We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not a 5 star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kenzi Farah

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Kenzi Farah
Ranked #273 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not a 5 star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

I have given this a three star as I was extremely disappointed with every aspect of this hotel. It is by no way a 5 star!! Reasons are as follows:
- Quality of food
- Room is dark, basic and dirty looking (stains on shower curtains)
- Cockroach in the bathroom on our first night
- Rubbish view (even though we got told and asked for a room with a view)
- Pool area crowded with limited sun beds
If you your happy to stay somewhere very basic and lower your expectations then this is fine, otherwise I would encourage you to look elsewhere. We were planning on staying in marrakech for 3 nights, after the second night we checked out and went to a different hotel.. It was worth paying that bit extra for some luxury.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosef1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKenziFarah, Manager at Hotel Kenzi Farah, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comment and we apologies the hotel was not up to your expectation.

We do treatment against cockroaches, having one of the most beautiful hotel garden in Marrakech (a nest for this) we are very vigilant for this point.

We always try to give a garden view (upper category) but depending the occupation we have. August is a very busy period and we can not give it to all. We give a priority to people who buy the right category.

It is true the pool was busy, this is due to the fact that customers we are having during this period of the year remains around the pool day time. This is not the case the rest of the year where guest prefer to visit Marrakech during the day. Today already the pool is quiet and you have more spaces.

Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    537
    434
    238
    212
See reviews for
421
624
85
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We had booked 2 nights at Kenzi Farah as part of our honeymoon and were looking forward to our stay. On arrival we checked in and were taken to our 'superior double' room, which was a standard room with no welcome pack etc. When we looked in the bathroom we noticed the towels left around and it was obvious they hadn't been changed. We went to the reception to complain and a member of staff told me someone would come to our room. After waiting for half an hour, without anyone coming,I went back to reception and was seen by another member of staff, who quickly looked up our details and upgraded us to a new room. This room was far more spacious and could be classed as four star :-) We went for dinner in one of the restaurants by the pool and ordered, however they didn't have 3 dishes we chose. Once we had ordered it was evident the waitors were working hard, rushing around (there were only a few people eating). After waiting for our starter the waitor came over and explained one of our choices was not available so we both chose the 'chilled avacado soup'. When he brought our soup, it turned out to be prawn and avacado salad, which was nice but no explanation was given. Breakfast was a little like feeding time at the zoo...with hoards of people trying to get to the juice machine etc. We found a table and had to approach a waiter to ask for coffee, which we had seen on other people's tables. Again the staff were friendly but seemed rushed off their feet. We really enjoyed sunbathing in the gardens at this hotel and would say this is one of its key features.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teacher12345678910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKenziFarah, Manager at Hotel Kenzi Farah, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Greetings from Marrakech,

We feel sorry that your experience with us was not up to your expectations !

Thank you for your good comment about the garden, we give a lot of efforts about it and we are the only hotel with nice gardens and next to downtown.

I would like to take the opportunity to comment some points you mentioned ;

The towel was clean and of course nobody goes to the room before guest arrives. We have magnetic keys and there is no way somebody can enter without us to know.

We might have done a mistake of your order between the soup and the salad, I believe this is why you did not get an explanation. We apology about it.

We upgraded our breakfast and we have now good comments, it is true we have a rush when all guests leave the hotel to do excursions. It last for one hour and then the breakfast is quiet, people are enjoying it, especially by the pool.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We came with a wedding party and did not choose this hotel ourselves. Check in took 45minutes when we were the only people at the desk. The staff was rude and unhelpful to questions, it was obvious that they considered us a bother. We had to take our own bags to the room, no help even though you have to go up and down stairs to reach the other block. The front desk provided no information about breakfast or facilities.

There was nothing in the room except for a brochure for the spa where we saw that you can use the GYM FOR €10 FOR 60 MINS!!! WHAT???!! Never in my life have I had to pay to use a hotel gym. Food in the restaurants more expensive than room service. The aircon in the room did not work and the shower leaked all over the floor. On the second day we were able to switch rooms because we had requested a double bed and were given 2 twins pushed together instead. The new room had working aircon, robes, and bottles of water in the room, it was obvious they had put the wedding party in the worst rooms available.

The first night we ate at the hotel restaurant, it took an hour to get food and then they brought out the wrong dish, it took another 30 min to get the correct dish. No apologies. Breakfast was mediocre at best.

Had an appointment to have my nails done at the spa, I was on time and had to wait 20 minutes before the receptionist finally did them.

For a hotel this size there are not nearly enough pool loungers and they are all taken before 8am, so if you want to lay out you have to lay on the grass.

WIFI BARELY WORKS. There is clearly a limited bandwith and so you may be connected but you can't even load email, forget being able to do anything online from this hotel.

This is not a 5* hotel in any world, the service and facilities are 3* at best. Would never step foot in this hotel again.

(and for reference, I am a french speaker, so there is no language barrier problems related to this review)

Room Tip: request a double bed to avoid being in block 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JRBoiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKenziFarah, Manager at Hotel Kenzi Farah, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We apology for the bad impression we gave you.

If I may I would like to comment some points.

Actually the check-in time is 2.00pm, when we have have some rooms available we do to hesitate to give it earlier but during your stay we were full and we apology for that.

Yes we have a payable gym but it is very clear on all our supports (website etc etc etc), it should not be a surprise for you.

Please note also we give upon arrival a welcome letter with some informations and a channel is available on all hotel TV set. We believe the informations are clearly and easily accessible.

Thank you for your comments and we apology once more about this.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This hotel is good value for money. It is certainly not a 5 star hotel but it is clean, staff are friendly and the pool and grounds are pretty. If you are looking for a genuine Moroccan experience then do not stay here, go to a Riad closer to town, but if you just want to lie by a pool and eat in the hotel then this is fine. The main square is a good 25 minute walk away and you need to get taxis to visit most places from here. I wasn't particularly impressed by the spa and thought the staff there were a bit rude although the staff everywhere else were lovely.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phuketprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKenziFarah, Manager at Hotel Kenzi Farah, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
— Note : our second “a la carte” restaurant is now available for packages with no extra charge.—

Greetings from Marrakech.

Thank you for your comments and we are happy that the hotel was up to your expectations.

We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Much better than some of the reviews say. Clean and expansive with a beautiful well kept swimming pool. OK - the hotel lacks local atmosphere but for that, it's just walking distance to the hustle and bustle of the souks.
The rooms are a bit dull but functional; clean and providing good beds
Service was good - especially if you leave a couple of tips early on in your stay! Recommended and excellent value for money..

Room Tip: Many ground floor rooms have terraces!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKenziFarah, Manager at Hotel Kenzi Farah, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
— Note : our second “a la carte” restaurant is now available for packages with no extra charge.—

Greetings from Marrakech.

Thank you for your comments and we are happy that the hotel was up to your expectations.

We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Our tour company, Gate1, selected this hotel and we were very pleased with it. Very nice room, (loved those beautiful oranges that are placed in your room) with good bathroom, gorgeous grounds, two very good restaurants - one for quiet dinners and one with fun entertainment - both with good food and service, small but excellent gift shops, a healthy walk to the Medina, and about the only complaint was that Wi-Fi access is poor (but this is true throughout Morocco).
We definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms in building closer to the reception save a lot of walking. Ask for a room with a view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKenziFarah, Manager at Hotel Kenzi Farah, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
— Note : our second “a la carte” restaurant is now available for packages with no extra charge.—

Greetings from Marrakech.

Thank you for your comments and we are happy that the hotel was up to your expectations.

We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

It's a good hotel for tourists they are only 10 minutes away from the airport, walking distance to other hotels and casino you can walk to the old madina to the traditional markets but I felt it was too far to walk but it is possible and also a short taxi ride to the new town. The hotels front desk staff are welcoming and helpful we did find the waiters and bar staff not to British friendly! The hotel rooms are comfortable but could do with more lighting specially near the mirror. Be sure to ask other tourists about locals and the area we ended up helping a we people which really helped them. When you go to the madina be smart, be aware of your surroundings staff in areas where the is lights don't feels it's safe just because you see police!

Room Tip: Ensure the A/C is checked by yourself before concierge leave not all rooms have good working ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPantherS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKenziFarah, Manager at Hotel Kenzi Farah, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
— Note : our second “a la carte” restaurant is now available for packages with no extra charge.—

Greetings from Marrakech.

Thank you for your comments and we are happy that the hotel was up to your expectations.

We would like to add that all our AC are on the way to be checked. Due to the hot weather the system is hardly demanded.

We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
3.3 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#102 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 4,063 reviews
5.1 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
2.1 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#152 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Les Idrissides
Hotel Les Idrissides
#189 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kenzi Farah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kenzi Farah

Property: Hotel Kenzi Farah
Address: Avenue du President Kennedy, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#142 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#158 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kenzi Farah 5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic venue, typical of the Imperial City, a haven of peace set like a gem in a 3 hectors' private splendid park of luxuriant greenery and dappling hues and vivid colors, the mythical, iconic KENZI FARAH HOTEL is located in the very heart of the prime, trendy, cosmopolitan district "L'Hivernage".Completely renovated in 2011 and thanks to its privileged location, the KENZI FARAH HOTEL symbolizes and strikes the perfect balance between business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Agoda, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Kenzi Farah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenzi Farah Hotel Marrakech
Kenzi Farah Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing