We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Adequate” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
Ranked #388 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Adequate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel is on the outskirts of Marrakech and you will need a taxi to get to the centre of the city.
The grounds of the hotel and the pool are lovely but the rooms themselves are rather tired. The fridge didn't work, neither did some of the lights in the room, the balcony door did not lock and the air was con non-existent. This was not just my room but also quite a few rooms of the people I was travelling with. Some of them moved rooms but still had the same problems. The beds are not the most comfortable I have slept in and the rooms rather dark.
The food was OK but I struggled at breakfast time to find something other than toast, marmalade and yoghurt that I could eat.
There is nothing to do in the area surrounding the hotel and the road/pavement very uneven.
We were told to pay in cash and not run up a bill on your room but if you did make sure you kept all your receipts - I used cash!
If I went again I would stay in a hotel far more central tha this one. Not a hotel I would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    349
    258
    132
    121
See reviews for
324
287
48
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We had a family reunion in Marakech and based ourselves here. Price wise it fit everyone's needs but most staff were unattentive and rooms worn. The pool and grounds were a welcome respite from the heat. The restaurant staff were very pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mackie1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Started badly--no rooms Monsieur who are you ? (my French was just sufficient!) Dumped the paperwork--told her to sort it out, decamped to Bar and Pool restaurant. It was sorted.
The Hotel is in a wonderful lush oasis on the outskirts of Marrakech./ The pool is first class and the Pool restaurant when open is good. The cold starters there are very good, as were the sweets, however it was spoiled by very indifferent main courses. The Al la Carte restaurant was to say the least indifferent. Breakfast were as usual in a large hotel buisy! Coffee anf fruit juices were vey good. Rooms were fair sized, clean, but like many parts of the hotel tired. on the balcony the Cane chairs were gently falling to pieces (sharp uncomfortable spikes!) the rail was peeling, The built in fridge did not work (after two days another free standing one appeared!--our friends one never did!) The quiet Air con just coped with spring Weather--doubt whether it would in the Summer. Staff were French speaking--but we coped. We were all inclusive--but I ended up with a drinks Bill of £150 (6 Days) and guess what the language problem reappeared at the Cashiers desk. Most of the staff were friendly, good memory and smiled! The food quality went down hill suddenly after the week end when it moved from Pool Restaurant to hotel. Very noticable at the same time the the hotel population dropped by a factor of three! What a pity so near and yet so far! Beds Hard! Long way from the interesting parts of Marrakech--roads outside very dangerous underfoot--I came back in a wheelchair from a projecting lump in the pavement!

Room Tip: Not on front -- taxis & nightclub 132--to 140
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan1142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I have been to Marrakech several times but only for short business trips. This time I decided to stay longer and combine business and sun. Therefore I needed 2 things- a pool as it's so hot currently and internet in my room. i chose Semiramis as it said it had wifi in room on every site I looked on. It also said this when I booked directly on the hotel site. There is no internet in rooms and internet in reception didn't work for me. The positives are that the hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful, and they tried to move me to different rooms to get a wifi signal unsuccessfully. The breakfast is also pretty nice. Downsides are that the hotel itself is run down and isn't of the standard of most modern Marrakech hotels. The air con also is totally useless and it's an essential in the Marrakech heat-I didn't sleep properly and woke each morning with a headache. Carpets, furniture, sun loungers etc are a bit past it and scruffy/broken-it just needs a revamp. It seems to be mostly for package holidays and Marrakech is best experienced in a more traditional way. My past visits have been fantastic. The hotel is also 5 km away from the main square and too far from the new town (Gueliz) to walk in the heat. It's a pain having to take a taxi absolutely everywhere as there is nothing round this area to do/eat. I stuck it out for 4 days as the staff were so nice and helpful but I was completely miserable and left this morning to move to the diwane where i have stayed before. I now have a fantastic, huge, bright, ice cold room and it is in the centre of everything, with a great pool that has sun loungers with soft mattresses! Basically the Semiramis needs renovation, internet improvement, and also shuttle bus service into Gueliz and the square. I definitely wouldn't go back, regardless of how cheap the deal

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snowymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed here with a birdwatching group on the last night of our tour. We all loved the hotel - our rooms on the second floor were at treetop level and we were able to watch a variety of species from our balconies. The rooms were very comfortable with large beds and separate bathroom and toilet. The buffet meals were very good, with a barbecue at lunch. The wine was reasonable priced. The reception staff were very helpful, and there was free internet access via a computer as well as wifi. The gardens are extensive with a fine pool including a separate children's area. A taxi to the main souk costs 50 dirhams - otherwise it's a 45 minute walk.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the trees or garden rather than the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DFW20N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

B&B only with 2 children in twin room. Good sized room for all of us. Clean shower and toilets (although can do with a little bit of maintenance). Friendly staff. A lovely garden and clean swimming pool. Not crowded. Very helpful staff. Hotel baby sitter for 50 dirham per hour. And free child supervision during the day (10-12:30 & 2-5 although older children would probably be bored. OK for kids less than 5). Bus number 1 takes from close to the hotel directly to jame elfena for 4 dirhams. Big taxi from hotel to jame elfena for 30-40 dirhams. A couple of good cantenes around the corner avg. Meal for family cost 120 dirham. McDonalds about 1 mile away (not been to it but passed by it). Advised by porter a local hammam called albaraka in sidi ibad 3. Very clean. Cost 100 dirham for the two of us including massage. Would have cost less if we brought our own scrub and soap.

Helpful?
Thank originalwhale
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mid Sussex
Level Contributor
144 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is the first time we've left a review; good or bad, but this was a shocker. We arrived in the dark and we're shown to our room in a dark, gloomy wing of the hotel which felt empty. The bathroom was dirty, a piece of the wall behind the toilet was missing exposing pipework. We thought there was no fridge but found it unplugged out on the verandah filthy. We were quickly moved to another room which was better but the aircon didn't work nor did the fridge. There was no wifi signal and we had to wander around the hotel with the ipad like a diviner's rod looking for a signal. Eventually we found one - just long enough for us to find another hotel. If the discount offer looks too good to be true it's because it usually is. There were clearly many rooms available so why allocate us one which was clearly unacceptable?This hotel's best days are definately behind it.

Room Tip: inspect the room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 911bella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
#355 of 511 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.8 mi away
Diwane Hotel
Diwane Hotel
#155 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
1.1 mi away
Imperial Holiday Hotel
Imperial Holiday Hotel
#487 of 511 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Ryad Mogador Agdal
Ryad Mogador Agdal
#343 of 511 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Kenzi Farah
Hotel Kenzi Farah
#269 of 511 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,013 reviews
3.9 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#152 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis

Property: Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
Address: Semlalia BP 525, Route de Casablanca, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#186 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#203 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 4-story hotel with 2-story atrium lobby, situated on palm-studded grounds, near commercial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kenzi Semiramis
Kenzi Semiramis Marrakech
Kenzi Semiramis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing