We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“OMG...were they everamazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amanjena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amanjena
Ranked #177 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“OMG...were they everamazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were at this hotel for 10 days and were amazed at the level of quality, attention, and tranquility. This is not a family place as it is super quiet. The staff there impressed us every day in every which way possible. From arranging private tours in their small fleet of Mercedes cars to a private celebration for my wife’s 40th in the middle of the golf course under a tent. Never raved about a hotel like this before. There is no doubt the hotel is expensive, but there are also only about 40 rooms (80-100 guests at full capacity) so every need you may have is attended to by their 200+ staff. We stayed in the Pavillion Picine room and they included 3 meals in our daily room rate which was unexpected.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grouptel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    19
    9
    0
    4
See reviews for
32
77
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The hotel is really beautiful and perfectly kept, the staff are friendly and efficient. The restaurants serve very nice food with excellent service. But there are significant negatives. The first is the location of the hotel. Yes it is only a short drive to the city center but the city felt quite inaccessible partly because the hotel doesn't recommend guests to use taxi for security reasons. Therefore if one takes the hotel's view seriously which we did, one's only means of transportation is hotel cars which adds a huge premium to the bill. It was probably a safer policy by the hotel however it was quite inconvenient for the guests, Merrakech felt too far away and unreachable. We came here for our anniversary so we thought a bit away from the hustle and bustle of Merrakech was a good idea. But it was too "not Merrakech" as one review pointed out which I fully agree. The second negative is, we felt, that the service, although very professional, was simply not personal enough which one would expect at this very exclusive hotel. In other words, we couldn't pin point out what was wrong with the service (as I said earlier, staff were friendly, pleasant and efficient), but something more personal was missing. Therefore you don't get the warm feeling towards the hotel at the end of the stay. I have debated how I was going to rate it but I just could not say it is excellent.

Room Tip: We had a one bedroom pavilion which had lots of space and a reasonable sized courtyard. I don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AmrushaGaruda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

My family and I stayed at Amanjena for three nights while on vacation. I can't think of enough superlatives for this hotel. The staff were friendly and attentive, the room was wonderful, the hotel and grounds gorgeous, and the food, from both the Thai and Moroccan menus, was delightful. Dining outdoors by the bassin, with live Moroccan music at the sun set, was unforgettable. The location is outside the hustle and bustle of the city, but just a short a drive away.
The hotel arranged a full-day tour of the old city of Marrakesh for us. The guide was very knowledgeable, and even helped us with the bartering!
If only Amanjena were a bit more affordable... But this was a splurge our family will never forget.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john_from_mclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bologna
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

I visited many, many places in the world and the most beautiful hotel, but Amanjena is really embarassing for its beauty and magic. Top service, incredible rooms, fantastic SPA. It's true, it's not exactly in the center of the city. But this is something I can bear for the privilege to go directly from my sofa into my private swimming pool only with a couple of steps. Negative sides? Yes, it's damn expensive. But it worth.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fabio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
160 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

I ask to see my room which costs USD 1200 a night and the next one up which is USD 2100 a night.The only differentiating factor is that the higher priced room has a small plunge pool.Fat lot of use on a winters night .
The AmanJena is the favourite hotel of several of my friends,but unfortunately not for me.My room is a concrete pavillion in its own small courtyard.The floor tiles are poorly finished and it is even worse in the bathroom where the wall tiles are in a bad way.There is a nice ambience on entering the room with Arabic music emanating from the in ceiling speaker above the TV. There is a bottle of wine awaiting me and the obligatory Pistachios,almonds and dates.They also place a beautiful bouquet of pink roses in the vase in the corner of the room and some nice tangerines in a ceramic bowl covered by white muslin .The butler lights the real log fire and I feel glad to be here.The furnishings are nice but not exceptional,though the dome of the room gives a feeling of space.
There are however lots of nice touches.There are his and hers straw hats placed on the loungers in the courtyard.They place the plastic water bottles in elegant brown leather cases.They provide nice bath robes and some strange garments that resemble Monk’s robes.They give you some nice black flip flops and my favourite item,some hobbit like pointy slippers,obviously I am taking them home with me.The minibar,coffee machine and television are hidden nicely away in smart cabinetry.
There are lots of plug sockets at the side of the bed,but the bed frame itself makes it difficult to put in the plug.The light switches however are traditional and well placed and easy to understand,so I am not going to lose sleep tonight.There is good desk space,nice lighting and a great wardrobe space including the all-important bench for travellers who like to live out of their suitcase.There is a big shower room and double sinks,but the toiletries are not luxurious and smell of chemicals.The waste bins,Tissue boxes and amenities are all well presented in the same wood casing.They do get most things right here.
There is also a nice outdoor seating and dining pavilion in the courtyard,with nice weather resistant fabrics in place.The fragrant courtyard is lush with beautiful plants and crawlers .
The service is excellent,you don’t have to sign for anything,they all know your name.They escort you from place to place and always make you feel that nothing is too much of a bother.
I take my breakfast outside in the courtyard.It is a simple breakfast,the breads are average and the eggs are too.I try the local delicacy which is basically a Chapati accompanied by almond sauce.
I take a walk around the grounds which are nice but there is no real Moroccan feel to the place,no calls to prayer,just views over a golf course.The thing is with the Aman,all the rooms are the same,with the same wooden craftwork hanging on the walls,the same green lanterns on the side tables,its all predictable and straight from the cookie cutter.The Lobby is pretty and the hotel is well run,but I for one would never stay here again.It lacks personality,individualism and that Marrakech experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank markwlugano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Amanjena is an oasis of exotic delight situated just outside Marrakech.
I stayed at the hotel for several days and hosted my 50th Birthday party for 20 guests in the wonderful Berber tent.
Drinks were set up in the Olive Grove with bonfires and lanterns lighting up the desert sky. I delighted my guests by arriving out of the darkness on a well behaved camel behind a tribal trio of trumpeters and drummers! Red carpets governed the way to the tent where an evening of regal dinning and entertainment created a memory that will last a life time. I cannot thank enough Livio, Joy and all the staff who put together this perfect evening. The cuisine, wine and entertainment were perfect.
The piscine pavillion I stayed in was everything you expect from an Aman Resort Hotel. I'll be back.
S H-W London UK.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiger50_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We just spent 5 nights in one of the Pool villas and loved every luxurious moment. The property is tranquil and although apparently about 11 years old it is impeccably maintained. Luxury and service is apparent in every nook and cranny while keeping the architecture and ambiance of the Moroccan culture. Every night hundreds of lanterns are lit with candles around the property which is just beautiful. The staff was excellent and very respectful of our privacy but helpful with any request we had. The weather was perfect and dinner was served outside overlooking the lagoon. It is also possible to have any meal served in your villa; the food arrives hot and is beautifully presented on your private outdoor living dining area. The resort is located about a 15 minute drive from the hectic city so perfect for visiting the Medina etc. while avoiding the noise.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelslut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.6 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Marrakech
Mandarin Oriental, Marrakech
#99 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
5.2 mi away
Palais Namaskar
Palais Namaskar
#61 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 445 reviews
5.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#52 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#35 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
9.7 mi away
Beachcomber Royal Palm Marrakech
5.7 mi away
Selman Marrakech
Selman Marrakech
#79 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanjena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanjena

Property: Amanjena
Address: Route de Ouarzazate, km 12 | Amelkis, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Marrakech
#97 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#98 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#113 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amanjena 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a place in paradise where peace holds time, where nature and culture know no seams, where comfort and luxury unite in style and where water reflects the blush of clay. This place is Amanjena, Morocco’s Moorish rose, a resort secluded in a private lush haven near the pulsating Medina of Marrakech and the High Atlas Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Amanjena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanjena Hotel Marrakech
Amanjena Resort Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing