a little TLC here and there, a few things that knock it down from being a full four or five star hotel, however it's only small things that let it down, it's hardly worth bashing the whole holiday for it! We had a beautiful balcony facing the superb gardens and clean, and very large, pool. The room we had was clean, spacious and looked after everyday by the very friendly cleaning staff. The reception staff were very helpful as were the gentlemen in the restaurant, both a la carte and buffet. The bar staff however were a little stand off-ish which I think is more of a language barrier than anything else. The food was delicious, however a little samey, we did try and venture out to eat elsewhere but couldn't find anywhere listed on the trip advisor destinations close by, that being down to us not being very good at an adventurous outing or reading a map. Alcohol is quite expensive, there is an off license not far up the road but the hotel does have a policy of taking your own drink into the hotel (including water, which in my opinion is a little ridiculous as we are not used to their drinking water and we do have a right to not get ill whilst saving some pennies!)
If you do decide to wander into Marrakech, avoid the taxis outside the hotel, regardless of what they say they ARE more expensive than if you walk away from the hotel and get picked up as you are walking along. All self respecting taxi drivers out there will tell you that it is more expensive at night than it is during the day. They will still try and persuade you to pay more so either express they turn the meter on or decide a price before you leave. Also be wary that they do receive commission from certain shops or souks and don't ever feel pressured to buy something, be persistent and walk out. Don't be afraid to venture out of the square but also be wary that people directing you don't expect you not to tip, but also be wary of those who want to direct you in the wrong way, keep your cool and you'll find your way.
It seems that pretty much anything in Marrakech goes, we were in a totally different environment and out of our comfort zones however we both enjoyed our stay in Marrakech.
As for the overall feel of the Semiramis, I think a lot of British people have higher expectations than are necessary, if you pay for a cheaper hotel, don't expect the Emirates Palace. The staff work hard to make sure you're comfortable, well fed and looked after. As I mentioned above there is a language barrier but it doesn't cost anyone to make the effort to use or learn a bit of French or Arabic just to get by.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed a week at the hotel, Feb 2014, initial impression, hotel smacked of tired faded splendour.! Rooms, were clean, large, airy, but needed a makeover, Bathroom, lots of hot water, good shower, towels , grey and worn out, need to replace these. We have a super view of a fab pool and gardens, exterior pool area was lovely, swam in the pool, cold but wonderfully refreshing. Pool snack bar not open in Feb while we were there. We did enjoy our stay, happy with our choice ,calm oasis after the frenetic pace of the Old City.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
1  Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel S, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014
Google Translation

Merci pour votre commentaire qui nous fait plaisir, nous serons heureux de vous revoir et de vous accueillir dans notre établissement pour mieux vous servir.
Pour les serviettes je tiens à vous informer que tout le linge de l’hôtel sera remplacé très prochainement .
Merci encore et à très bientôt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
#451 of 500 in Marrakech
721 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imperial Plaza Hotel
Imperial Plaza Hotel
#476 of 500 in Marrakech
409 reviews
1.7 mi away
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
#407 of 500 in Marrakech
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Diwane Hotel
Diwane Hotel
#146 of 500 in Marrakech
1,091 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Relais de Marrakech
Le Relais de Marrakech
#340 of 500 in Marrakech
102 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Kenzi Farah
Hotel Kenzi Farah
#239 of 500 in Marrakech
2,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis

Address: Semlalia BP 525, Route de Casablanca, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#198 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#222 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $44 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 4-story hotel with 2-story atrium lobby, situated on palm-studded grounds, near commercial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kenzi Semiramis
Kenzi Semiramis Marrakech
Kenzi Semiramis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing