We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place apart” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel
Ranked #111 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A place apart”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

The Es Saadi Hotel, as opposed to its big brother the Palace, is a charming base for a break in Marrakech. A little old style glamour accompanied with polite and attentive service provide the perfect foil for the frenzy of The Medina. Get a room overlooking the pool and the Atlas Mountains. Enjoy the sunset. Not the most modern hotel in Marrakech but then that's not such a bad thing. Very good breakfast and about 15 minutes walk into The Medina.

Room Tip: Atlas Mountains view on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    348
    165
    72
    49
See reviews for
164
416
78
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

not what you expected! they used very nice pictures on every websites and mentioned that the hotel has plenty of facilities but we just found out on the spot that they are using the Palace hotel's pictures. es saadi and the palace are from the same hotel group and located on the same location but we were informed when checking in that we cannot use the palace hotel facilities except the for the gym. es saadi has only one small swimming pool that was always crowded and definitely not a swimming pool for children!

We had the bungalow next to the pool, the room was nice and cozy. however, the room service came to the room at least 5x a day to check on the room, this is what i found very annoying!!! 1 guy maybe forgot to give fresh towels, 1 guy came for hotel magazine and etc etc! in some point we were suspicious that they actually came to ask for tips. we stayed for a week in November, after 2 days we were already bored with the breakfast, it was average and always very crowded.

the casino and the lounge at the casino are nice touch but not the dungeon club, guests and tourists are definitely paying more than the local. they were questioning you before you get in to the club and give different type of stamps on each guest, you need to show the stamp on your hand before they come with the bill!!!

Room Tip: its definitely not a 5star hotel. better stay at the palace hotel itself if you want to get all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mei-lingling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

This review is regarding Es Saadi Hotel not the Palace. Es Saadi is an OK hotel. Definitely not a 5*, more like 3*. Staff are nice and rooms are good. I would suggest getting a room with pool view and if you ask for a room higher up (4th floor) then you also get a very good view of the Atlas mountains. However, i found room being incredibly hot and stuffy. We tried turning an AC on, it wasnt helping much, so we had to sleep with our balcony open to get some cool air. Breakfast is quite good with plenty to choose from! Location is so, so - you need to walk 10-15 minutes to get to both, Marrakech old and new towns.

Room Tip: Choose a room higher up in the building facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julia_trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolus-d'Oleron, France
Level Contributor
149 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

I stayed in a double room on the third floor of the Es Saadi Hotel, facing the swimming pool and was very happy with that. Breakfast buffet was included in the room price and given that this was during the Marrakech International Film festival, the price was not outlandish. The room had a balcony facing the afternoon sun and was perfect for a sunset cocktail. The pool is heated and quite welcoming. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the room was kept impeccably clean. The owner, a French lady who has lived in Morocco "forever", is constantly surveying the property and service and must be one of the reasons why Es Saadi by some is considered one of the best hotels in Marrakech.
The hotel was built in the early 1950 and therefore is not very modern, even though the rooms have all been refurbished, including wonderful matresses. It has a lot of storage space, something one does not find in modern hotels. The rooms are large (35m2) and the bathroom has a bath tub. My iPad, iPhone and MacBook worked fine on the the WiFi network, accessible without any codes.
There is a spa connected to the hotel and further into the garden the only real Casino in Marrakech, inaugurated in 1952.
Many travellers confuse the hotel Es Saadi with the palace Es Saadi. Both belong to the same family and in the same garden as the Casino. The Palace was inaugurated just about seven years ago and has only suites and villas, and one of Marrakech's largest swimming pools and a fantastic new spa. The price for a suite at the Palace is more than double than at the hotel. If you can afford it, stay ath e Palace. It is really palatial.
But, by all means, the hotel is more tha adequate and the Es Saadi complex is very well situated near the main sights, but in a quiet garden area.
One small thing on the negative: The breakfast room next to the bar and reception needs a little uplift. It is "cold" and dark, especially early in the morningt in the winter. The brakfast and service, however, is very good. All-in-all, Es Saadi is a place I would like to come back to.

Room Tip: Garden/pool view, upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FHN21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

This hotel is absolutely disgusting and should be shut down by the health department (if there is one.) there are bugs in the bathroom and a terrible smell that comes out of the drain in the sink.

The staff here is hopeless, we have called the front desk many times and nobody speaks English, but they say someone will call you back and nobody does. I tried to bring hot water back to the room from breakfast and was stopped like I was smuggling drugs. They wanted to charge me for room service for the hot water.

We inquired about a trip to the Sahara through the concierge and he quoted us at 500 euro per day, after some research and a couple of emails I booked three days, two nights for 200 euro total. This place is a sorry excuse for a hotel. My college dorms were in better shape than this place. If you want to get ripped off and stay in filth this is the place for you. If you want a true Moroccan experience, stay at a Riad. The Raids truly have your best interest in mind.

We got this hotel room for $50 a night and even that is too much. I would be irate if I had payed anywhere near their advertised rates.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rckymtnrmx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilamoura, Portugal
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

We had an amazing stay at this resort. our Villa was beautifull with a large sitting area with a real open fire and an opulent bedroom and ensuite bath. the private pool was a great asset to our stay and the service from our butler was second to none even when you order a simple glass of coke it comes with all sorts of delicious nibbles. the only downside to the hotel is the location it is about a 15 min walk to the main square but apart from that you will be treated lke royalty and i would most definetly return.

Room Tip: Private Villa with pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmaogaveto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Having visited this hotel in early July and being hugely disappointed after the money we had spent I will definitely NOT be returning. Travel Republic were a terrible booking agency and of no help at all once we had booked into the hotel (as it was a weekend they were unable to find anyone to help us, and when on a 4 day holiday not the most convenient!). This is the hotel NOT the palace - if you look on the Es Saadi Gardens website it is very deceiving - not in a good way, practically all of the images are of the palace - which is beautiful, NOT the hotel. The hotel is extremely old fashioned and depressing, albeit a good location to central Marrakech, the Medina (around 5 minute taxi journey). The food was appalling, we tried to eat in the hotel restaurant 2 separate evenings as had booked half-board, but due to the abysmal food we had no other option than to eat at other restaurants every night in Marrakech. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the hotel was clean - the pool was cleaned at 8am every morning.

Room Tip: We had 'upgraded' to a pool view (at no extra cost, we previously called the hotel to arrang...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien N'Fis
Le Meridien N'Fis
#133 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
5.1 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Savoy le Grand Hotel Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel

Property: Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel
Address: Rue Ibrahim El Mazini - Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#62 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#78 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#159 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#192 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not far from the bustling Medina full of history, in the heart of the peaceful Hivernage and in a 8-hectare green park, the Es Saadi Hotel is at 10-minute walk from Jemaa el-Fna, facing the snow-capped Atlas Mountains. The hotel has a 400m² swimming pool, heated in winter, and an Oriental Spa. The 150 keys' hotel, mainly composed of elegantly decorated air-conditioned rooms with balconies overlooking the pool or surrounding area. Suites and bungalows at the pool are included. 2 restaurants and a piano bar are available to guests. They also have privileged access to other facilities of the Es Saadi Marrakech Resort that are the Casino with its famous restaurant L'Epicurien and its late-dinning concept and the night club, the Theatro. It offers free Wi-Fi. Marrakech-Menara Airport is at 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Es Saadi Marrakech
Hotel Es Saadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing