We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel shame about the neighbours!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel
Ranked #111 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We are leaving the Es Saadi hotel after a fabulous week's stay. We found the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly from the concierge who gave us maps and answered all our queries to the pool bar staff who we don't recognise from previous reviews. My schoolgirl french came in handy and I accept that although there don't appear to be enough sun beds on first sight, the pool guys are always willing to find room for you and will produce a parasol from nowhere it seems! The bar food is always good value for money. The rooms are very pleasant, big bed, and the chambermaid always leaves it spotless. Ok, balcony isn't huge but that's not a reason to down mark this hotel. We stayed on a B&B basis and the choice at breakfast is excellent and set in lovely surroundings. Our only reason for not giving full marks is the casino/disco next door at the palace. It seems that at 5.30am when they all go home the majority of the locals feel the road out of the casino is actually a pit lane and we experienced high octane revving from engines and beeping horns for about 1/2hr. Then it returns to the sound of birdsong which is lovely. As for taxis we walked round the corner every morning and picked up a petit taxi to get us into the city NEVER paid more than 20 MAD! A little spoken french and a smile goes a long way here!

Room Tip: A pool view room on the highest floor may be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shags64tracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

The photos and description is of the "PALACE" but if you think you are getting a good price then you are only paying for the "HOTEL".

all the reviews below that give raving reviews are all for the PALACE.... Have a look at the top of the page where it says "ES SAADI GARDENS & RESORT - HOTEL" even when i clicked on the button to review it, its changed to PALACE.

You are NOT getting the same deal as what these reviews below are talking about!


There is a massive difference, all the pictures you see of the lovely indoor pool and the outdoor pool with the bar and bridges and the beautiful gardens surrounding it, THEY ARE OUT OF BOUNDS FOR HOTEL GUESTS!

The hotel guests get a smaller pool with not enough sunbeds and people arguing and fighting for spots around the pool.

THIS AD IS EXTREMELY MISLEADING!!!

This is not a 5 star hotel. It is a basic 4 star.

The Palace which is next to the hotel is a slap in the face to what you're not allowed to do, there is a very big gap between the standards, including the service.


this is a very sly tactic of and they are ripping you off. find another resort.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rjtav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The hotel compared to the palace next door just in terms of lobby and general I pression is very poor like a low 3 star hotel. The rooms are quite small for the location and the furniture and carpeting is just horrible looks like 20 years old. I had to call housekeeping 3 times to get all the bathroom amenities as every time I needed to use something I found it was missing. Plus they told me no conditioner is available they finally gave me one from the palace. The so called spa is very poor with small rooms and a tiny changing room. The lobby bar has no skilled bartender they do not even know how to make a cosmopolitan ..... And my room had a view of the street and was noisy...

Room Tip: Not with a view of the street for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmourey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have just returned from a 4 day stay at this hotel. The moment you arrive you are treated with the greatest respect. Doors are opened, luggage is taken care of. We asked to upgrade to a suite, there wasn't one available in the hotel so they offered one of the bungalows opposite the pool. This was spacious and had a lovely large bathroom. The furniture was traditional but somehow made the rooms look dark. We were right opposite the pool which was ok but lacked a little privacy compared to a hotel room. It was extremely relaxing with the sound of water trickling in the pool and the birds singing amongst the trees. We used the spa so as to experience a hammam. This was definitely an experience! Good fun. The spa in the palace is luxurious but double the cost. We went into the palace part of the hotel....beautiful. The gym is situated here and is very clean and spacious. We went into the casino which can be very smokey, but had an enjoyable time. The restaurant in the hotel is very good with excellent service, not cheap but worth at least one visit. Breakfast was plentiful and very relaxing and you could enjoy it either indoors or in the garden.
We ventured away from the hotel to visit the souks etc, best to take a taxi, they can take you straight there, this cost 50 dirhams. You cannot get maps free of charge so might be best to print some off before hand. Overall, we had one of the most relaxing short breaks in a long time. We could not fault the hotel or the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sparkle1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

If you are looking for 5* then you will be disappointed, like most of the hotels In Marrakesh there is an 80's feel to this place BUT that seems to be the case for most of the mid range hotels in the resort.. That is my ONLY complaint of this hotel

we booked into an Atlas suite and it was so spacious we started to refer to it as a flat, a small one mind !! we did take a peek in a few of the rooms and some had slightly better bathrooms but apart from that they were all very similar.. very clean and with spacious balconies.. The kitchen areas though needed some attention

All that said the concierge and the service in general was absolutely 5*. This hotel should pride themselves on their main attraction.. knowledgeable friendly staff and what felt like an extremely safe environment. The grounds are also stunning and the food superb in the evenings and just the ticket in the days!!

Be aware Marrakesh is only slightly cheaper than England though, this isn't a low budget holiday an 5 days is enough there is very little to see there.

Room Tip: Definately spend the money on a suite, you wont be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank loz61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Honestly this is right on the cusp of being a five star review, but I get the feeling our stay was so excellent because we went off season.

We stayed in the Atlas Suite on the corner of the hotel and thought it was overall lovely.

Positives
- The suite was massive, and the cleaning staff were in and out every time you left to turn down the bed, hoover and tidy behind you. Incredible service.
- The concierge staff were incredibly helpful, polite and welcoming. The vast majority of the staff were, but the concierge's and the restaurant staff spoke the best English.
- The bed was enormous. You could go with a friend and share the double bed without ever even touching.
- The restaurant was absolutely delcious, half board would be a wise investment.
- The pool was kept clean and sparkling, and pleasantly cool when you were trying to escape the merciless heat.
- The grounds were beautiful, and use of the gym facilities in the palace was very welcome and extremely convenient.

Negatives
- the mountains were partially visible on a couple of occasions, the room is advertised for it's stunning view of them but the air is constantly full of sand/heat haze at that distance and you never see them.
- There was an incongruously grotty kitchen in the room. Everything was rather plush and lovely and freshly painted then there was this little box of crap tiles and lino. It was actually quite funny, in a surreal way.
- It's French Morocco, so the staff speak Arabic (faarsi?) and French, with English being a second language, not really a criticism but it made ordering lunches by the pool a bit of an adventure.

It's definitely a five star hotel from the 90's or so, but what do you expect in Africa? I can't even understand the one star reviews I've seen on here after having visited.

Room Tip: Get friendly with the concierges ASAP.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gavin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Es Saadi is set in luxurious immaculately kept gardens.
The staff are really friendly & charming-as are most Morrocans!
The hotel is a peaceful oasis only a ten minute walk away from the bustling Medina.
Go for a day into the Atlas Mountains-use a taxi driver as your guide for the day-agree your price first. Much cheaper than an official tour! Buy your souvenirs from the Berbers in the mountains-cheaper than in the souk-pay about one third of the first asking price.
Hotel mahmounia is worth a visit for cocktails but is certainly no more beautiful than the Es Saadi palace!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flowersof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
0.2 mi away
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
#187 of 502 in Marrakech
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
5.0 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
4.8 mi away
Hotel Du Golf
Hotel Du Golf
#139 of 502 in Marrakech
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel

Address: Rue Ibrahim El Mazini - Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#62 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#82 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#156 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#189 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $109 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not far from the bustling Medina full of history, in the heart of the peaceful Hivernage and in a 8-hectare green park, the Es Saadi Hotel is at 10-minute walk from Jemaa el-Fna, facing the snow-capped Atlas Mountains. The hotel has a 400m² swimming pool, heated in winter, and an Oriental Spa. The 150 keys' hotel, mainly composed of elegantly decorated air-conditioned rooms with balconies overlooking the pool or surrounding area. Suites and bungalows at the pool are included. 2 restaurants and a piano bar are available to guests. They also have privileged access to other facilities of the Es Saadi Marrakech Resort that are the Casino with its famous restaurant L'Epicurien and its late-dinning concept and the night club, the Theatro. It offers free Wi-Fi. Marrakech-Menara Airport is at 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Es Saadi Marrakech
Hotel Es Saadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing