We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel - is struggling with details”
Review of Amanjena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amanjena
Ranked #170 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“fantastic hotel - is struggling with details”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The service is a class of its own - no signing of bills, no filling of laundry forms or any other forms, may it be for an excursion or a rental car. The hotel its trustful with its clients.

We entered a car and the driver was asking if it is our first time in Marokko. I said yes and added that we just arrived yesterday - the driver was simple saying "I know". This is what often happens. Staff knows the room number from day one, the names and what you were doing yesterday.

The rooms are large, very well decorated and furnished.

All this matches and is worth the price of 1000 Euro and up per night per room.

But some details make it impossible to rate this place excellent (in relation to the price of course). The air condition put at its coldest and 24 hours constantly running was not able to get the temperature to where we wanted it at about 20 Celsius. Even though it was october, meaning the temperatures were comparatively low. We had the hotel check the aircon and were told that is gonna work properly within an hour. The engineer was obviously not doing anything and the result was as expected. We had to deal with the more or less too high temperature throughout our stay. The minibar was completely wrong designed as the fridge was completely biuld into furniture avoiding any circulation behind it. With my fingers I could feel that it is about 30-40 Celsius around the fridge running at max - inside it was then about 10-15 degrees. Not the temperature I like for a beer or a coke. All these things are unnecessary.

From my point of view mattresses unusal hard for a 5 star hotel.

From my impression nothing in the hotel is actually old (buildings) or nature (garden). It is an oasis and very beautiful - but it keeps a somewhat artificial atmosphere which is not so Aman style.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CoppasFTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    23
    14
    0
    6
See reviews for
37
101
9
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fontainebleau, Ile-de-France, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We were not staying at the hotel, but decided to visit for some late afternoon tea. The resort is a 15 minutes drive from the Madina, and the roads are very scenic. The architecture of the hotel is very beautiful, and all the staff are very helpful (the theme in Marrakech).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fontainebleau13D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed in the amanjena hotel and it was excellent!
The exquisite architecture, the details of design, interior design, the gardening, and ta marvelous service and great chefs!
We had a beautiful morrocan style villa with private garden and swimmingpool and a veranda.
We have stayed in several aman hotels around the world and we are aman junkies ! love the service and the sophisticated atmosphere!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SolKiin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

This is another beautiful Aman resort. The usual obsession with symmetry, elegance and privacy. Beautiful and most comfortable villas. Fantastic spa. But the pool area is nauseous. If the locals don't want scantily dressed westerners, they should say so, and we'll close the hotels. The whole atmosphere is rather Weird. Room service is, like in all Amans, passable at best. The driver booked to take us to the Median ended up being a disaster. A militant anti-american with stereotyped views who was too keen to discuss issues we had little interest in during our trip. Altogether, a very average stay despite the steep price tag. Not recommended.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank i-live-for-lunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Amanjena is the definition of understated luxury, from the moment you enter this oasis you know its going to be a great stay, or Meal the staff are Amazing, the food best in Marrakech eating the thai green curry is like being teleported to Amanpuri in Thailand, the chicken pastilla and tajine are both as good at it gets in the city!

It's stunning at night candle light with live music in the garden in summer and Moroccan restaurant inside in the winter with its grand courtyard and marble columns makes a dramatic setting for a romantic dinner!

The pool area lovely to relax with a salad and cocktail and catch some rays!

There are many high end hotels in Marrakech but none with the staff as good as Amanjena!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickM723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I haven't written a review in while but everyone who wants to know should know that this hotel is amazing. I wasn't sure where to stay and went back and forth over and over with my travel agent before we left. There are so many incredible hotels in Marrakech, and let me tell you this hotel is out of this world. I seriously loved, loved, loved every minute of it. They are so warm and endearing and hospitable and just amazing. I can't say one bad thing, not one. We travel soooo much and this is by far the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Aman properties are superb and this place just lives up to it. Any questions or concerns send me a message. Best decision we made was staying here, wish it was for longer. Hope to be back next May for my birthday! So jealous of anyone who stays here!

Room Tip: Even the lowest category room is gorgeous and ginormous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nsbgerber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in 2011. It is a little way out of the city of Marrakech but the complimentary mini bus was a godsend. From the moment the plane landed on the tarmac and we embarked the plane we were greeted by the staff from the hotel. Our luggage was collected for us and the luxury treatment began.

The villa was superb. We had a two storey large two bedroom villa with a pool.

The service is second to none. I have not stayed anywhere else where the service came even close. We were treated like family.

The restaurants are all excellent. You have to try the chocolate fondant in the thai restaurant that's all i'm saying.

This hotel is one of the best in the world and has a high price tag to show for it. But I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

If there is a criticism its that everything is for an additional price. I think the room price should include the breakfast.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who can afford it and also to couples planning a honeymoon to remember. It is everything you could possibly want

Room Tip: Anywhere is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raquelwelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Marrakech
Mandarin Oriental, Marrakech
#61 of 501 in Marrakech
258 reviews
5.2 mi away
Palais Namaskar
Palais Namaskar
#78 of 501 in Marrakech
523 reviews
4.0 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#40 of 501 in Marrakech
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
5.6 mi away
Selman Marrakech
Selman Marrakech
#50 of 501 in Marrakech
407 reviews
3.3 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#27 of 501 in Marrakech
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanjena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanjena

Property: Amanjena
Address: Route de Ouarzazate, km 12 | Amelkis, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Marrakech
#95 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#98 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#120 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amanjena 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanjena (peaceful paradise) is located just outside the ancient city of Marrakech. Set within an oasis of palms and olive trees, Moorish heritage is reflected throughout the pisé-walled resort, including the guest pavilions that radiate out from an ancient bassin, echoing the style of a sultan's palace. Amanjena offers a variety of guided excursions on foot, bicycle or private car into the medina, the souk and squares, palaces, gardens and craft shops of ancient Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amanjena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanjena Hotel Marrakech
Amanjena Resort Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing