We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel aging so well”
Review of Amanjena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amanjena
Ranked #163 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Absolute delight to be in a hotel where perfection and service isn't just talked about. Even though it's old by hotel years, the materials and ambience have only become more stunning as it settles into its quiet and peaceful environment. Staff are absolutely amazing. Only grizzle is wifi slow ( it's included in rom rate so that's a plus and you are directed to use hotels limo service. The hostel designer clearly loves perfection and symmetry and has succeeded in both ( by the way the lamb on Sunday's BBQ amazing and I'm come New Zealand!)

Room Tip: Take eastern side as no construction . Noise from building over the golf course
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for Amanjena
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 210 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2014

Excellent property, fantastic food and attentive staff... a must do when in Marrakesh... just be aware it is booked out months ahead.

Lunch by the pool is a real treat and the Thai Restaurant for dinner a must .


Highly recommended but book early

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uh2239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Lovely hotel with big rooms, huge place based on the number of rooms, you'll hardly see another person. They need a few more activities as there isn't a lot to do. The resort is also 20 minutes drive from the city unlike the other hotels, but the space quality and peace, makes up for it in spades

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JonnyDodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

This place is genuinely out of this world, everything about it is luxurious and has the WOW factor, the place, the staff, the decor and the whole experience, by far, this is one of the best hotel I ever visited, from the moment you are greeted to the moment they wave you good bye, totally incredible.

Room Tip: Go for the private villa with your own private pool
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alanwhaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

While visiting Marrakech, my family stopped by Amanjena to check out the property and have lunch.The staff was simply amazing. The host who greeted us at the lobby gave a brief tour of the property then offered to ask the restaurant to prepare an early lunch. My daughter also enjoyed a donkey cart ride. Lunch was great mix of Italian and Thai!

The pool and basin areas were amazing designs. The Turquoise pool was a tempting temperature to boot. Each part of the lobby , courtyard, fountain was visual treat.

The staff was extremely friendly and made us feel at home although we were just lunch guests.
Staying at the four seasons here .. ash we had booked the Aman.. no comparison

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Soiam50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We just experienced Amanjena, a kind of oasis located at a few kilometers from Marrakech but quite isolated on a way. It's pretty good because you can be sure to enjoy a relaxing deep sleep without noise but on the other way, there is absolutely nothing to do immediately around, not even able to have a nice walk cause right outside of Amanjena, it's not very nice with constructions and a sort of no man's land. I guess when Adrian Zecha and Ed Tuttle have created this resort years ago, it was a beautiful wild place full of Olive and Palm trees but the touristic boom of this city make everything changed... Anyway, the only way to do something will be to use a car of the hotel or a taxi and you can expect about 20 minutes to join the hustle and bustle of Marrakech.
However, any traveller who likes to travel in style can be inspired by Amanjena which is a luxury square compound with a huge basin and all the pavilions and maisons (2 bedrooms villas) around. Amanjena has been built on a land which was an Olive trees farm in the past and it's quite interesting to see the reproduction of an irrigation system inside the manicured gardens of the property. For my taste, it's a little bit too straight and too formal. Despite of this interesting style, I've been a bit disappointed cause I didn't feel the magic I usually find in an Aman. I've had the sensation of something "sad" at Amanjena, hard to explain exactly what cause everything is pretty perfect as usual in a property of this amazing little group but a little thing which makes a place incredibly happy.
We have been beautifully welcomed by the pretty new GM Gabriel and his team and all of them have really tried their best to make our stay as good as possible, upgrading us to a huge, really huge Maison, from far the largest Aman accommodation we had with a huge heated pool (excellent when days are cool with temperatures around 17 degrees), two storeys with a very comfortable living room with an open fireplace and incredibly high ceilings, a bedroom with an ensuite shower room very spacious and a quite impressive first floor with a massive master bedroom and a fantastic bathroom built all around the ground level with a lot of little windows as a "clin d'oeil" to the arabic history. It's really spectacular but maybe not intimate enough for my point of you. However, this is probably the best example of the "Grandeur" of Aman style with breathtaking spaces, unparalleled comfort and incredible sense for details.
The service, at first a bit cold, turned quickly into what you expect from an Aman with people taking care of you so wonderfully, ensuring everything is going well, smiling to you all the time and talking to you like they can talk to relatives. For our dinner in the Maison, the staff has been nice to arrange an amazing setting with tens of lanterns all around the pool, candles everywhere in the living room and a very lovely bouquet of roses in the center of the table... We had the impression to be in a palace of a thousand and one nights. Simply stunning and very Aman.
Food was extremely good and especially a Chicken, Lemon and Olives tajine juicy and very tasty as well as a vegetables couscous so yummy. Very well presented and served and service during this unforgettable dinner was very courteous and well done. Breakfast has been probably one of the very best we had with the highest quality of bread and pastries and we truly enjoyed the extensive choice and the way the Jena family prepare such a beautiful table for this morning delight.
So, even if Amanjena is not our favorite Aman mainly due to the architecture a bit too straight and formal giving us the impression of being in a lifeless place (despite of all the Aman family always somewhere in the resort for you), it's clearly an excellent resort where you can find privacy and outstanding service, highest comfort and timeless elegance.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RCBLHKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Last month (mid-Nov.), we stayed at Amanjena in the Pavilion Piscine (a soft-colored room with a domed living area, fireplace, a private courtyard with gazebo, lounge sofa and dining area, and a 25m heated pool.)

When we went, the temp. ranged from 6-18c which means the pools are unfortunately not heated warm enough to swim in.

PROS
- Seemless service. Be prepared to be pampered!
- The 13-acres hotel ground is very serene, and lined with olive and orange trees
- Attention is in the details, from the hand-rubbed walls (paint is mixed with egg shells for a glazed finish, to the locally made wood-carvings and hand-cut tiles)
- Excellent Restaurants!!! The Morrocan restaurant (great food, very romantic, excellent local wines!) Food at the Thai restaurant is Outstanding (they have 2 Thai Chefs, and the hotel fly in many herbs and spices directly from Thailand)
- Their Day Trips are actually quite reasonably priced and offer choices of many different activities
- There is a 18-hole Golf course right next (actually side-by-side) to the hotel. The hotel can help book and provide golf clubs.
- Their new, mild mannered GM Gabriel is always around to greet guests and make sure all wishes are met with.

CONS
- Quite far from the city and most attractions. Take 20+ minutes. Meaning you need to schedule your day out well as you probably won’t want to travel back and forth from city to hotel during the day.
- On arrival….. agreed with previous comment “we were not given the option to sit down and it seemed very hurried”. It was hard to drink tea and eat the biscuits and shake hands with everyone greeting us while standing.
- Not sure why, but they only gave us flip-flops to wear in the room. Given that it is quite cold we had to request for slippers (we later found out that there is suppose to be a pair of leather slippers in the room, but somehow they are missing?!?)
- On departure from the hotel, we requested to make a quick stop at one attraction we still have not visited – the Majorelle garden, on the way to the airport. We were charged EUR45 for making this 20-minute stop (though the transfer hotel < > airport is included in the stay).

Overall, an amazing property offering top notch service. After a busy and crowded day in the city, nice to be able to get away from it all and back to this oasis. For the adventurous, suggest maybe try 2 nights staying in a local Riad, then move to Amanjena for 2-3 nights of pampering.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Trendspott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Marrakech
Mandarin Oriental, Marrakech
#61 of 502 in Marrakech
273 reviews
4.0 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#41 of 502 in Marrakech
384 reviews
5.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Palais Namaskar
Palais Namaskar
#80 of 502 in Marrakech
532 reviews
5.6 mi away
Selman Marrakech
Selman Marrakech
#48 of 502 in Marrakech
421 reviews
3.3 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#26 of 502 in Marrakech
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanjena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanjena

Address: Route de Ouarzazate, km 12 | Amelkis, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Marrakech
#92 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#98 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#114 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $632 - $1,451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amanjena 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanjena (peaceful paradise) is located just outside the ancient city of Marrakech. Set within an oasis of palms and olive trees, Moorish heritage is reflected throughout the pisé-walled resort, including the guest pavilions that radiate out from an ancient bassin, echoing the style of a sultan's palace. Amanjena offers a variety of guided excursions on foot, bicycle or private car into the medina, the souk and squares, palaces, gardens and craft shops of ancient Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amanjena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanjena Hotel Marrakech
Amanjena Resort Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing