We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil beauty outside Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amanjena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amanjena
Ranked #192 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
jersey
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Tranquil beauty outside Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The first impression is of space and the structures of the buildings and the shallow ponds. The whole resort has a very peaceful colour scheme- terracotta buildings, aquamarine tiles and swimming pool , manicured grass and raked gravel. All very understated. The rooms and pavilions are all built around water features. We had a pavilion with its own pool and loved having our own entrance, spacious room with large terrace and Minzah with water fountain. We particularly enjoyed having breakfast each morning on our terrace. Often in room dining is less good than restaurant meals- here the standard of private dining was if anything higher. Our chosen breakfast became Bircher muesli, cereal or pancakes, yoghurt and honey, fresh fruit platter, excellent bread and pastries , fruit juice or strawberry smoothie. Very good coffee.

One evening we had the special private dining barbecue and would very much recommend it; it was theatrical with out being over the top and after starting with Moroccan filled pastries the seafood and fish and then meats were all very good. The finale was a delicious tarte tatin and mint tea .


Our experience was to enjoy the lovely setting and if we wanted anything that was not obviously available to ask; on request an excellent selection of teas and kettle was provided -rooms had coffee machines as standard but not tea making.


The resort is about 20 minutes outside the city and the hotel has an excellent fleet of cars with drivers for trips into Marrakech.

The standard of housekeeping was extremely high with rooms being fully serviced twice per day. Laundry was efficient.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have good positions in the elegant gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mangerbien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    19
    10
    0
    5
See reviews for
33
80
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The hotel and the grounds were beautiful and we were so relaxed after our short stay.
The room was the best part - it was stunning and very private. We felt completely isolated from the world.

The reason I would give this 4 stars instead of 5 was that it was a solid 20 minute drive back to town and there wasn't much to do around the hotel. I understand this is sort of the point of the Amanjena and if it had been my honeymoon it would have been lovely, but I can't imagine what you do after more than 2 days here if golf isn't your thing. It was also incredibly expensive and I stayed some other places in Marrakech that I found every bit as luxurious without the same considerable price tag.

Another one of the highlights for us were the drivers who took us to and from town. They were very eager to point out landmarks and to share details about Marrakech - it was a little bit like having a tour guide for the world's shortest tour.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler08075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The service is a class of its own - no signing of bills, no filling of laundry forms or any other forms, may it be for an excursion or a rental car. The hotel its trustful with its clients.

We entered a car and the driver was asking if it is our first time in Marokko. I said yes and added that we just arrived yesterday - the driver was simple saying "I know". This is what often happens. Staff knows the room number from day one, the names and what you were doing yesterday.

The rooms are large, very well decorated and furnished.

All this matches and is worth the price of 1000 Euro and up per night per room.

But some details make it impossible to rate this place excellent (in relation to the price of course). The air condition put at its coldest and 24 hours constantly running was not able to get the temperature to where we wanted it at about 20 Celsius. Even though it was october, meaning the temperatures were comparatively low. We had the hotel check the aircon and were told that is gonna work properly within an hour. The engineer was obviously not doing anything and the result was as expected. We had to deal with the more or less too high temperature throughout our stay. The minibar was completely wrong designed as the fridge was completely biuld into furniture avoiding any circulation behind it. With my fingers I could feel that it is about 30-40 Celsius around the fridge running at max - inside it was then about 10-15 degrees. Not the temperature I like for a beer or a coke. All these things are unnecessary.

From my point of view mattresses unusal hard for a 5 star hotel.

From my impression nothing in the hotel is actually old (buildings) or nature (garden). It is an oasis and very beautiful - but it keeps a somewhat artificial atmosphere which is not so Aman style.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CoppasFTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontainebleau, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We were not staying at the hotel, but decided to visit for some late afternoon tea. The resort is a 15 minutes drive from the Madina, and the roads are very scenic. The architecture of the hotel is very beautiful, and all the staff are very helpful (the theme in Marrakech).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fontainebleau13D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed in the amanjena hotel and it was excellent!
The exquisite architecture, the details of design, interior design, the gardening, and ta marvelous service and great chefs!
We had a beautiful morrocan style villa with private garden and swimmingpool and a veranda.
We have stayed in several aman hotels around the world and we are aman junkies ! love the service and the sophisticated atmosphere!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SolKiin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
194 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

This is another beautiful Aman resort. The usual obsession with symmetry, elegance and privacy. Beautiful and most comfortable villas. Fantastic spa. But the pool area is nauseous. If the locals don't want scantily dressed westerners, they should say so, and we'll close the hotels. The whole atmosphere is rather Weird. Room service is, like in all Amans, passable at best. The driver booked to take us to the Median ended up being a disaster. A militant anti-american with stereotyped views who was too keen to discuss issues we had little interest in during our trip. Altogether, a very average stay despite the steep price tag. Not recommended.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank i-live-for-lunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Amanjena is the definition of understated luxury, from the moment you enter this oasis you know its going to be a great stay, or Meal the staff are Amazing, the food best in Marrakech eating the thai green curry is like being teleported to Amanpuri in Thailand, the chicken pastilla and tajine are both as good at it gets in the city!

It's stunning at night candle light with live music in the garden in summer and Moroccan restaurant inside in the winter with its grand courtyard and marble columns makes a dramatic setting for a romantic dinner!

The pool area lovely to relax with a salad and cocktail and catch some rays!

There are many high end hotels in Marrakech but none with the staff as good as Amanjena!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickM723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.2 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Marrakech
Mandarin Oriental, Marrakech
#76 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
4.3 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#34 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 284 reviews
5.2 mi away
Palais Namaskar
Palais Namaskar
#88 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Royal Palm Beachcomber Luxury Marrakech
5.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#51 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 985 reviews
3.3 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#33 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanjena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanjena

Property: Amanjena
Address: Route de Ouarzazate, km 12 | Amelkis, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Marrakech
#98 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#105 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#120 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amanjena 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a place in paradise where peace holds time, where nature and culture know no seams, where comfort and luxury unite in style and where water reflects the blush of clay. This place is Amanjena, Morocco’s Moorish rose, a resort secluded in a private lush haven near the pulsating Medina of Marrakech and the High Atlas Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Amanjena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanjena Hotel Marrakech
Amanjena Resort Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing